We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sometimes a really good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zaballa House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zaballa House
Ranked #10 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sometimes a really good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've stayed at Zaballa house on and off, for many years, from the time when it was still surrounded by a garden. Not very much changed inside since then.

The original house has smaller "cozier" rooms. Each one is different and most of them (possibly all) seem to have a gas fireplace which can be used to warm the room. Most bathrooms seem to be original to the house, the bathtubs are free standing and some have jets. The free-standing tubs do not have shower curtains.

The newer rooms are on the second floor of an adjacent bulding, which was built over what used to be the garden. These rooms are much larger, more modern and a little more impersonal than the rooms in the old house. Most of these also seem to have fireplaces.

Zaballa house is on the Main Street in Half Moon Bay and occasionally (surprisingly rarely, actually) noise can be an issue.

The price includes a warm breakfast. Depending on the time of the year and the day of the week, the price can be a good value. Midweek, during the off season, you can usually find a room without a reservation for $99, as of now. Other times, the value is not so great. I would compare the prices here with the prices at Half Moon Bay Inn (see my other review).

Room Tip: If you can go for the rooms that do not face Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    26
    25
    22
    19
See reviews for
13
74
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The price was good for the area. The room was large with a gas fire place. The bathroom was large with a big walk in shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Breakfast the next morning was included and was very good. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyberrey560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Zaballa House is located on Main Street in Half Moon Bay. You can easily walk to restaurants, shops, cafes, and the beach. It also offers a great breakfast spread (i.e. quiche, pastries, lots of fruits etc.) It has friendly staff and wine and cheese is offered from 5 - 7 p.m. That said here are some issues I had with the property. If you stay in the main house be aware they do not have tvs. The noise from the staff preparing breakfast can be disturbing if you are a light sleeper. We stayed away from the main house and the room came with a tv but the channels are limited. My room did not have curtains but it had "old" mini blinds that did not close all the way. You could just about read without turning on the light at midnight. That is how much light comes in the room. I like my room to be dark. My husband can handle a lighter room but he found the room too light. The room is warm so you will need to open your window at night. The ceiling fan works but it blows right over your head. The mattress was very very hard and uncomfortable. Someone asked for a soda machine and the staff pointed him across the street. So bring a cooler; pick up ice and your drink/snacks if you are the kind of person who likes a glass of something other than the wine provided.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Checked into this hotel with my mom and my dog. Did not have high expectations as I booked a Petite Queen room allowing dogs. I expected small, probably smelly room but that's the wa it goes if when you're traveling wit our dog!The room was very clean, huge with vaulted ceilings, fireplace and jacuzzi tub and best of all NO dog smell. Certainly not fancy, but a wonderful room. Great location, across the street from 2 njce Italian restaurants. Wonderful breakfast frittata,super sweet berries and homemade coconut granola at included breakfast. All this for under $100. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiaannfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I absolutely LOVE this place--- the innkeeper, Shiela is excellent. Great rooms, fabulous spread of breakfast, very hospitable and cozy place. We love coming here and highly recommend this place to everyone (and we travel a lot so we have a good idea of other B&B places).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shumanrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.6 km away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
5.7 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
6.5 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
0.5 km away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaballa House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaballa House

Property: Zaballa House
Address: 324 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,802 - ₹ 12,612
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaballa House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Zaballa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaballa House Hotel Half Moon Bay
Zaballa Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing