We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, Cheap, Well Located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, Cheap, Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We were a little worried about booking this motel due to the other reviews. However, we got exactly what we paid for: a clean, well-located, affordable room. I highly recommend this motel for anyone that is interested in visiting Healdsburg on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SStephens33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    29
    39
    29
    23
See reviews for
24
49
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We've stayed at ABVIS in Healdsburg several times over the past 5 years and this year marked a decidedly nasty downturn. After a day of wine drinking, we like to be able to walk to the square, have some beers and walk back to our lodging. With this objective, one can pick a B&B or this motel. I like the local B&B's but there's the cost to figure.

Arrival revealed blue tarp over most of the gables on our building. Obvious roofing problems. It rained during our stay but we had no leaks. The door to our room was maybe a 1/8" too wide for the door jam. Getting in and out of the room was slightly violent.

In the past, ABVIS has been basic, clean, reasonably priced digs. This is no longer true. Getting up in the morning and standing in the wet tub, I noticed that my feet had muddied the tub floor. I'm quite sure that didn't run around barefoot the previous day so had to conclude I picked up the dirt from the motel room floor. Closing the shower curtain revealed mold spots.

Next morning, 7am, we had the 'pleasure' to listening to our neighbors TV thru the wall. If you stay, go for a bigger room at the end of the complex. They're either newer or better insulated. Also more expensive.

Returning to the room on the second nite, we discovered our fridge was short 1 beer. Not a big deal in terms of cost, maybe $2, but huge when one considers the violated trust between tenant and housekeeping.

At $140/nite (Saturday/Sunday stay average, over sat/sun event weekend) this can no longer be considered a budget motel but if one wants to avoid driving in Healdsburg and retain some cash, one's kinda stuck. The best western's a little too far for the walk and L&M scares me (tho' I might just check it out next time!).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank checkerInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear CheckerAz69,
First, I want to thank you for your patronage over the past 5 years. I am sure you have seen over this time period that we have made significant improvenents to our property including reconstructing 90% of our property and completely rennovated the remaining units which were part of the original building. You are absolutely correct about the tarp on the building and that we did discover some problems this past winter with our roof on a portion of the original building. However, there are no leaks inside any of the rooms. With the current state of our economy and the lack of business in our area, it is taking us a bit longer to fix the issue. I am hopeful that with the approaching summer months along with improved business conditions, we will be able to redo the entire rooms on the original wing.
I do want to comment regarding your claim about the theft of a beer. Our housekeeper has been with us for the past 12 years and we have never had any incidents related to theft in all these years. She is a very loyal employee and a dear friend as well. She would not have intentionally stole the beer, especially for someone who doesn't drink alcohol. If in error she had cleaned out the fridge and thrown out the beer, I apologize for that. I hope in the future you give us an opportunity to correct the situation before your departure.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Healdsburg hotels

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Lots of wood panelling in the room, reminded me of a cozy older cabin. Great value for area, friendly front desk person.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ilovelowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Best deal in Healdsburg,

We rented half the hotel for our wedding in May. The staff was friendly, they even left little of goodies for all our guest and a bottle of wine for us! It's a no thrills setting but very comfortable and nice. Great location, close to downtown..and freeway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atolmasoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

We had our wedding party there, and everything went very well. There was a bottle of wine and snacks in our room complimentary, and the manager personally called us to check on the hotel block -- he even went out of his way to research & suggest a local shuttle service.

For Healdsburg, the prices are quite reasonable, but the rooms are wanting. Don't get me wrong, it's nicer than a basic motel, quite clean (although they're a little conservative with towels!), with newer beds & decent furniture & fixtures. But I travel on business a fair amount, and a new Hilton Garden Inn or a basic room at a Kimpton are way better for the same price. The layout in our room was also a little strange -- we got the whirlpool/hot in the room, which was very nice (and free upgrade, which was super nice!), but it was located right in the middle of the living room.... just a really odd placement, like they were checking off a box (hot tub, check!).

Overall, decent place in a good location, with nice & thoughtful managment.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.6 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.0 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
8.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,893 - ₹ 13,035
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing