We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full Service B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camellia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camellia Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Full Service B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Lucy is one of the best inn keepers in the area. A stay at the Camellia Inn is truly something to write home about. The rooms are clean and welll appointed with great privacy. The service is great with a very personal touch. Each evening (around 5:00) Lucy lays out a selection of cheese and wine to rival any offering in the area. We were most impressed with the library selections of wine. Every morning greets you with a home cooked breakfast with a wide variety of breakfast food selections both hot and cold, sit and eat or finger food. If you are going to the Sonoma wine country, it's the place to be. BTW, it is only 2 blocks from Healdsburg Plaza.

Room Tip: We were to engage a two bedroom suite for $200 a night which was an excellent bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
173
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Very comfortable, very convenient. Our hosts were very helpful and recommended wineries to us and to other guests, customizing their recommendations to our individual likes/dislikes. They were very helpful in getting us a reservation at BarnDiva for dinner. We enjoyed the breakfasts - there was a good selection of dishes, including gluten free bread. There was also a good selection of wines and cheeses in the evenings. We also enjoyed talking with the other guests at breakfasts, but there was no forced camaraderie and we had plenty of privacy. We would stay at the Camellia Inn again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradescantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Healdsburg is what Napa and Valley of the Moon used to be, before all the bridal party limousines, tour buses and $20 tasting fees. And the Camellia Inn ftis right in with honest, personal, home town service. Beautiful rooms surrounded in southern style charm and a delicious homemade breakfast. Let them plan your day, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayGoWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My family came to Healdsburg for the first time in October 2011 to run in the town's 1/2 and Full Marathon. We booked the 2-bedroom suite located a few blocks from Camillia Inn's main campus on Foss Street. From a location standpoint, it could not be beat--only 1 block from the start and finish of the race on Grove Street. It was also very clean and comfortable. Problems were the 2-bedroom suite or apartment is located on the 2nd floor without any lighting on the outside and on top of the bakery's garbage cans. The cute patio area stunk to the point we could not use it, and the odor emanating when we walked into and out of the apartment was awful. There was night-time noise with the dumping of glass bottles in the dumpsters, which was unfortunate as we needed a good night's sleep before the race, and of course, the dumping woke us up on each instance. The oven had to be unplugged as it kept beeping in the middle of the night. The television provided in the living room was a very old and small one, and frankly, for the room's price, we would have expected mounted wide screen TVs in the living room and 2 bedrooms. Breakfast is not provided to those renting this 2-bedroom suite/apartment, although the "happy hour" wine service at the main building is, and it was lovely. We won't stay in the apartment again, the location notwithstanding, however, we would like to try staying in a room in the main building. Lucy, the innkeeper, was very gracious and helpful. The main building is very cute and clean, and there is a pool in the back. The location of the main building still is close to everything downtown, including the race site.

Our visit to Healdsburg was wonderful, and the downtown is one of the cutest we have ever seen. We will be back, hopefully next year to run in the next race, which was a terrific experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudgeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
261 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is the second time in the last year we have stayed at the Camelia Inn. The location cannot be beat, just two blocks off the square, but without the noisy bustle that goes with being on the square or the main drag. Our room had a beautiful bay window overlooking the front garden, as well as a fireplace. Innkeeper Lucy is a terrific host, very welcoming and full of knowledge about the area...wineries, restaurants, shopping. And the breakfasts are a good as any B&B we have visited. Wine and cheese at 5 PM, complimentary coffee all day, and fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon. Plenty of offstreet parking, too. We have stayed in two other Healdsburg B&Bs, the Calderwood and the Grape Leaf Inn. And Camelia wins our vote for the best stay, mostly because of Lucy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor. The beautiful curved staircase is a little difficult to negotia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rac-columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.4 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.3 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.1 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.5 km away
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Haydon Street Inn B & B
#9 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Property: Camellia Inn
Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,930 - ₹ 20,880
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO BOOK DIRECTLY ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing