We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious, elegant and tastefully priced...a 10!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slow Fish

Slow Fish
Ranked #250 of 582 Restaurants in Huntington Beach
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Delicious, elegant and tastefully priced...a 10!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were tired travelers from Oregon and heard of Slow Fish from a colleague. We were very pleased we chose this lovely place. The staff was attentive and friendly. The sushi chefs were fun and we really loved the food. fresh, yummy and served beautifully. They sent us a sample of the fried yellowtail and we were disappointed that we were so stuffed we couldn't order more. $55 bucks for the two of us including wine, and tax...great!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jupitersinspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful & delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great food, great service and great prices. Five stars!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt76U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Japanese/Sushi - Some of the freshest flavors I have ever found! This is a small, unpretentious out-of-the-way restaurant that is gaining popularity by word-of mouth testimony. They don't have wild and crazy menu items, but they do everything perfect! You must try their signature appetizers - The Fat Avo is a work of art - a thinly sliced avocado stuffed with seasoned tuna, (it's shaped like an apple) drizzled with a sweet/tangy sauce, the "Starter" plate comes with Jalapeno-Tuna tempura, and bacon-wrapped asparagus tips. The cut rolls are available with Black Rice, which is a wonderful and healthy alternative. The Hawaiian roll is my favorite, spicy [finely chopped] Ahi in the center, Ahi on the top with an addictive sauce on top - no need to dip this one! They have, for an extra buck or two, the REAL wasabi...not powdered and reconstituted but finely chopped, it's a totally different experience. Their tempura offerings do not turn out greasy, and they have wonderful hot plates. You'll be back to try something new, and won't be dissapointed. Prices are very reasonable, portions are generous. They will treat you like family on your first visit. One of my favorite restaurants!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTonyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Hands down, the best sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I consider myself a picky sushi customer. I have had sushi around the globe including Japan and Slow Fish has the best sushi in North America. They have the freshest and best texture fish. They also offer creative sushi dishes that you don't see anywhere else. Don't let their location fool you. This is the best sushi!
Try their Tuna Tostadas - yum!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caddoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I wish I'd found this place earlier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Slowfish has been there for four years and I live just 2 miles away but didn't know it was there until now. Slow Fish does elevated sushi -- nothing average about it. We started with a "Fat apple" which is an avocado ball stuffed with albacore, followed by Fanny Bay oysters on the half shell. Then we had miso soup which actually had flavor, shrimp and vegetable tempura, a side of black rice and then a Hawaiian Role (spicy tuna rolled in rice topped with avocado and tuna). Everything tasted excellent and was presented beautifully. I will definitely go back

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LSCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slow Fish also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Slow Fish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing