We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A true gem of a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irish Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irish Rose Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Redwood City, California
1 review
“A true gem of a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at this lovely B&B yesterday together with my fiancee and we absolutely loved it. Lanny and Chris, the owners, are wonderful people and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. I highly recommend a stay with them!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    17
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Perfect!
Warm comfy couple, Christine and Lanny, offer a warm and comfortable environment. Clean and comfy beds on a cold night, we woke to a roaring fire, a hot pot of tea, and a wonderful hot breakfast. After a day of hiking and wine tasting we returned for a nap, and then joined our hosts for wine and cheese.
Our hosts know their area, wine, restaurants, parks, and the greater Bay Area.
We shared our travel stories of Ireland and growing up in San Francisco.
The Irish Rose brings Irish hospitality to northern California, I felt at home!
I'm already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

It's hard to give this place 3 stars because the hosts are such sweet people and were so kind to us, but in our experience, this place wasn't deserving of it's close to the top rank on trip advisor. I looked at all the B&B options before selected Irish Rose and it looked wonderful and was $100 or $200/night cheaper that other spots. But, there's a reason. It's not quite up to par if you really want a luxurious get away.

When we entered, there was an off smell. We got used to it, but each time we entered, we smelled it again. The water pressure in the shower was bad which is no good especially when it's cold and you want a nice hot shower. The tub was nice, but there was no way two people could fit in there. When the shampoo was almost gone, new shampoo wasn't left.

Our bathroom door did not close when you shut the door. It was missing the piece of the door that clicked in the door frame, so we had no privacy when in the bathroom. When I shared this with the host, he acknowledged that it needed to be fixed, but never fixed it even though we were there 2 days after I shared this.

When we weren't in our room, there wasn't a good place to be! The house was very very cold. The living room was fine, but not a super cozy spot to curl up in peace and quiet with a book and it was cold.

The breakfasts were good, but not anything amazing and the coffee was straight bad. The second and third days we went down the street for real strong coffee.

On the positive side, it is in a great location- literally among the vines. The hosts were very warm and offered us many tasting passes so that we tasted for free several places.

But, if you're like us and rarely get away, treat yourself to a little nicer place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasObie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My fiancee and I recently stayed at the Irish Rose Inn for 3 nights while visiting wedding venues in the area. Our room was so cute and comfortable, we couldn't have asked for a better place to rest after a long day. It was such a beautiful setting, and Chris and Lanny made us feel very welcome. They had great tips and recommendations for us each morning, and made us feel at home. We can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

What a beautiful place. Roses everywhere both hierloom and Tea. Magnificent old world
walnut trees. We stayed in the cottage and it was well stocked comfortable and very clean.
our visit was too short but our host could not have been nicer and we felt like we were visting
old friends.

There is even a place surrounded by roses and vineyards where you can enjoy
warmth of the setting sun, a glass of wine and a fine cigar. You might even be
joined by Chris whose knowledge of the area is both interesting and enlightening.

say hello to Daisy

michaelacrowe@hotmail.com

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
6.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
5.1 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.5 km away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#5 of 14 in Healdsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Rose Inn

Property: Irish Rose Inn
Address: 3232 Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9711
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,425 - ₹ 13,480
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing