We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This place is perfect! I did not stay at the Inn but my cousin had a small wedding here. Most of my family stayed but it was easier for my family to stay in Napa. This is a great place to have a wedding with about 30 guests. It was romantic and the weather was perfect! It felt like we were tucked about in a villa in Italy.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    72
    40
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
497
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently stayed at Kenwood Inn for our first anniversary. There are many great things about this hotel, but there are some important issues I think they need to address -- most of these are service related.

The positives:
* the inn is absolutely gorgeous. unique characteristics, very peaceful feeling, small number of guests.
* we had a great room -- spacious with lots of character, great bed linens (and potentially great bed..more on that below), lovely wood burning fireplace. Private in a corner of the Inn. On an upper level floor so no noise issues of other guests
* the gentleman who checked us in was enthuastic and very helpful
* we really enjoyed the location -- on the edge of sonoma so easy access to both Sonoma County and Napa County wineries, and close driving distance to Sonoma town. we really enjoyed the drive over the mountain ridge to access Napa.

The negatives -- this is not an inexpensive hotel. If they want to charge the prices that they currently are, the service level needs to be stepped up to match those of top tier hotels. There are certainly some who work there who have this level of professionalism, and those who dont. If i'm not paying for that level of service, i'm not a nit picker who wont accept any issues. However at 500/nite for the lowest level room, there is work to do:
* our check out experience was awful. My husband had been in an accident a few wks before and had two deeply bruised ribs. When it was time to leave, we couldnt reach anyone at the front desk as we needed bag help. When we walked down, Rachelle was downright rude to him, telling him that there was no one to help us with our heavy bags. we were on the second floor with stairs, with heavy bags, my husband is injuried and we just receive a cursory "no" to assistance? Additionally, we inquired about shipping our wine from there was most winery had told us that hotels across the region offer this -- we were shown the UPS form to fill out, but no color on how to do it, pricing, etc. She then also gave me attitude when i returned the keys and reviewed the bill assuring me that the rate hadnt change since i originally booked (it had, i had caught it prior to check in and was told it would be honored). it was honored so there wouldnt have been an issue, except she rudely told me i was wrong before even checking (i wasnt), and then to not apologize when she checked the system and realized that she was incorrect is another. Perhaps she was having a bad day, but her rudeness was our last impression at this inn.
* we thought the breakfast was sorely lacking. One egg over a tiny piece of toast each day, stale mass produced pastries, no fruit, etc. But more importantly they are understaffed and those working harried. We'd arrive and there would be no place settings, no plates, no milk, no coffee, etc etc and we'd have to ask for each thing. the staff woudl be running around, slamming plates, etc. Its a stressful experience - not pleasant, and frankly disappointing food. It caused us to not bother to eat in the restaurant as it didnt bode well for dinner. Also, i think asking for tips of the complimentry breakfast is tacky esp given how its run.
* Other little things in the room -- spider webs in the bathroom, only two bath towels in total (i dont think having two bath towels per person is a lot to ask), and mostly bizarrely, a huge mtn in the middle of the pillow bed on our bed. It was so high that it pushed my husband and i to opposite sides of the bed. Wouldnt the person making the bed each day realize that it needed to be taken off and reshifted? Bulbs out in our chandlier...
* At the pool, there were several times when there were no towels sitting out for guests, no one to ask, and dirty plates and glasses that were left sitting out for some time.

So all in all i'm torn on my rating. the hotel is BEAUTIFUL and there was truly a lot about our stay that we enjoyed. If they step up their game in the service areas, this could be a wonderful stay in the area. Until the service matches the beauty of the inn itself and the price however...I'm on the sidelines.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mmm303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear mmm303,

Thank you for describing in detail your expirence here at Kenwood Inn. We make no excuses for the challenges encountered rather we offer a heartfelt sincere apology. Our team will immediately be evaluating your notes and taking appropriate positive corective actions to insure that each and every guest receives the outstanding service expected and deserved. We truly would appreciate an opportunity to host a stay for you to prove that Kenwood Inn is an outstanding resort. We will reach out to you directly to coordinate.

Sincerely,
Karl Bruno, General Manager, Kenwood Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Well, after having read the glowing reviews, I really expected something special.

Boy, was I disappointed!

We stayed in a Le Stanze Del Re room, which, although we got a Bloomspot deal, is usually a $600 room.

Here are the pros and many cons of Room 19:

Pros:

1) The staff. Maybe they feel guilty about people paying so much to stay here, but they are very helpful and friendly.
2) The bed is pretty comfortable (not the pillows, though)
3) There's a fireplace (gas) in the room.
4) The bathroom is huge.
5) Large jetted tub, ridiculously large shower.
6) The location.
7) Lots of storage for clothes (large armoire and 2 big nightstands w/ 3 drawers each)
8) Music from cd player, including speaker over tub.
9) Did not hear any traffic from our room, but then, we had everything closed up, so people walking by wouldn't see us.

Cons:
1) 2 chairs in front of the fireplace, with a heavy table between them. Gee, how romantic. Not! How about a loveseat or sofa?
2) Total lack of privacy in our room, unless you close up everything. There are no curtains, but rather, wooden panels on the doors that swing shut.
3) VERY slippery floors. We were in the tub when the phone rang. Thinking it must be something important, I got out of the tub, slipped on the marble floor, fell on my butt, bumped my head on the door, and got a very nasty bruise on my foot, where it slammed into the door frame. It was the front desk, asking if we had just eaten dinner with them. sigh
4) Pillows are filled with polyester fiber, and are overstuffed. Not comfortable at all.
5) Bathroom door rubs loudly on floor when you open or close it, and when you fully open it, it smacks into the tub, especially when you give it that little extra push becaue of the rubbing on the floor.
6) So much wasted space. An armoire takes up a space that would be better with a dining table & chairs, or at least a little bistro set. The armoire could fit in the main room. They could also put a thing here where women could sit and do their make-up, because they sure can't do that in the poorly-lit bathroom.
7) Cracked floors, which can be painful in bare feet.
8) One light out in chandelier.
9) Poor lighting in bathroom.
10) So dark in main area, even with 3 lamps, 4 sconces, and the chandelier all on.
11) Can't hear music while in tub if you have the jets on, unless you really crank upthe music.
12) While in bathroom, you can hear music and conversation from next room.
13) Wi-fi is worthless. Can't stay connected, and when you are connected, it is very slow.
14) Room has cracked/dirty walls, gouges in walls where the little swinging window doors have been opened into them, and just seems a little rundown.
15) They provide slippers. Very cheap, and one of them that my wife was wearing had no traction at all. She almost fell in the bathroom while wearing the slippers.
16) There is a handle on the front double-door, that, if you hold onto it like you would expect to, will cause you to hit you hand on the other door. Especially bad since this door needs a good tug to close completely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonomamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Sonomamon, Thank you for choosing Kenwood Inn! We value and appreciate all of your detailed comments. Our team will evaluate your perspective and drive positive solutions to remedy some of the challenges described. We truly hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Karl Bruno, General Manager, Kenwood Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights at Kenwood in mid-May, and wish I was there again. Keep thinking about when i can plan another getaway. The resort is small, intimate and has an enchanted atmosphere, perfect for a romantic getaway. You feel like you are in Italy. The grounds have a relaxed feel with all tue beautiful plants, fragrant gardenia and jasmine. The hot tubs are a nice touch. Everyone was very nice, from the receptionists to the staff at the spa and the servers at breakfast.
Yes, it's a splurge, but so much more worth it than what you woud find in most other places for the price. And do spend the extra for the Bellissime Stanze - the king size bed is worth it! I did as to see the other room categories, and will splurge on the Stanze del Re for a special occasion weekend; the room looked gorgeous.
Boyfriend and I had a scrub treatment at the spa, so rejuvenating!
Wish I could find the equivalent of Kenwood on the East Coast! Can't wait to return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilbucofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Kenwood Inn far exceeded our expectations. We had room 24 in the main building, so our room was the closest to the road, and we were never bothered by the road noise. The room was amazing, as was the food. Had some of the best meals ever here. Additionally, we had the ensuite massage and after having had massages in places like Germany, Turkey, and the Black Sea region, this was the best massage ever! Everyone on the staff was wonderful and made us feel like they were happy we were there. Kudos to Brian in particular. Our only complaint (a minor one) was that the mosquitos got annoying while we were dining out and wished they could have done something about that, but otherwise, no complaints. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangerjeff187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenwood
15.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
4.1 km away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
479 reviews
12.4 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
21.6 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
580 reviews
14.3 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 10400 Sonoma Hwy, Kenwood, CA 95452-8015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,172 - ₹ 47,576
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, one outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs, and sunning terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn And Spa, A Four Sisters Inn Sonoma County
Kenwood Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing