We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Inn by the sea”
Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scripps Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Inn by the sea”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Scripps Inn is a small privately owned Inn nestled in a cove across from the ocean in La Jolla. It was a bit pricey but worth the money because of the quality and location. We enjoyed a large room which was very clean and nicely appointed. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Fresh croissants and muffins awaited us in the morning in the Inn lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    72
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
81
143
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My girlfriend's mom booked the Scripps Inn for us as a birthday present. We had a great time.

I spent a lot of time trying to think about something to complain about and I finally found it. Across from the super comfortable bed next to the nice dresser, between the two windows with an ocean view and above the working fireplace complete with wood and matches was a print that, well, didn't quite speak to me.

In all seriousness, in some distant architectural history, this place probably was a motel. But now it's a very nicely renovated, well run little Inn with very friendly staff. I'd love to see their next renovation upgrade the locks to ones that are easier to use, but I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you girlfriend's Mom!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Wagner413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had a one night spring break at this hotel. It was wonderful to sleep with the surf sounds and wake up to ocean smells. The B&B is located right in the best walking spots of La Jolla. It was not cheap but it was a great location, large, clean room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank APS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Bernardo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We were welcomed by Elaine and Vanessa to this beautiful Inn with breathtaking views of the Pacific. Both ladies were helpful and gave us restaurant suggestions for dinner along with a map of the village. Several restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The room was spacious and contemporary. We opened windows and could hear the ocean waves-very peaceful. A relaxing and beautiful place to getaway to. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The Scripps Inn was perfect. We stayed 5 nights in a two bedroom suite that was roomy and very comfortable. The location was wonderful - just across the street from a nice little beach. We could hear the ocean from our room, it was a short walk to town and nice and quiet in the evenings. Breakfast was nice and the staff was just right - not intrusive but very friendly and helpful when needed. We hope to go back and would certainly recommend. Thought it was very well priced for a family of 5.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTAORB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.7 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
2.3 km away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.9 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Property: Scripps Inn
Address: 555 Coast Blvd S, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,905 - ₹ 27,607
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing