We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but a bit run-down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, but a bit run-down”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Huntington Beach is a wonderful location and a brilliant place to spend some time if you love the sea (and surfing). This motel is located only a short walk from the pier and the central shopping plaza.

In this case it really is a matter of getting what you sign up for. They are not posing as a luxury resort and it certainly isn't. Our room was clean and relatively comfortable. I would not recommend this for a family holiday or extended stay, but then that isn't what you would expect from a motel!

I did think it was a bit pricey, but since we only stayed one night, the convenience of being centrally located was worth it. The decor is dated, but they provided free internet and there are many great restaurants and bars just around the corner.

Room Tip: I'd try and get a room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kobuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I had no reservations at all but everything worked out fine during our short stay in Huntington Beach. We checked several other hotels/motels in the area, some of them way inland, but decided to stay at Sun 'n' Sands because of the fair rate considering the excellent location.
Friendly staff, safe, quiet, walking distance from the pier and you just have to cross PCH in order to have your feet buried in the sand. That's all you're looking for when you stay in HB, right?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani_Cera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Sun and Sands was recommended to me by a friend. After going online and reading some of review I debated about going. I am so glad I went! The lady at the front was amazing. I have a 8, 6 and 3 year old and they all loved her. She was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This little motel is not a pretentious hotel but gee, it does the job. The on site manager, Carrie, works hard to please and accommodate her guests. We checked in for two nights, have ended up staying four, and would stay longer if we did not have to fly home.
The mini suite we had...slightly larger than your normal double room, was clean and spacious. The rooms were serviced daily was a lovely cleaning lady. As for safety, I don't know what that whacko below was talking about, but we were comfortable enough to leave the teens to themselves for an hour while we had a quick romantic dinner at Main Street. Plenty of Jag's, Lexus's, and Mercedes in the car park, so they must have felt good about the
place too.
You can't beat location as it's right across the road from Huntington Beach, you can hire chairs and umbrellas from Carrie. My hubby surfed all day, quids boogie boarded and I enjoyed the sun. When the sun went down there are plenty of restaurants handy and South Coast Plaza is about 10 mins away by car.
All in all we loved it....As stated above Carrie does her best to work with you and make your stay enjoyable. We will be back, same time next year without any hesitations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

It was our second time there. We were visiting Los Angeles, and I talked my friends into going down there. We didn`t have a reservation, just showed up, but we got our rooms just fine.
For a motel it has all the equipment you need. The rooms are a bit tight but you`re not spending much time in there so its fine.
Nice bathroom with a shower.
They have their own parking lot, so thats a plus.
Main street is just a few minutes walk, so you are close to everything!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsofka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
2.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
1.4 km away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 km away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.7 km away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
9.7 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n' Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n' Sands Motel

Property: Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Address: 1102 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-4817
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,140 - ₹ 15,113
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun 'n' Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sun 'n' Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun `n` Sands Hotel Huntington Beach
Sun n Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing