We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
614
288
89
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
288
89
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sam's chowder house fog horn continental breakfast stove top bagels ocean view penthouse suite wine and cheese reception small kitchen pool and hot tub get away living area third floor fresh fruit no air conditioning king bed beach access
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

I stayed at The Beach House with a friend for a girl's retreat. It was superb. The rooms were clean, the views magnificent, the staff friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was plentiful with fabulous fruit and pastries.
My suggestion is that they replace the sofa bed with one that is more easily opened and closed and has a firmer mattress. I also suggest that they have a grab bar in the shower. Loved it here and can't wait to return.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank slcmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 STAR review and choosing the Beach House for your girls getaway! We enjoyed having you here over the past weekend and hope you enjoyed the beautiful warm weather and pumpkin fest. Please call us again soon as we can't wait to welcome you back! We are in the process of replacing the sofas/sofa beds and the chairs in the living area and do have grab bars available for showers and tubs if needed. Just call the front desk or let us know when booking and we will have them ready.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Beach House, see you soon!

Warm regards,

Lisa Mendoza
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Again, your place is one of my favorites. A few twerks I wish you would change: When offering free Wifi and have a desk for your computer, have a light that has an electrical outlet with it. It's uncomfortable for us old folks to crawl under the desk to plug our computers in. Do some minor remodeling so the large TV is in the living area (penthouse room) and small TV is in bedroom area. And third,I have a mobility issue and as all guests, like to dine at Sam's Chowder House next door. Try and make the shortcut to Sam's less steep so scooters and wheelchairs don't have to go out on the highway to get there. I had a spill on the rough shoulder. Other than that, great stay.

Room Tip: Third floor is best for ocean views.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADaveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dave,

Thank you for the great 5-STAR review of our hotel! Your feedback is very important and we can look into these items as we are currently replacing the living room furniture.

The path between Sam's Chowder House and the Beach House is private. We do NOT recommend to our guest to cut through this path. It is safer and easier to take the Coastal Trail and walk up their stairs if possible. We are always here to help. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa Mendoza
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Loved this hotel. We were on the second floor and could see harbor and ocean front view. Room was laid out perfectly, Very roomy and comfortable bedding. I noticed that there were some reviews about having trouble sleeping with fog horn going off all night. We closed doors and never heard it. We were there in September and it was nice and cool at night.

Room Tip: Satisfied with second floor.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Susan,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing the Beach House in Half Moon Bay. I am so glad you loved the hotel, view and layout of the room. We try to make it feel like home with a fireplace, kitchenette and many of the comforts of home!

We know some guests are light sleepers and may hear the fog horn and others love the fog horn finding it a charming part of the coastal life. Happy to hear you did not hear it, but we do offer ear plugs if needed or fans in rooms.

The weather has been warm and beautiful, lots of whales in the harbor and crab season starts soon! Hope you can get-a-way again to enjoy the beach as we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Always had fond memories of this place but this trip was a bit disappointing. Love the fireplace but the cabinets are chipped, can see the dirt under the fridge, the paint is uneven, screen door is torn, and the toilet seat needs to be replaced. Also cobwebs on the cabinets. So sad because I really did want to love this place. I would try it in the future, but would insist on seeing the room first.

#disappointed in Half Moon Bay

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cherylstallworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for your feedback and review, this is very important to us and your timely is spot on. We had a very busy summer and have had several projects & upgrades scheduled, however I apologize you found your room to be disappointing. Please always call us at the front desk once you have checked in to see if there is a solution as we will always try to correct if we know. This sounds as if we could have corrected some or moved you to a different room.

We are in the process of replacing the living room furniture, painting and every room is deep cleaned on a regular basis. Carpets were cleaned last week, bathrooms had a mini remodel in Spring and rooms are maintained daily. We like to hear from you if something is not working or in need of repair. It's really not sad as this is not the norm, our standards are high and we work hard to exceed expectations. Please let us know while you are in the hotel so we can address and take care of any issues that arise. We want you to be happy, relaxed and come back. That's our goal.

Thank you again for staying with us at the Beach House, we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

The hotel actually had all its ducks in a row as far as the basics go: spacey rooms, clean, friendly staff. On the minus side, there's a breakfast that's a bit skimpy and no in-house dinner options (and no easy cab/Uber/Lyft service). All-in-all, we found that it should have offered a bit more services re: foods & drinks to really offer full value for money as the rooms weren't cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liesbeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Liesbeth,

Thank you for choosing the Beach House is Half Moon Bay for your Labor Day getaway! This is the perfect location, right on the beach with ocean views in all directions, easy access to the beach, coastal trail and it was a beautiful warm weekend!

We have so many wonderful restaurants surrounding the hotel within walking distance, however the front desk is happy to call a local cab company for you if you are heading further. Many guests never get in their cars while here, they walk or rent bikes to enjoy the beach experience. We do have Ubers and Lyft services here, just limited.

Hope you joined us for our complimentary wine & cheese reception on the weekend or had a beer & spirit offered off our New Bar Cart in the lobby. The front desk can deliver these items to your room with a simple call as well. We are here to provide excellent customer service and thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff. Our parking & wifi are also complementary, and hope you used the complementary firewood in your room for a nice comfy fire.

Our pool and hot tub over-looking the beach were also a big hit this Labor Day as they are heated year-around with beautiful views. We do hope you can return soon and enjoy the Beach House and all it has to offer.

Thank you again for your great review and recent visit, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,

Lisa Mendoza
Front Desk Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews