We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I've been lucky enough to get to this place on 3 separate occasions although have never stayed here, I think because it's usually booked out and we usually stay in Otres II
Something about it just stays with me, from the moment you walk in through the dangling vines and ditch your shoes and chill out to the music, it's such a cool place to relax
For some reason we refer to it as the Bob Marley bar, maybe because there's often reggae playing
The staff although constantly in transit are always awesome, super friendly and professional
Meals and drinks are great
love this place

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bucknaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you so much for your awesome review. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are on Otres Beach :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Rooms are spacious, really clean! At the bar you can get a nice food and drinks. Staff is welcoming and really nice. There are kitties and doggies - which make this place really nice. The only thing I did not like - there is no beach dedicated to this place - so if you want to drink your coffee at the seaside go to the different bar and get it from there so you can use deckchair.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Katarzynka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your great review. We love our dogs and cats too :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We didn't stay at 'wish you were here', but ended up there everyday during our 1 month stay on Otres. In fact we never intended to stay at Otres, but as many people find you kinda get stuck there. But what a great place to get stuck! So we can only comment about the bar and food. Daily specials are always great, and the Monday roast is to die for. Yorkshire puddings, cauliflower cheese, sticky red cabbage, roast potatoes, plus even more veg and amazing gravy! Beef or pork, and once a month lamb. Looking forward to that on boxing day. Everything we have had on the menu has been great, and the service excellent. The staff are so friendly and helpful, all of the WYWH team. You will feel totally at home and welcomed, so give it a try you won't be disappointed. Also cheep beer prices on Tuesdays, 50c! Cheaper than water!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your amazing review. Otres is a great place to get stuck! We wish you a very safe and happy journey for the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Not 1 star because food is good and staff are friendly but I haven't even left yet and I writing this from my bed. A comfy bed I want too add. This place has bed bugs ( just killed 2 and have loads of bites from last night). I got the bed covers changed but that doesn't matter they are in the mattress. I see the owner replies to the bug problem on TripAdvisor by saying it's travelers bringing them here etc. It might be true but 3 months travelling and I have not had a problem with bed bugs ( have not once spent more than $12 on a night). This place is $14 ( it's on a beach front so we kind of accepted it would be our most expensive accommodation)
Anyway I spoke to a girl earlier and we found a bug in her mattress in a few minutes (after inspection from staff who confirmed that we both don't have bed bugs).
And would like too add, it's 1:21am and music is still very loud. Not against it but $14 a night and you don't respect the people staying here you prefer to entertain and sell drinks... I think you need to be honest and get rid of the cheap mattresses and buy new ones. Not cool for me too have the last 7 days ruined of 3 months due too my legs having 30bites...
p.s : music still on at 1:45 my girlfriend and I have been in bed 3hours trying too sleep ( I hesitated 20mins before posting I don't like negative reviews but come on... be real this ain't fair to people paying you and your family...)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank oliverjacobs92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Sorry I think you have written a review for the wrong place. You obviously had a bad experience travelling previous to this day which i guess was the motivation... You also contradict yourself saying you had “A Comfy bed” then later stating for them to “get rid of the cheap mattresses and buy new ones”. As for us at Wish You Were Here, we have all new mattresses, our rooms are not beach front and we DO NOT have bed bugs as we have a strict “anti rodent” check in policy so people DO NOT bring them into our home. We wish you safe and less negative travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice place with friendly staff, reasonable prices.
Possible to eat and drink and meet some nice people but also to stay there for some 14$ in privet room with shared bathroom
Recommended to try when you are in Otres beach 1

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Karolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your great review. We hope you have a safe journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.5 km away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 76 in Sihanoukville
417 reviews
0.2 km away
Good Time Resort
Good Time Resort
#20 of 76 in Sihanoukville
59 reviews
4.5 km away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#4 of 151 in Sihanoukville
177 reviews
0.2 km away
Mushroom Point
Mushroom Point
#8 of 151 in Sihanoukville
336 reviews
0.1 km away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#8 of 237 in Sihanoukville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar

Address: 4 Sangkat | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: ₹ 654 - ₹ 1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish Otres Beach offers clean & comfortable backpacker accomodation at affordable prices... For the budget concious, we offer dorm beds with fan & a personal locker for your belongings... Relax in the hanging chairs or up on the balcony… have a beer with your mates or sip on one of our tasty cocktails as you watch an amazing cambodian sunset over Otres Beach... Our Dorms have their own chillout area with an amazing view up on the balcony & are located above the bar & restaurant area. We also offer twin rooms with two single beds. Doubles & bungalows all have double beds, - all with shared bathroom. Our bungalows also have personal lockers & private balconies. Double Room with Private Bathroom & Hot Water available. We have 24hr Security, Free Wi-Fi, Laundry service, Secure Bag Storage, Mosquito Net, Towel & Blanket provided for all guests… Wish Sunday Sessions… Live Music every Sunday, 75c Beer, Cocktail & Food specials All Day... Our Tasty menu is available from 7.30am - 10pm with a mix of Western/Khmer food at great prices. Food Specials every night! Authentic homestyle Sri-Lankan Curry night every Thursday night. Our awesome kitchen staff do their best to make your stay with us as memorable as possible!! During your stay at Wish, our friendly staff will answer any questions you have about Cambodia or what to do whilst on Otres Beach & around Sihanoukville. Visit Ream National Park, Waterfalls, or take a Boat trip to Koh Rong, Koh Ta Kiev or one of the many islands off the coast… Also, it's possible to book buses & visas with us to your next destination… tuk-tuk ride to the bus station included!! We suggest spending a couple of days relaxing on the beach and you will see why so many never want to leave… ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing