We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable, friendly bike rental with great routes”
Review of Wine Country Bikes

Wine Country Bikes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Castle Rock, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Reliable, friendly bike rental with great routes”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I wanted to spend at least one day on bicycles while in the area. Wine Country Bikes provided comfortable and well maintained hybrid bikes, excellent suggestions of routes, maps, and places to visit.
We were routed around the Dry Creek Valley, made stops at the Bella and Raymond Burr wineries for some tasting,and had a great lunch at the Country Store. This is a relaxing and recreational day on a bike taking in some classic California wine country scenery.
Based on other reviews and our experience with John and the staff, these folks put together great multi-day rides, guided or otherwise.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Forget the Rest - these folks are truly the BEST”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I investigated several "high end" all inclusive tours but determined that this company had everything I was looking for in a bike trip to a new area - tour guides, great bikes, SAG back up, and general advice. We took the 3 day wine country tour - our first day, as season is winding down, we lucked out and were only ourselves and our guide Taylor, who was phenomenal. He "tailored" (no pun intended) our tour to match our speed and abilities, and we biked 25 miles and saw 4 vineyards, really, each one more beautiful then the next, and we got a great "snack" and a picnic lunch and water/energy drinks as well. Andy, who helped coordinate everything via email, was exceptionally helpful, as well as Joe, when we were deciding where to go the next day and give my husband another 10 miles he could do that afternoon. A little uncertain the next morning, we headed back to the shop for some advice about where to go in the morning to check out the area- we were given great advice to drive through Graton and Occidental to the Pacific Coast and then we went back River Road through Guerneville to Healdsburg. The shop itself is clean, complete and reasonably priced on everything from protein bars to biking gear. Check these guys out, you will be so glad you did - you will never feel like a tourist, you will feel like a friend.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We highly recommend Wine Country Bikes”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Wine Country Bikes did an absolutely outstanding job in supporting our self-guided tour. The detailed route information, flexibility, suggestions for lunch and dinners, and friendly, supportive and professional attitude ensured the best customer interactions. Andy is a huge part of their phenomenal service. He did a great job of reading our ability and interests and tailoring his suggestions to best suit us.The company had many little touches that went above and beyond what we expected, including a mid-trip cleaning and tune-up of the bikes, especially appreciated after a rainy and muddy first day's ride. In addition to lots of fully independent multi-day bike trips we have also taken a supported self-guided trip in Nova Scotia with another company and a guided trip with Butterfield and Robinson and Wine Country Tours compares favorably with all of these. We are looking forward to planning another trip with them and would eagerly recommend them.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RKJerseyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Andy and staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating to us. They had everything laid out for us and were very knowledgeable about the area. We would highly recommend them!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank JCR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A GREAT Wine & Bike Trip with a full Belly”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Wow want an incredible day it was. First you meet up with your guide, who in this case was Jay and he was GREAT, then you bike for 12 miles to your first wine tasting. Jay will set-up some GREAT cheese and fruit to eat while you wine taste. Then you bike for another 4 miles to your next wine tasting, were lunch is provided and what a lunch; 5 differnet types of snadwiches, a GREAT salad, olives, and a homemade Lemon Cheesecake. On to your next wine tasting 1 mile away and then back home. This was my first bike trip ever and I am hooked to do more biking. What a GREAT day it was!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank guseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Country Bikes also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Wine Country Bikes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing