We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
52
64
25
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
64
25
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night solve problems tuk tuk an excellent hotel ferry pier nice stay pool area small fridge clean hotel good size fresh fruit family room short stay wi fi quiet at night spent nights minute walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Spent 7 nights at the end of April 2017. The following reflects my stay and having read previous reviews.
My room was spacious and clean. A fault was identified with my room and Klaus (owner) took care of this the same day.
Location is good and is just a few hundred metres from the beach where Cambodians tend to eat and so is better value than by the pier. Better for those wanting slightly quieter hotel environment and to sleep without the music and shouting. Still only 10-15 minutes walk to the pier area, or two minutes by tuktuk. So you can have a quiet hotel and go and step into a more vibrant evening near the pier.
I would agree that staff speak little English but I found all were friendly and could understand enough. One Cambodian has educated English and has the confidence to make decisions. Others less so. However, Klaus is friendly and is regularly on site and can often be found in the office behind reception.
Pool is shallow but in good condition and some effort has been made to create planting effects which creates a good feel and adds privacy to poolside rooms.
The hotel is not faultless but then I am not spending top dollar and this is Cambodia. I would recommend this hotel but do research prices to get your room at a good price.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Allan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus E, Owner at The Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive comment. We do appreciate that effort and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is an excellent hotel if you are up for some walking. To the beach it's just a very short walk of one block, to the more frequented bars near the peer it's about a one km. walk. I happened to secure a good deal on one of the booking sites including breakfast, but had to remind the staff that I did not have to pay for breakfast (which was a generous one and not just one toast with egg).
Stayed in the junior suite with pool view, which actually was more bright then expected. Aircon (quiet), minifridge (why the request not to use outside drinks?), hot water in the shower did pulsate a little bit between hot and less hot constantly.
If you are up for using the pool, it's perfectly fine for cooling off, but, as half the pool is only 30-40 cm deep, more suitable for family's then for doing laps.
Would return considering if it's a good offer, would not pay US40 or more for this room, knowing what else is on offer.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatsjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus E, Owner at The Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Thanks for this good review. Currently, the majority of our guests does not book rooms with breakfast as they would like to be more flexible. We usually hand out breakfast vouchers to guests who booked breakfast. Sorry this didn't happen with you. The regular price is $50 including breakfast for 2. So this is still a good deal. But we do have specials all the time and this room is particularly popular. With all modesty, we are still one of the best boutique hotels in category here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for just one night last month and would have loved to stay longer.

The hotel is situated in a pretty quiet area of a central street that leads directly up to the beach and the area by the roundabout where a lot of the restaurants are. It was lovely and quiet in the hotel, but easily walkable to get where everything was.

The hotel itself was great, with a lovely room, bug free and a great bathroom. Our room overlooked the pool which was great and was about 10 meters from the bar and restaurant, which unfortunately we only used for breakfast, which was lovely.

Finally, the staff were great, really helpful and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Tamarind to my friends or to return here in the future.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus E, Owner at The Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Thank you so much. Just come back soon to enjoy our hotel and services fully for a longer period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Booked through my old friends at Tun Travel/Hotels-in-Vietnam, although that site did not advertise hotels in Cambodia, they did an excellent job in handling the reservation for me.
The Tamarind is a nice, quite, friendly and well run hotel set back a bit from the beach. I booked a Ground Floor, Pool View room and it had a very nice bathroom, very clean as was the rest of the room and the rest of the hotel. Room had a veranda, AC, fan, fridge, wide/flatscreen TV, and a wall safe, along with a table and chairs set by the window. The bed comfortable. Lighting was adjustable and varied. Breakfast was fine, There was a set breakfast for those that had breakfast included in the room rate, in addition there was also al la carte menu for any extras you may want. The pool cleaned as best as I could tell every day. The hotel was "inspected" on a regular basis. The rooms were cleaned daily and cleaned/dressed well.
All staff very pleasant, helpful and friendly.

English was not a problem, in fact most Cambodians that I have met have a surprisingly good command of that language, more than, I feel than the Vietnamese in general.

Recommended for a quite stay, which was what I wanted, tuk-tuk always available either direct from the hotel, or on the road outside

Very nice, enjoyed it, no complaints, will certainly stay there again.

Room tip: Try for the Ground Floor, Pool View room/s.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus E, Owner at The Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very encouraging and heartwarming to read this. I conveyed this to my staff and their faces lit up with a big smile.
Please, we would be happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The Tamarind is a great value and one of my favorite boutique hotels in Cambodia. I have often recommended it to friends and associates and the collective feedback has been excellent without exception. In this price range one can't expect a 5* experience but that is not to diminish the efforts of the friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to book 3rd party services such as motorbikes and solve problems. The Tamarind is operationally well-organized and the rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean.

Furthermore, as a refuge from the noise and bustle of the city and nightlife the Tamarind can't be beat. It is quiet and the lush arboretum-like garden and pool in front of poolview rooms is both cosy and beautiful.

The Tamarind is wildly popular with local expatriates seeking a break from frenetic Phnom Penh and for first-time visitors seeking to explore the area it is a safe and comfortable environment for calm and relaxation.

Room tip: Poolview rooms are the best, comfortable and convenient.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus E, Owner at The Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Wow, I am speechless. A hearty please come back whenever you need to flee the bustle of Phnom Penh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews