We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beginning to a west coast trip”
Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We were invited to join my brother and his friends at Motel Inverness for a weekend to celebrate my sister-in-laws birthday. My brother had stayed here before and loved it so he rented out the entire motel out for the celebration. We flew in from Massachusetts for the weekend and drove from SFO to the motel. It took about 1 1/2 hours and we arrived at pure beauty and peace. We were in room #5 which had a very comfortable queen size bed, comfortable chair, 2 bedside tables, and a TV hanging on the wall. The bathroom had a beautiful shower and a basin sink along with the toilet. Towels were plentiful and the bathroom stocked with the regular necessities. Since we were the only group there we had the run of a very comfortable lodge that had a pool table, fireplace, many chairs and tables, a bar, small fridge, hot and cold water machine, coffee maker, silverware, etc. We had all of our meals in that room. Two of the rooms at the motel had kitchens which is where the hot food was prepared and brought to the lodge. The picture of the walk that accompanies the motel allows you to walk from the motel to water where you can observe many different birds, the beauty of the mountains and surrounding area. If we're ever back on the west coast we would definitely stay at Motel Inverness again. Spending the weekend there was a relaxing and peacful experience that I won't soon forget.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank MEC15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and complimentary review. You mentioned so much in your review it is difficult to add anything. Your family and their friends were great guests and really had a chance to use the Lodge for what it is meant to be a gathering place.

There is no better way to experience our natural setting and Tomales than spending time in the Lodge and the adjoining deck, bird watching, taking photos, and enjoying each other's company. Your group did it all!

Best Wishes and Thank You,
Janice & Michael
The Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

The Motel Inverness is a great place if you want to get away. Off the beaten path, away from the crowds at Point Reyes Station. But only a 5-7 minute drive away from great restaurants, and breathtaking views. We have stayed here 4 times already and each time it seems to get better and better. Everytime we go, we get to know the area better and we are starting to get to know the owners of the establishment. They are very honest and humble folks. They understand hospitality and it really shows. The rooms are always clean and well maintained. And they provide a coffee maker in every room...a definite plus for those of you who wake up early. It is always well stocked with regular or decaf, cream and tons of sugar.

The main lodge is nice and cozy. Fireplace, pool table, mini fridge, board games,magazines and comfortable couches. Great for a family vacation. You can also bird watch here. The back patio leads to the marshlands. Take the narrow wooden pathway to the end and enjoy the birds.

Caution- it gets very dark early in this area. The roads are dark and you could miss the motel very easily while driving at night. I highly suggest that you arrive in the day time and get to know the surrounding area. I have missed the entrance to the motel a few times and U turns are not really an option on these roads.

Marin Sun Farms is only a 5 minute drive away. The have the best burgers!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

THANK YOU for taking so much time to write such a thoughtful and thorough review,
our return guests are the best!! You appreciate both our property and the natural surroundings that make it so unique and special.

I cannot add anymore to your list of our amenities and our commitment to customer service. The majority of our guests have limited time and cannot return again and again which is what elevates your review and impression of Motel Inverness. The more often you experience the area, you have a chance to discover something new in nature. That goes for visiting the motel as well, you get a chance to spend time in the Lodge and appreciate the fireplace, the views, play a game of pool, or just relax and unwind.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and Thank you again,
Janice & Michael
The Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Pros: Old-fashioned motel, easy in and out, no halls, charming cottage décor, clean, cathedral, pine ceiling, wood floor. Beautiful view of the marsh out back.
Cons: very small room, small bathroom. Septic lid 3 feet from our bathroom window. No mini frig in room, no free breakfast, dark room at night--not enough lamps. Very few outlets for electronics. No desk lamp outlet--have to crawl under the desk. Floor not level, slow wifi. Small motel with no full-time staff on site during the day. $160 a night seemed high., but I guess that's Point Reyes--few lodging choices.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travel963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

We appreciate all customer feedback, your review seems to have more coms than pros which is not the case with the majority of our reviews. Most of our first time guests have a chance to see our website which clearly describes all of our amenities and sets their expectations accordingly. You did mention our most important feature and the reason we have so many return guests the amazing view of the marsh and our Lodge (Great Room).

Addressing a few of your issues, a motel our size (we are not a B &B) generally does not offer breakfast, we offer coffee, tea, and biscotti. There is a small refrigerator for our guests in the Lodge and a few rooms, the WI-FI is not slow it was upgraded this year, there are lamps on the desks in all our rooms, not sure how the floor not being level impacted your stay.

The motel has a person at the Front Desk every day from 10-6, we close for one hour during lunch. The Front Desk person also has to check rooms and leave the desk periodically to do other tasks but never for more than 10 minutes.

Motel inverness is all about NATURE and enjoying it both on our property and while visiting Pt. Reyes National Seashore, not about the small quirks expected in a motel built in the early 1950s which some people find charming not annoying.

Thank you,
Janice & Michael
The Innkeepers


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Absolutely excellent...
The communal lodge and rear deck is the real winner here, along with the affordability and location!
Room was comfortable and cozy. Good bed.
Shower rather snug...but overall nice bathroom.
The innkeepers are very friendly and personal. Good people...
If your looking to visit Point Reyes area...the Inverness is hard to beat for location, value and experience.
Awesome Italian restaurant in Point Reyes (don't remember name...there is only one)
***Only issue I had with my stay was the lack of a sound barrier between the rooms. The couple next to me (the man) had sleep apnea. It sounded like a bear was sleeping next to me. I always travel with ear plugs...thank god! Otherwise I would not have slept.
Personally, I found it to be extremely offensive that someone would choose to stay in such a quaint, quiet inn with such a sleeping disorder. Class less.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timola26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the very nice review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and overall experience. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you,
Janice & Michael
The Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The room was spot less and the bed was comfy. Perfect spot to get to many of the hiking trails. I'm not a bird watcher but I learned a lot from the other folks sitting on the deck. I got take-out and ate breakfast and dinner there. All you need when you are in such a beautiful location.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank meag1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

You said it all, when you are located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by nature on all sides, what more do you need. There are so many birds in front of you on Tomales Bay, bird watching can be an all day event. Take a hint from the reviewer and bring in local take-out and dine alfresco with a priceless view!

Thank you,
Janice & Michael
The Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
7 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
18.5 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
24.2 km away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
30.6 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
2.1 km away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: ₹ 9,355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience in Point Reyes National Seashore. Located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by wildlife preserves on all sides, our guests can experience the tranquility and peacefulness of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing