We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Moon for Rainbow Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Wanted to usher in the New Year in a peaceful atmosphere and booked 2 nights over the holiday weekend at the Rainbow Inn. Best thing to happen to me in 2 years (ending 2016 and beginning 2017!). The Inn is such a warm and welcoming place and John, the owner/chef/host makes you feel like family the moment you arrive. Accommodations are exceptional, down to every thoughtful detail. The home-cooked gourmet breakfast both mornings was a highlight. From the cozy great room with roaring fire to the huge comfortable bed, everything was near perfection. I am a bit wary of writing this...now everyone will and should treat themselves to the Rainbow Inn and there will be no free rooms! Loved it so much that I booked the entire place for a birthday weekend in July. Thank you John for a relaxing and rejuvenating start to the year.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice, so choose the one that suits you best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singingbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our fourth trip to Idyllwild and the Rainbow Inn was as enchanting as the first. We were fortunate to get the Sunset Room....our third time.....and it was as inviting and comfortable as on previous stays. John, the innkeeper, is a most charming and welcoming host. He helped us secure a table at our favorite restaurant as soon as we arrived. We spent the balance of the day relaxing and watching two movies from the inn library. Breakfast was phenomenal.....the puffiest souffles i've ever seen....and equally delicious. John, you make every trip so special for us. While we hadn't planned to return until spring, I have booked another visit as a Valentine's Day surprise! As always......thank you, John.

Room Tip: Three things: book the Sunset Room; don't bring DVDs as the inn has an enormous inventory; and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Was our first time at a B&B and it was great. The room was excellent and John made a wonderful breakfast!! We have stayed in Idyllwild before but this will be our choice next time we come up. Wish we had stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: Great room with an awesome breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Art K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I stayed at the Rainbow Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday and, once again, enjoyed the ambiance, quality and serenity of this wonderful inn. John does such a great job making guests feel comfortable and serves up a gourmet breakfast each and every morning.

Some of the other guests during my stay have been returning year after year and many of us have booked for next Thanksgiving.

I stayed in the elegantly appointed Music Box room. Everything you need seems to be right at hand including a great selection of movies. A winter snow storm blew in delivering about 4 inches of snow one evening and completed the dreamlike experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We have been to Idyllwild many times over the past 30 years, and always enjoyed our stay. However, we hadn't visited in several years and soon found that places we had previously stayed were either closed or under new ownership. Inspired to find something new, we learned about the Rainbow Inn on tripadvisor. We made the right choice. At every step of the way, from reservations to checkout, John was an impeccable host. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts were truly in a gourmet category, creative, ample, and presented beautifully. However, perhaps most importantly, John has a talent for making guests feel welcome and at home. There may be other good places to stay in Idyllwild, but I can't imagine any are a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiego_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
17.2 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
17.0 km away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,584 reviews
17.1 km away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.6 km away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
159 reviews
1.3 km away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Region: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range: ₹ 8,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rainbow Inn offers five luxuriously appointed guest rooms each with their own private bath and many with their own fireplace. Rooms also feature wi-fi internet connectivity, cable TV, DVD players, refrigerators, access to an extensive library of DVD’s, six-hundred thread count sheets and in-room coffee makers.Whether it’s for one or 100, the Rainbow Inn on Strawberry Creek provides you with the picture-perfect environment for a quiet getaway, romantic wedding, serene retreat or business conference. Bask amid the spectacular scenery of alpine forests, along our rushing mountain stream or in the unique shops, galleries and restaurants of our quaint village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Inn Bed And Breakfast
Rainbow Hotel Idyllwild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing