We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quiet Creek Inn(Idyllwild)
US$ 234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creekstone Inn(Idyllwild)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fireside Inn(Idyllwild)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
97
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset roomswan lakestrawberry creekthe ownermusic roomreading glassesperfect mixdvd collectionprivate bathguest loungebreakfast was excellentevery amenityeach morningwonderful placewe've stayedone night staywould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night but wished we had stayed more. Comfortable beds, very homely, clean. Little touches that make the difference such as handy reading glasses, chocolates, binoculars, umbrellas. Even the DVD collection look impressive.

Beautiful location with a lovely host. Thanks so much John. If you love attention and the personal touch - this is the place for you. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Didem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here on the way home from Palm Springs. We had never been to Idylwild, so we thought we would check it out. John was very gracious and made us feel welcome. Our room was very quiet and peaceful, and the breakfast was delicious. I am very glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Loved staying with John in the Music Room. We had a private bath and a queen bed. Everything was very clean and the breakfast John made was excellent!! Would definitely stay here again! Whithin walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Wanted to usher in the New Year in a peaceful atmosphere and booked 2 nights over the holiday weekend at the Rainbow Inn. Best thing to happen to me in 2 years (ending 2016 and beginning 2017!). The Inn is such a warm and welcoming place and John, the owner/chef/host makes you feel like family the moment you arrive. Accommodations are exceptional, down to every thoughtful detail. The home-cooked gourmet breakfast both mornings was a highlight. From the cozy great room with roaring fire to the huge comfortable bed, everything was near perfection. I am a bit wary of writing this...now everyone will and should treat themselves to the Rainbow Inn and there will be no free rooms! Loved it so much that I booked the entire place for a birthday weekend in July. Thank you John for a relaxing and rejuvenating start to the year.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice, so choose the one that suits you best!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singingbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our fourth trip to Idyllwild and the Rainbow Inn was as enchanting as the first. We were fortunate to get the Sunset Room....our third time.....and it was as inviting and comfortable as on previous stays. John, the innkeeper, is a most charming and welcoming host. He helped us secure a table at our favorite restaurant as soon as we arrived. We spent the balance of the day relaxing and watching two movies from the inn library. Breakfast was phenomenal.....the puffiest souffles i've ever seen....and equally delicious. John, you make every trip so special for us. While we hadn't planned to return until spring, I have booked another visit as a Valentine's Day surprise! As always......thank you, John.

Room Tip: Three things: book the Sunset Room; don't bring DVDs as the inn has an enormous inventory; and hope that French toast will be served
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews