We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huntington Surf Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Huntington Beach Inn(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Sun 'n' Sands Motel(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasea Hotel & Spa(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Huntington Suites(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Surf City(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Beach Inn Motel(Huntington Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
273
105
16
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
105
16
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmain streetjimi hendrixnice deckwithin walking distanceplace to staydefinitely stay here againcouple blockswatch the sunsetbest featuresmall hotellaid backbeach towelslarge showerclean roomstacosstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Huntington Surf Inn in Huntington Beach the night before we raced the Surf City Half Marathon. We found the hotel clean, convenient and with the friendliest staff around! We were greeted with smiles and suggestions and I even was able to borrow a hair dryer so that I could look good after the race ( A girl has got to do what a girl has got to do!). The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because we were in room #1 and the Hotel Sign was really bright throughout the night (thank goodness for my race headband!) and the traffic was pretty constant (until they closed down the PCH) sometime during the night. I would highly recommend this hotel, just make sure you stay in any room but room #1!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room #1!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Patty0625,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are sure you looked great after the race, hair dryer in use or not!
You are indeed correct that our location allows our guests to be in the thick of the race. Over the years, the Inn has been privileged to host many racers, and has strived to give you a peaceful and quiet rest before the race as well as complimentary late checkouts.
Of note, room 1's views of the ocean and Pacific Coast Highway does make it a little livelier than some of our other rooms. We apologize that we did not get the opportunity to show you the roll up blind hidden in the window that would have blocked out lights effectively for you. We will be putting a placard in room 1 to remind guests that they have this option available.
Once again, thank you and best wishes for future successes in this incredible feat of sportsmanship and endurance.

L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

As someone traveling alone, I doubt any other place could have felt quite so much like home. The Inn's small size, family-business feeling and incredibly kind and helpful couple manning the place made for a great 3-4 days stay there. I can't imagine any other larger hotel lending booties to a surfer in need... then again I may be wrong, but that was just one of many helpful gestures the landlords extended me during my stay.
Huntington beach is all the better off with the Surfer's Inn and I would definitely go back there next time round!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Stewie G,

Thank you for the exceptionally kind words. We love our guests, and have been blessed with many many great ones. You came all the way from Hong Kong, and deserved the very best we can offer in customer service and TLC.

Come on back anytime, and we will keep the booties around for you!

Happy New Year,

Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This place is just a really nice place. It's not a big hotel, so you get friendly, personable owners that are there to greet you, nice clean rooms that have a cool, laid-back decor and feeling, parking just steps from your door, couple blocks from everything, including the beach. And the price is much less than other area hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Beachx3,

Thank you so much for your review.

You really captured the essence of who we are. We want to be very personable and friendly while providing you a lodging choice that has all the modern facilities at a fair price so that you can still have some change left over to enjoy the incredible attractions down the street in Huntington Beach.
When you are tired, c'mon back to the Inn and watch the sun set with us on the deck.

Thank you again. Please take care and safe travels.

Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Managemant was amazing, professional and so accomodating. Location couldn't be better. Walking distance to bars, restauants, shopping...perect! Rooms were clean and so comfortable! Would definently recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The staff, the rooms and the view make Huntington Beach and the Huntington Surf Inn a wonderful place to just kick back and relax. There are always plenty of things going on in the town to keep you busy during the day. And the night-life is just as welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Taylor B,

Thank you for your kindness in writing this review.
We are grateful for your visit, and want you to know that James and Julia will keep the doors open for you anytime.
Your comments about the activities in HB is indeed very accurate. The neat thing is that the nightlife, shopping, and dining is set up discreetly so that the beach itself still feels pristine, and the waves not crowded.
We look forward to serving you again soon. Bless your heart :)

Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews