We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast is delightful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast is delightful!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and it was our favorite! The Inn is beautiful. Location is beautiful. Dane and his wife are a delight. His wine is wonderful! Thanks for the wine tour, Dane. They knew it was our honeymoon and had a wonderful chocolate grenache torte and champagne in our room. Hospitality was great. Enjoyed sitting on the porch each evening and sampling wine with the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleLM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
352
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We can only repeat what others have said about this gem in the Russian River wine country. Our family was looking for a place where our older young adults (20-30 crowd), would feel comfortable - yet would still appeal to the parents. We found it at the Raford with Rita and Dane. Their Inn is welcoming and quite simply the essence of hospitality and service. It is in the middle of wine country - and all that comes with it. Vineyards, small winery's on curvy country roads - and a sense of community that you can feel. Within a short distance are the Armstrong Redwoods, the ocean and stunning vistas. It is true that it is out in the country - but that makes it an even better place to stay. If you forget the cell phone and the computer you won't miss them. It is replaced with interactions with other interesting people, wine and cheese conversations, or simply relaxing on the porch. (There is WiFi if you MUST have that connection.....). Sebastopol, Healdsburg and Santa Rosa are a short drive away if you thirst for an evening in a town. Regardless, other activities and restaurants are also close by. We stayed a week - and everybody loved it. We learned about wine, we spent time together and we had a fantastic time. The service is excellent, the breakfasts were magnificent, and a set of hosts like Rita and Dane simply cannot be replicated. We would not suggest the Raford for families with small or young children. But if your kids are older and appreciate nature, the opportunity to learn new things and enjoy adult conversation, the Raford will be a memorable experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I had booked a long weekend trip to the Raford Inn with my husband and another couple based on it's Tripadvisor reviews and we were more than happy with our experience. We arrived late the first night and Rita and Dane welcomed us happily and had set out some wine for us to enjoy while settling in. What really made this B&B amazing was the personal and small touches. Below are the standouts that made this place so amazing, we will be back!

- Coffee, tea, biscotti and fresh baked cookies out at all hours
- Amazing breakfast at 9am with the other guest. Such a wonderful time to socialize and share recommendations and experiences. Not to mention the food was wonderful. During our 2 days we enjoyed a cheesy quich with a homemade ginger, lemon scone and french toast with wheat raisin bread, eggs, cream cheese, berries and a flaky crust.
- They have local wineries come in at 5:30 to do a tasting with cheese, olives, crackers and other snacks.
- Dane and Rita are wonderful and will sit around with the guest and socialize and tell stories. Not to mention Dane has a great sense of humor.
- Vineyard with Dane. He is so passionate about his wine making. Would recommend doing this walk with him after breakfast.
- The wrap around porch with amazing views of the vineyard!
- You can't beat the price in this location for such exceptional service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utahlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

In the main, I agree with the highly enthusiastic reviews for the Raford. Dane and Rita are congenial hosts and we very much enjoyed the tour of Dane's winemaking work. There were other helpful staff members at the Raford so there was always somebody to answer a question. The view from the verandah overlooking large vineyards is spectacular. Our room was fine but not exceptional. The breakfasts were good. Somehow we missed the wine and cheese receptions that others praised so highly.
I don't see other reviews mentioning an important fact: the Raford is about 10 miles from the heart of Healdsburg. The drive to and from the town is lovely while the sun is shining. However, we did not enjoy the drive back from dinner in Healdsburg on a pitch black night on country roads. There are restaurants closer to the Raford than Healdsburg but even Cork's (which was recommended to us and we enjoyed it) was a 10 minute drive in the dark. We thought the room rate was quite reasonable so we give the Raford high marks for value. We are very glad that Rita and Dane are such good owners of a lovely, historic property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pateve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I just want to say thank you to the Inn Keepers: Rita & Dane.
We had excellent service and a great atmosphere as well as great people to share a wine tour visit. This was a return visit to the Raford Inn and I would come again in a heart beat.

Thanks for everything you did to make our stay so perfect,

Room Tip: From what I saw and experienced all rooms a excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalshHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
14.2 km away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
13.7 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
12.5 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
12.6 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
12.8 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,029 - ₹ 17,517
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg
The Raford Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing