We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
139
39
23
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
39
23
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otres beach super chill great place to chill amazing atmosphere stayed nights other places aaron vibe dorm cambodia guesthouse kittens backpackers padlock khmer
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We only spent a short amount of time at Wish You Were Here but thoroughly enjoyed our two days. I really loved the traditional hutt-style rooms and having a bar within the premises was handy and dangerous for wasting away the hours (in the best way). The staff were very friendly and helpful, - I had a hole in my mosquito net and it was fixed pretty promptly when I alerted the staff. It is a bit of a party place so if you are up for that then it is definitely the place for you! If not you may be able to get one of the private huts rather than a room above the bar where the noise may not reach you as easily. The beach that is just across the road is lovely and quiet, and the restaurants around provide you with a good variety of options, from local Khmer to Western food if you are so inclined. Would definitely recommend to the young, chilled out traveler!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellewoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Hi, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Wish!!
Thanks for the compliments, See you next time your in Otres Beach!!
Safe travels from Wish...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We only spent two days here but really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the restaurant/bar was a great place to unwind and relax and have a beer. The place smells strongly of pot, but hey there were lots of hippies there!! It is in the centre of Otres, and really Otres was just fantastic. You have to pay for toilet paper, which isn't obvious, but the bathrooms were pretty alright. Just make sure you have jandals to wear in them, because shoes aren't allowed in the other parts of the guesthouse!! Try Richies across the road and Sunshine Cafe further along to the left for HUGE portions of khmer food.

Room Tip: Bungalows are on ground floor, dorm rooms and private rooms are all up stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Hi, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Wish even though it was brief. You still have to pay for toilet paper ( we have made it a bit more obvious) :) We have just renovated the toilets and all of the rooms, you still have to take your shoes off though ;) Hope to see you next time!!!
p.s the hippies say hi!!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Wish you were here ROCKS! My boyfriend and I stayed way longer than we had planned because we just loved it so much. Johnny, Aaron, and all the staff really go the extra mile to make every one feel welcome and have a great stay. The vibe of the place is fun and relaxed and its so easy to just chill out and enjoy everything. Otres beach is beautiful as well - we had a great time beachcombing and going on a river tour with DC tours... and like the title suggests the new bathrooms are fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Hi Natalie, Thank you so much for your compliments!!!!! We're glad you had fun and hope to see you guys again soon back in Otres. Glad you liked the improvements we've added a few new things check out our facebook page for updates!!! see you next time!!!
Safe travels from Wish... x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have stayed here twice in the past two weeks and had the time of our lives! We came back from bamboo island today (after being shipwrecked on koh ta Kiev for two days) and immediately felt at home (again) They looked after our bags whilst we were away and nothing was too much trouble! Arron jonny and the rest of the lads are some of the coolest guys around, so helpful and informative about the area as well! Any tips that they take behind the bar they give away to the poor people living on the road into otres, I really can't get over how decent they all are! I don't want this to sound like a fake review but I honestly don't have anything bad to say about the place! The rooms are quiet, the foods great, the rooms are cheap, the people and the communal area are incredible, the toilets are clean, the location is perfect and I really could go on! I can't believe that person that left an average review talking about weed, I don't smoke the stuff but others do, it's the same all over the world, no one has ever greeted me with a spliff, no ones ever pushed it on me!!! Everything about wish you were here is waaaaay above average, but the community feel is the best iv had anywhere!! Sit back, grab a beer and make some friends for life at the best place iv stayed! Lads I really wish you all the best, you're a great bunch!
Jesse and Meg xxx

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank techhousejesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WishCambodia, Owner at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thanks for the kind words guys, it was awesome to meet you both, we are glad you felt at home & enjoyed yourselves!! I'm sure we will see you again soon!! Take care guys!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wow what an amazing one of a kind place to stumbel across while you are exploring Cambodia. I ended up staying there not just once or twice but possibly three times. This place is addictive.

Sunday sessions are the best how can you beat 75cent draft all day and a live dj! You have to try the burger and potato salad, deffently my favorite :). Ribs is also a must on the menu to taste.

The guys have worked so hard to create the perfect atmosphere for anyone from anywhere to be themselves. I take my hat off to them. It's the little things that make them stand so far above anywhere else I have stayed.

Sunsets at otres are unforgivably beautiful, make sure you see them from the balcony upstairs, and yes I wish I was still there......Not much more I can say but, what an amazing vission that they have executed with excellence.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _kat_a_Collins_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews