We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a frequent traveller, had my worst travel experience here”
Review of 8 Elemento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
8 Elemento
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Was quite excited to stay at these bungalows as it was right on the water and we wanted to experience something different.
The location is great and the views are beautiful, but unfortunately I had my worst travel experience ever here. The bathrooms the way that they are set up, have windows that allow for air ventilation but do not however give you complete privacy as you are able to clearly see through into the shower from the outside. This predisposed me to a severe intrusion of privacy, by a member of 'security' who obviously knew the set up of the bungalows. This was whilst I was showering and this incident has absolutely caused me so much distress and disgust. So please let this be a warning for anyone planning to stay here, be wary of this!!! The guy has since been let go, but you never know who else may know about this opportunity for peeping!!! NB: This was bungalow number 8.
I do have to say the manager was very helpful in dealing with this situation as he says it has never happened before, and that he will look into fixing the windows so that it won't happen again. He was always present when you needed tips or help, and very approachable and pleasant.
However a good night sleep is not guaranteed as like other reviews states, the music is blasting until the early hours of the morning every single day. Also the power is turned off throughout the day which can be inconvenient after a long day of activities.
I think that you could definitely find better accommodation for the same price, with reliable privacy and electricity.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2015

We spent two fantastic days here with a party of 4 adults, 5 children. Matt and his team could not have done more to make it a great time for us all. Their bungalows are great, all with balconies and ocean views - we took the three bedroom apartment right up the top, with the only downside for me being the 79 steps - but the kids had no problem and the view was worth the climb. Laid back, relaxing, friendly and fun.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sueanddaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Amazing ocean views, great location for getting around Sihanoukville. On the beach with bungalows situated on the hill over looking the ocean. The manager Matt, is very helpful and knows the area well. Perfect for couples who want it all. Thanks Matt.

Room Tip: Ask Matt for local info and what to do, where to go etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

The place was recommended by a friend so booked for 6 nights. The manager and staff were very helpful with all my needs. The bungalows are new and sufficient for a relaxing holiday. The location on Serendipity Beach is great. The view and gentle breeze were exactly what I needed. Nothing is better to me than sitting at a seaside bar meeting new friends. The kitchen staff are excellent. Definitely going back, thanks again for the great service. DT

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This was my second visit. The first was two years ago and since then the bungalows (on stilts) have all been revamped. Air conditioning has been fitted, new patio doors with better sound insulation as well. Licks of paint and varnish, whole new shower rooms have lifted this lovely set of rooms. Sorry this took so long to write Matt!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank poperock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 km away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
620 reviews
3.4 km away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 76 in Sihanoukville
668 reviews
0.6 km away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,528 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 76 in Sihanoukville
354 reviews
0.0 km away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#75 of 237 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Elemento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Elemento

Address: Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly The Cove Beach Bungalows)
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: ₹ 2,019 - ₹ 2,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 8 Elemento 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Beach Bungalows are located right on the Serendipity Beach. 180 Meters to the right, from the pier on Serendipity Beach. The Cove Beach is located over a 60 meter hillside that has natural lush hillside facing the magnificent Serendipity Cove where we are located. We have 8 traditional Khmer style AC new wooden bungalows, 6 AC rooms 1/2 & 3 bed as well as two 3 bedroom apartments. Our final addition is two 4 person dorms. All AC bungalows and AC rooms are located in tropical garden settings and have covered balconies with spectacular ocean views. All rooms are equipped with cool-fans and a cold/hot water shower. The restaurant serves Western & Khmer dishes. We also boast a 25 meter chill deck over our beach side location and an 4 x 6 meter beach bar. Great for cocktails and ice cold beer when you need a retreat from the heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 8 Elemento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Beach Bungalows Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing