We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
97
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset roomswan lakestrawberry creekthe ownermusic roomreading glassesperfect mixdvd collectionguest loungebreakfast was excellentevery amenityeach morningwonderful placewe've stayedone night staycozy roomking bed
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our fourth trip to Idyllwild and the Rainbow Inn was as enchanting as the first. We were fortunate to get the Sunset Room....our third time.....and it was as inviting and comfortable as on previous stays. John, the innkeeper, is a most charming and welcoming host. He helped us secure a table at our favorite restaurant as soon as we arrived. We spent the balance of the day relaxing and watching two movies from the inn library. Breakfast was phenomenal.....the puffiest souffles i've ever seen....and equally delicious. John, you make every trip so special for us. While we hadn't planned to return until spring, I have booked another visit as a Valentine's Day surprise! As always......thank you, John.

Room Tip: Three things: book the Sunset Room; don't bring DVDs as the inn has an enormous inventory; and hope that French toast will be served
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Was our first time at a B&B and it was great. The room was excellent and John made a wonderful breakfast!! We have stayed in Idyllwild before but this will be our choice next time we come up. Wish we had stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: Great room with an awesome breakfast!!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Art K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I stayed at the Rainbow Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday and, once again, enjoyed the ambiance, quality and serenity of this wonderful inn. John does such a great job making guests feel comfortable and serves up a gourmet breakfast each and every morning.

Some of the other guests during my stay have been returning year after year and many of us have booked for next Thanksgiving.

I stayed in the elegantly appointed Music Box room. Everything you need seems to be right at hand including a great selection of movies. A winter snow storm blew in delivering about 4 inches of snow one evening and completed the dreamlike experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We have been to Idyllwild many times over the past 30 years, and always enjoyed our stay. However, we hadn't visited in several years and soon found that places we had previously stayed were either closed or under new ownership. Inspired to find something new, we learned about the Rainbow Inn on tripadvisor. We made the right choice. At every step of the way, from reservations to checkout, John was an impeccable host. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts were truly in a gourmet category, creative, ample, and presented beautifully. However, perhaps most importantly, John has a talent for making guests feel welcome and at home. There may be other good places to stay in Idyllwild, but I can't imagine any are a better choice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiego_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I checked-in for an overnight stay at this lovely inn last July 5,2016. As it's just a day after the holiday, we had the place to ourselves..a very elegant, clean, quiet, and with well furnished and appointed rooms. The inn and its backyard is homey with a very accommodating and efficient innkeeper/manager. His breakfast feast for us was faultless, delish and sumptuous. I would say to stay in this bed and breakfast is elegance at its best, and Idyllwild shops and restos are not that far. Our only regret was staying just for a day...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lizbeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews