We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
99
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden outdoor bathtub tomales bay water features plant life point reyes the perfect spot hiking trail full kitchen west marin oysters phil bathhouse beauty bloom privacy deck
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Secret Garden Cottage twice and both were very enjoyable experiences. The location is peaceful, the cottage is lovely, and the garden is beautiful. On our first visit, the weather was pleasant. We enjoyed the views of Tomales Bay and went on short hikes in the area. Our second visit, was during the largest storm Inverness had experienced in years. The hosts, Phil and Patsy, were extremely gracious and actively ensured our comfort and piece of mind during the storm. Phil stopped by the cottage to show us where the flashlights, batteries, and matches were located, in case we lost power. We did indeed lose power and had a pleasant night watching and listening to the storm. Phil came by several times to check on us. On the day of our departure many roads were closed and it was not safe to travel. Phil and Patsy allowed us to stay until the roads cleared up enough to travel home, though that was long after check-out time. We are grateful to them and look forward to our next stay at our favorite cottage in Inverness!

Room Tip: there is only one room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you! Wow! Your description of the experience in the big storm was riveting! I hadn't forgotten about that sleepless night (or 2), but your review brought it all back...it did take days for the power to return and the roads were a mess for another week. My immediate neighborhood (Seahaven) in Inverness lost more than 20 big Bishop pine trees...most knocked over due to saturated soil & high winds. I was impressed with your grit...and your ability to tell a great story! Hope to see you again in calmer weather... Phil, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

When we read about The Secret Garden Cottage we knew it would be very special. The reality blew us away; we didn't want to leave and hope to return someday. The owners are special people whose passion is their garden. This is not just any garden, it is a spectacular garden with different "rooms" highlighting different plant life accessed by walking under a trellis into each "room" along beautiful paths with water features along the way. Phil gave us a wonderful tour and shared the fascinating history of the place with us. We so appreciated his generosity with his time and the efforts of this couple who invite us into their space to share their passion and definite labor or love. Don't miss the bathhouse and the beautiful view of Tomales Bay from the claw footed tub. Oh, and the cottage is very well thought out with lots of light.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank susanwimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this special review! We spend many hours a week in the garden and appreciate comments like yours. Sincerely, Patsy & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My wife and I visited this wonderfully situated and beautifully designed cottage in the hills of Inverness for our annual birthday weekend. We were immediately greeted by a phone call from our hosts confirming our arrival, making sure we felt welcome and well-taken care of and answering whatever questions we needed addressed. We were disappointed not to have met Phil and Patsy but also appreciated their respect for our privacy. It truly felt like our own little home for the long weekend.
We explored Point Reyes Nat'l Seashore and the various villages in the area. Being a cheesemaker and both being local food enthusiasts, we were thrilled the taste the local cheeses, oysters and other local foods. There were recommendations for restaurants and stores in the cottage.
One touch I really appreciated, having rented many private residences here and abroad, was the labelling of light switches and drawers so there was no need to run around testing every switch to see which turned on the light in question. The towels and robes were luxuriant and the cottage was well stocked with breakfast food, coffee and tea, so our mornings were relaxing with no need to run off to find something to eat. We even cooked one of our dinners in the cottage, which was well equipped for the job.
The bottom line is that we highly recommend this property for a visit to Point Reyes. You will relish the privacy, quiet and beauty.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your very nicely written and complete review...we appreciate the feedback you provided. We look forward to your next birthday visit....our 10% return guest plan can be used multiple times and never expires. Phil & Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This was our first visit back in several years and we definitely won’t wait that long again! The garden is as gorgeous as we remember and the cottage is cozy, super clean, and well appointed. Phil and Patsy really care about creating an outstanding experience for their guests – and boy do they succeed. We woke to the stunning views of Tomales Bay and the sounds of birds in the trees surrounding the cottage. Thank you for a wonderful escape from the everyday world!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah Block - P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your return visit. We appreciate your nice review and interest in the garden and the many specimen plants and trees we have here. We look forward to your next visit. Remember, our return guest discount never expires and can be used multiple times! Phil and Patsy, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The separate cottage, with its own parking spot, is nestled into a wonderful garden with views of Tomales Bay & Marin hillsides that glow at sunset. The immaculately clean cottage with full kitchen is the perfect spot to be cozy after a full day of exploring. Just bring your own food & wine. Don't miss a soak in the outdoor bathtub under the stars. Our stay included a glorious walk at Chimney Rock filled with whale watching and wildflowers. A perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelmax43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for the great guest review. You hit all the high points!...and a nice mix of spring weather! Cheers! Phil & Patsy, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews