We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight in Huntington Beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cayucos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in Huntington Beach”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great location, nice room, good value. Everything is a short walk away. Beach is across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahwaziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Ahwaziran,
Thank you for your succinct review of the Huntington Surf Inn. Although we are indeed blessed by a location so close to the beach and activities of Huntington Beach, we will continue to strive to make your visit a pleasant one with great customer service and cool rooms at affordable prices. We hope to see you again soon!
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    96
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
100
99
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Huntington Surf Inn in Huntington Beach the night before we raced the Surf City Half Marathon. We found the hotel clean, convenient and with the friendliest staff around! We were greeted with smiles and suggestions and I even was able to borrow a hair dryer so that I could look good after the race ( A girl has got to do what a girl has got to do!). The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because we were in room #1 and the Hotel Sign was really bright throughout the night (thank goodness for my race headband!) and the traffic was pretty constant (until they closed down the PCH) sometime during the night. I would highly recommend this hotel, just make sure you stay in any room but room #1!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room #1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Patty0625,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are sure you looked great after the race, hair dryer in use or not!
You are indeed correct that our location allows our guests to be in the thick of the race. Over the years, the Inn has been privileged to host many racers, and has strived to give you a peaceful and quiet rest before the race as well as complimentary late checkouts.
Of note, room 1's views of the ocean and Pacific Coast Highway does make it a little livelier than some of our other rooms. We apologize that we did not get the opportunity to show you the roll up blind hidden in the window that would have blocked out lights effectively for you. We will be putting a placard in room 1 to remind guests that they have this option available.
Once again, thank you and best wishes for future successes in this incredible feat of sportsmanship and endurance.

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

As someone traveling alone, I doubt any other place could have felt quite so much like home. The Inn's small size, family-business feeling and incredibly kind and helpful couple manning the place made for a great 3-4 days stay there. I can't imagine any other larger hotel lending booties to a surfer in need... then again I may be wrong, but that was just one of many helpful gestures the landlords extended me during my stay.
Huntington beach is all the better off with the Surfer's Inn and I would definitely go back there next time round!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Stewie G,

Thank you for the exceptionally kind words. We love our guests, and have been blessed with many many great ones. You came all the way from Hong Kong, and deserved the very best we can offer in customer service and TLC.

Come on back anytime, and we will keep the booties around for you!

Happy New Year,

Fred Malzahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This place is just a really nice place. It's not a big hotel, so you get friendly, personable owners that are there to greet you, nice clean rooms that have a cool, laid-back decor and feeling, parking just steps from your door, couple blocks from everything, including the beach. And the price is much less than other area hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Beachx3,

Thank you so much for your review.

You really captured the essence of who we are. We want to be very personable and friendly while providing you a lodging choice that has all the modern facilities at a fair price so that you can still have some change left over to enjoy the incredible attractions down the street in Huntington Beach.
When you are tired, c'mon back to the Inn and watch the sun set with us on the deck.

Thank you again. Please take care and safe travels.

Fred Malzahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Managemant was amazing, professional and so accomodating. Location couldn't be better. Walking distance to bars, restauants, shopping...perect! Rooms were clean and so comfortable! Would definently recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
1.0 km away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 km away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
8.0 km away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
9.4 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,690 - ₹ 19,323
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing