We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed with my 84-year-old mom in room #3, the Jimi Hendrix room. Fun! We felt like we were visiting family by Julie & James. They are the best, down to earth, funny, nice, caring. Forgot a bag outside our door and within minutes, they picked it up and returned it, and whenever we ran into them coming and whenever we saw them, they called us by our first names. There are steps to the 2nd floor where the rooms are located, and they were difficult for my mom, but she was a trooper and made it up and down several times. We visited our neighbors out on the deck. We will definitely book it again. We split our vacation between two motels, and I regret that. I'll stay at Surf Inn the whole time next visit. We didn't need a car either. I miss J&J!

Room Tip: PCH traffic can be noisy, but by lining the dirty clothes inside of the door to insulate it, as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Michele B.,
Wow...thank you for your kind words. J&J are nice folks and will always treat you like family. We try harder at the Inn, to paraphrase the Avis commercial, and are always grateful for the opportunity to serve wonderfully kind guests like you and your mother.
Take care. Hopefully we will be hanging out together along with the other guests on the deck again soon.
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    98
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
104
103
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seatte
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just got back after staying with 2 teenagers in Room 2! Great place....LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION, says it all. Besides that , Julie and James are so nice and welcoming, very down to earth. Room was comfy and cozy, great bed. We even got to use the microwave ;) The sitting area is comfortable, you can sit and watch the world go by at your feet!!

Room Tip: Room 1 might be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear SeattleZippy,
We thank you for your kind thoughts about James, Julia, and the Inn. We are glad you brought up your use of a microwave. Indeed we do have microwaves on site, and guests can just ask at the front desk for them at any time.
Our deck is a favorite feature for many of our visitors, as well as for James and Julia. Who will forget the HB sunset after hanging out on the deck with fellow guests "watching the world go by"!
Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great place! Great Location! Great People! Everything in walking distance. Bring your beverage of choice and enjoy the sunset from the deck!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear David B,
Thank you so much for putting it so succinctly. We will continue to improve to justify your faith in us and to be a cool joint for everyone!!
Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful little place. Only 9 rooms all situated above a small area for parking. Took less than 5 minute to get to Main Street and the pier (with a toddler walking). Can see the ocean from certain rooms. Amazing view of the sunset! Absolutely everything was within walking distance. Did not have to get in my car even once during our stay. Amazing restaurants and shops all within a 5 min walk or less.
And most importantly, the customer service was outstanding! We are instant repeat customers! I would recommended the Huntington Surf Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatcherfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear hatcherfamilyman,

We have all been moved by your review and your comment about becoming instant repeat customers!
Indeed, Julia and James know customer service, and strive to treat all our guests like family.
Our goal is to provide our customers with a great experience. Travel should be a blast. We feel truly privileged that you entrusted a big portion of ensuring that it will be fun to us.
We hope to see your family again soon...plenty of room at the deck!

Please take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I loved the location, loved that it was one block from a CVS and 7-11 for any last minute items, 2 blocks from the cutest, hippest downtown with great food, shops, happy hour specials and people watching and great views of the ocean. The rooms were recently remodeled and the pictures on the website don't do it justice, so much creativity and modern art in the rooms. A little noisy as it is right on pch but that's A fair exchange to be right across from te ocean. The heater in our room didn't work but we were there on a rare weekend when you would even need a heater. Not many amenities but there is not much more we could have needed besides the mini fridge. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craymond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear craymond1,

Thank you so much for your great review. Indeed our location has been a blessing. Most of our guests have not needed a car after arrival to our location. We are especially proud that you enjoyed the decoration of your room, as we wanted to present our guests with a more personalized approach to hotel room design as befitting a property of our size. You will be pleased to know that we have taken your review in account and have readjusted the heater, which will come handy this fall, and right now the a/c is working well.
We are ready for you to come back!

Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,364 reviews
1.0 km away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
0.0 km away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntington Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
8.0 km away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
546 reviews
7.5 km away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,672 - ₹ 19,278
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing