We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A precious pearl in the San Diego area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Valencia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Valencia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A precious pearl in the San Diego area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

An absolutely perfect stay in the San Diego area, in a classic, beautiful hotel with super-friendly staff and in a lovely renovated room with the view of the bay and park below. Dine in the hotel or pick up fresh food along the shopping streets surrounding the hotel, the choices are so many! You can watch the sunset from the top terrace of the nearby Georges restaurant, or pick up a massive tasty sandwich from El Pescador (a bit of a walk to Pearl Street, but really worth it!) and bring it to a beach bench and watch the sunset with the birds soaring in the sky. For those who have trouble doing stairs, make sure that the elevator is back in service. However, all the ongoing renovations are worth the wait! The general location is absolutely perfect, with minutes to the airport and downtown SD (whether the marine museums or the Gaslight district), or up the shore to see the lovely flowers in Carlsbad and the local beaches. Bring you children to the nearby Birch Aquarium and watch the lobster thank for his food! Looking forward the next visit!

Room Tip: do ask for a renovated room and try to save extra for a room with at least a side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    231
    80
    38
    13
See reviews for
219
557
29
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

You can't beat the location and the history behind La Valencia Hotel in La Jolla. It is full of ambience and has ultra-friendly, service-oriented staff. Our room was small, but adequate, and the ocean view was grand. We only stayed one night on a super deal from Travelzoo that included dinner at the Whaling Bar. Our food was quite good, and again, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Renovations were underway, but did not impede our enjoyment of our stay. Parking is $20/day through the hotel or public parking for $15 nearby. You can park on the street (if you can find a space) free for two hours between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. and overnight. Even if you don't stay at La Valencia, walk through the beautiful lobby and dine in one of their fine restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on floor 8 which is just one flight up from the lobby. Our room had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at La Valencia February 25-27th 2012 in a beautiful Villa. The service was outstanding. Thank you Stephanie Howard Director of Sales for helping make this the best vacation ever.. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is very charming and beautiful with views of the ocean and located in the center of all the shops and restaurants. After a weekend at this incredible property my boyfriend proposed, I highly recommend it .
Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Great location at the center of the action in La Jolla. The Whaling Bar has a friendly ambiance and some terrific happy hour deals. The food was wonderful. The deluxe oceanfront room was huge and had a bathtub worthy of a long relaxing soak. The elevator was out due to renovation as of March 2012, but walking upstairs was no big deal since the bellman had to drag up the luggage. My only gripe would be that the Internet is a little slow. There is a Massage Envy within walking distance, so you can get a late massage at a good price. While in the area, walk to the Cave Shop and pay the $4 to descend to the Sunny Jim cave. The neighborhoods in La Jolla have sidewalks, wonderful architecture, and beautiful landscaping, so enjoy a nice long walk.

Room Tip: The ocean views are fabulous, and therefore probably worth paying extra for. The windows can be ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

THIS was my second trip to LA VELENCIA and on both occasions the same thing happend.First time the room was so small you could barely move around the bed,After waiting about a half hour we decide to pay a up charge to get a better room.The last trip in Febuary 2012 I asked to see the room first.The room was supposed to be a ocean front view,only to find out that if you bent over and took a hard look to the left you would get a glimpse on the ocean(hardely a ocean front view).The furniture was beaten up and by no standards even close to a 4 star hotel,once again I found myself at the front desk asking for a better room.The young lady at the front desk had different options ranging from an additional $300 to $600 per evening,keep in mind I all ready pre-paid for my ocean front room.At this point I asked for a MGR and a gentleman named Luigi introduced himself. I explained the dissatisfaction with the acomodations and his solution was a $1200 suite at my expense,one again I had pre-paid for a ocean front room.After an hour had gone bye with no help from Luigi we were able to prove the acomodations we had paid for in the beginning.Luigi at this point found a room that was available.The room was going through remodeling that was half furnished.This was certainly not the way I was looking to start my trip.My advise to anyone staying there would be number one DO NOT to pre-pay and check your room out first before checking in.I must admitt the grounds are beatifull and the staff is nice but for management they need HELP.Oh well this will give me a chance to try somewhere else.Guest room #0025 02/07/2012 through 02/10/2012 If you care to respond.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaValenciaHotel, General Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Shaun S,

I regret to hear that despite our efforts that we were not able to provide you with a positive experience at our property. We feel our management team took the appropriate steps in trying to address your concerns and misunderstanding of the room category purchased on a third party travel site. The original room you described in your review is a Partial Ocean View room, which was the room category purchased. As our goal is to provide all of our guests with an exceptional experience, we extended a complimentary upgrade to an Ocean Facing Suite for the duration of your stay.

I hope there is another opportunity to welcome you back to La Valencia. Our Reservations Team is available to provide you with the personalized service of selecting a satisfactory room category and able to match any rates found online.

We will be contacting you within 24 hours to personally discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,
Vikram Sood
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valencia Hotel

Property: La Valencia Hotel
Address: 1132 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,495 - ₹ 45,044
Hotel Class:4 star — La Valencia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Valencia Hotel is more than a La Jolla landmark, it's an icon. La V continues to host celebrities, politicians, special celebrations,and romantic getaways since 1926. Located steps from the tidepools and sandstone cliffs of the Pacific Ocean, La V is the perfect blend of location and luxury. The hotel's historical Mediterranean influenced architecture and decor, including beautiful courtyards, hand painted murals and exquisite Spanish mosaics, evoke old-world charm in this one of a kind coastal destination. Choose from 114 luxury guest rooms, suites and Villas, some with fireplaces, stunning ocean views, tropical California landscaping, or picturesque La Jolla village. Offering two distinctive restaurants: Cafe la Rue Bistro & Bar or THE MED Ocean View Restaurant. Enjoy premium libations in La Sala Lounge or plan a special event in unique indoor and outdoor ocean view event locations. La Valencia is the premier location to escape, relax and unwind. Experience the beauty of Southern California in San Diego's most elegant and classic luxury hotel and become a part of La Valencia's exceptional legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Valencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valencia Jolla
Hotel La Valencia
La Valencia La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing