We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
99
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden outdoor bathtub tomales bay water features plant life point reyes the perfect spot hiking trail full kitchen west marin oysters phil bathhouse beauty bloom privacy deck
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My wife and I visited this wonderfully situated and beautifully designed cottage in the hills of Inverness for our annual birthday weekend. We were immediately greeted by a phone call from our hosts confirming our arrival, making sure we felt welcome and well-taken care of and answering whatever questions we needed addressed. We were disappointed not to have met Phil and Patsy but also appreciated their respect for our privacy. It truly felt like our own little home for the long weekend.
We explored Point Reyes Nat'l Seashore and the various villages in the area. Being a cheesemaker and both being local food enthusiasts, we were thrilled the taste the local cheeses, oysters and other local foods. There were recommendations for restaurants and stores in the cottage.
One touch I really appreciated, having rented many private residences here and abroad, was the labelling of light switches and drawers so there was no need to run around testing every switch to see which turned on the light in question. The towels and robes were luxuriant and the cottage was well stocked with breakfast food, coffee and tea, so our mornings were relaxing with no need to run off to find something to eat. We even cooked one of our dinners in the cottage, which was well equipped for the job.
The bottom line is that we highly recommend this property for a visit to Point Reyes. You will relish the privacy, quiet and beauty.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your very nicely written and complete review...we appreciate the feedback you provided. We look forward to your next birthday visit....our 10% return guest plan can be used multiple times and never expires. Phil & Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This was our first visit back in several years and we definitely won’t wait that long again! The garden is as gorgeous as we remember and the cottage is cozy, super clean, and well appointed. Phil and Patsy really care about creating an outstanding experience for their guests – and boy do they succeed. We woke to the stunning views of Tomales Bay and the sounds of birds in the trees surrounding the cottage. Thank you for a wonderful escape from the everyday world!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah Block - P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your return visit. We appreciate your nice review and interest in the garden and the many specimen plants and trees we have here. We look forward to your next visit. Remember, our return guest discount never expires and can be used multiple times! Phil and Patsy, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The separate cottage, with its own parking spot, is nestled into a wonderful garden with views of Tomales Bay & Marin hillsides that glow at sunset. The immaculately clean cottage with full kitchen is the perfect spot to be cozy after a full day of exploring. Just bring your own food & wine. Don't miss a soak in the outdoor bathtub under the stars. Our stay included a glorious walk at Chimney Rock filled with whale watching and wildflowers. A perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelmax43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for the great guest review. You hit all the high points!...and a nice mix of spring weather! Cheers! Phil & Patsy, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We came hoping to slow down time. No...to be enfolded by time. We began with nothing on the calendar. And then embraced being, well, indolent. Just being and following whims. That involved sleeping, reading, watching rain pour down the windows, walking in the gardens here, til we were filled with scents and winter blossoms.

It was a superlative time facilitated by the Secret Cottage, replete with every imaginable provision and personal touch. Clean. Light. Many places outdoors to sit and be. Wonderful hosts. We were smitten! Stayed an extra day. Will be back to visit again.. J & G, Nevada City, CA

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank JandG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for your review! We appreciate what you have written and the care you took with the cottage. We look forward to your next visit! Always a return guest discount...anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Two nights was not long enough. We had planned to hike, enjoy the dining scene and wander the around Point Reyes Station, but instead found ourselves reluctant to leave the spacious yet cozy confines of the Secret Garden cottage and its gardens. Phil and Pat were delightful hosts; when I told Phil that I was a watercolor painter, he brought over a beautiful book with works by a local painter who is a friend of his. The gardens were lovely even in the dead of winter, and the views from every window were a delight. The sunrises were incredible from the bed and living room. The kitchen was well-equipped and thoughtfully stocked. Instead of dining out, we shopped at the Palace Market in Point Reyes Station and the IP Market in Inverness Park. Great roasted chicken and salads in the former, plus produce and fruit galore. The IP serves breakfast and lunch to go or to enjoy on site. House-made salmon burger with local fish served with grilled fennel and aioli. Yum. Cubano sandwich with pulled pork, hamburgers, great fries, burritos with fresh ingredients and much more. Delightful pasties, cheeses and ice creams in the market section. We stocked up and enjoyed all our meals next to the fire in the cottage, including a nice breakfast supplied by Pat and Phil. I spent my time wandering the quiet property, watching birds and painting what I saw. We will make this our go-to place for our frequent Tomales Bay escapes from now on. Could not be better service, quality and location for a couple looking for a romantic, secluded weekend in this heavenly spot.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Owner at Inverness Secret Garden Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

We appreciate the articulate and compelling review you have posted....what a bonus to find two of your watercolor paintings next to our guest book! Thank you for these works of art! We have copied them and attached them to your guest entry. Very generous and thoughtful! We look forward to your next visit! Phil and Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews