We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star if not for the noisy Prospect Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 Star if not for the noisy Prospect Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Grande Colonial mid-March for a few nights. Overall it is a great hotel and we were able to get 3 nights for the price of 2 which made it even better. There are many great things that I could say about this hotel. The wonderful check-in, the friendliest service, great people, and so on, it is all there. The one and only minus we experienced was due to the fact that our windowfaced Prospect St. and at night we heard every truck and every police siren in town. If you get the room facing the back yard - the night sounds may be not as horrible.
But, again, overal it is a great hotel. One "MUST" - Visit the seals just behind the hotel (5 min walk) and spent 30 minutes there - a great "free" show for kids and adults.

Room Tip: NOT the rooms facing Prospect St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    429
    136
    37
    18
See reviews for
452
680
65
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I was astonished when we received an email from the manager of this hotel hoping our stay was ‘comfortable and memorable’ and inviting us to post our comments on their Tripadvisor page.
Our stay was certainly memorable, but I assume he does not realise that it was only 6 hours long!
The suite we asked for did not have the two chairs we had requested, and as shown in some photographs. We were told a second chair would be against the fire regulations. We reluctantly agreed to a smaller room, in an annexe, in a less quiet area, but which did have both two chairs and a sofa! Both types of internet access eventually worked, after we had told the maintenance man what he needed to switch on in the hotel – before that he told us both our computers were faulty.
However, the floors were filthy and one of the windows did not lock – the room was at street level.
But what finally drove us to leave, at 11.30pm, was the smell of chemicals. The receptionist tried to pass this off as the smell of the sea at low tide!!!!!! Low tide for 6 hours? We live by the sea. It does not smell like that. No-one would take seaside holidays if it did.
We are pretty certain now that we know what that chemical was. We are extremely glad that we didn’t attempt to spend a night in that room.
And if you should still be tempted to saty here, a previous reviewer was correct in their comment that you don't need to use the valet parking as you can park on the street right outside for free.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank TipperC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear TipperC:
I am extremely concerned about the experience you had while visiting the Grande Colonial. After considerable research of recent stays, we have no record of any similar concerns reported to our staff. Because of that, I am very sorry that I am not able to address your comments. But needless to say, they are very concerning and certainly not representative of the experience we strive to provide our guests. I will be sending you a private note but wanted to comment publicly to let others know that we do indeed take all guest feedback very seriously and, assuming we can get more specific information from you privately, will do our best to look into this matter and ensure other guests don't experience anything similar.
Best regards,
Terrence Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I so enjoyed my 3-night stay at the GC last week. I was there for business and I have not stayed in a lovelier hotel...very accommodating staff, excellent amenities, wonderful bar and restaurant. The location is excellent...being close to shops, eateries...and right in the middle of Downtown LaJolla. I cannot wait to return for an even longer stay. The French Toast is to die for...it is very, very good. And the new drink...The California Poppy...wow is all I can say...very yummy.

I will find a reason to return to the GC...such a wonderfully helpful staff and an awesome venue!!! It was like staying at the home of a very wealthy friend....loved it!

Room Tip: Try for a room that faces the ocean or the pool...nice, nice, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thanks, Ronsha! I couldn't have been more pleased to read your comments about your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. It sounds like we did our job to provide you with a memorable experience. I hope next time you are in town, it will be for pleasure and you'll have an opportunity to truly experience all that is right at our doorstep here in the Village of La Jolla. All our best -
Terrence Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had the Jr King Ste. It was great and very comfortable. The best thing about the hotel was the staff and how accomodating they were. Such and nice friendly bunch of people, we will definitely be back to the hotel. 2 little problems that were minor but here they are. We stayed 6 days and in our suite there was only closet space and no drawers. It made it hard to unpack and keep things organized. The second thing was the furniture in our suite was a bit dirty as well as the rug from normal wear and tear. That stuff always gets me. In my book those are minor and like I said above we would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRomero816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have to agree with Maryannestravel's comments below; she took the words right out of my mouth :)
We had a wonderful meeting experience because of the Grande Colonial!

I had been working with Audra, Director of Sales, since August 2011 to host our February event in San Diego. We chose the Grande Colonial in October 2011 for our meeting after looking at several other properties within the area. Audra went above and beyond her duties as Director of Sales! She helped me with not only the contract, but with activities and teambuilding options as well.

We had 40 of the 93 rooms at the GC, and our group enjoyed every minute of their stay! The rooms have wonderful views! I believe that each one is unique in its own way; I personally only got to see three of them. Clean bathrooms, comfortable beds and complimentary water and newspaper each day.

Our group was treated as if we were the only ones there, and as if you were like family. Stellar services throughout the hotel!

We had about 50 people in our daily meetings, and every need was taken care of by the catering staff including special dietary requests. The food was outstanding! And believe me, I’m a very picky eater.

Only negative that we experienced was spotty Wi-Fi service within the hotel.

The hotel is a hop, skip and a jump from the water and Children’s beach. It was nice to take a break from our meetings and go watch the seals! There are plenty of things to do in the area, because you are in the middle of La Jolla. I enjoyed going to see the Dr. Seuss museum a couple of blocks away.

I would definitely consider coming back to this hotel on a personal trip, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Property: Grande Colonial La Jolla
Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,104 - ₹ 22,559
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing