We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 451
US$ 380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 447/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Half Moon Bay Lodge(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 223
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$ 189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$ 242
US$ 205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 377
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,092
US$ 1,057
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
180
13
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
13
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate jacuzzihot tubbeautiful flowerscheese platewhite winemain streetdelicious cookiesfrittatanice dining roomfridge was stockedbanana smoothieextras includingtwo blocksprivate entrancetotal privacyextensive collectionextra amenities
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit here. It’s comfortable and welcoming with great amenities. It’s an old fashioned place with great charm. They’ll do anything in their power to be accommodating- highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you so much for returning, we really appreciate it.
Warmly,
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I stayed at Mill Rose Inn for two nights in October. I really enjoyed my stay. The room was comfortable and clean, equipped with everything one could possibly need. The fireplace is awesome in the chilly evenings. The breakfast was delicious and served punctually. The flowers are amazing. The location is nice, two blocks from the Main Street downtown Half Moon Bay and about 20 minute walk from the beach. Terry was a great host and has a wealth of knowledge about the surroundings. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the place for others.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TanjaAitamurto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure hosting you. We hope to see you again. Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

So much to say about this lovely place. We booked way ahead to stay here for the annual October Art and Pumpkin Festival in October. The bed was very comfortable, the towels were huge and plush, there was both shower and jetted tub, we had a separate sitting room with fireplace (older) and TV, private entrance, and the room was very large. The breakfast could be served in your room or in the dining room, so you could have total privacy. There was cake, cookies, and coffee available all day until Midnight. In the room we had coffee fixings; a fridge with wine, beer, soda and water; Sherry and Brandy service, and little bedtime taffy. If you wanted anything all you had to do was dial 50 and Terry was there in no time with your request. I say no minibar because everything was complementary, and the decanters with the brandy and sherry were big and full. You are two blocks off Main Street so the location was very quiet as well as extremely convenient. You could walk anywhere. The breakfast was amazing. We had full pots of coffee, a tasty juice that combined banana and orange juice, a plate of fresh fruit that was all just perfect, and a delicious entree and bacon. The write-up on Danish cooking we read in advance was well deserved. This inn is very quaint and the Rose in the name fitted the decor...roses everywhere. People who don't love flowers might as well go elsewhere. In addition to the decor, the gardens were amazing. As a gardener, I was really taken with the beautiful gardens and admiring the wonderful mix of flowers. All in all, a wonderful and romantic place to stay. We stayed in the Burgundy Rose Suite, which is right on the street. It was probably not as quiet as any of the other rooms, but the town is quiet so that didn't bother us. Also, more noise than usual as people walked by to get to the festival. What I loved was our little sitting room and private entry. Our kids stayed up the street and came and sat and visited with us and watched football, so this little suite was ideal.

Room Tip: The Burgundy Rose Suite had an extra sitting room for welcoming guests.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pudditat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you very much. We hope to see you again. Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Recently, we were unable to get to Napa and decided at the last minute to go to Half Moon Bay and had the pleasure of staying at the Mill Rose Inn, a quaint step back in time with a comfortable bed. The owners were wonderfully gracious and helpful both on the phone when we called to inquire and when we stayed there. Unsolicited when we called, they offered to make a dinner reservation for us and when we arrived we were offered a fruit, cracker and cheese plate in their exquisite gardens. Oh and btw, there was complimentary white wine in the in-room fridge plus brandy and sherry on a side table in the room. Breakfast was special with an artichoke frittata and home made banana bread with butter laced with marmalade and triple sec. How can you beat that?

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rich49169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you kindly. I'm so glad it worked out. Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

This was our second stay at this charming Half Moon Bay inn. Our favorite thing here is the sense of abundance: you know how some hotels charge you for *everything*? Terry showed us our room and pointed out sherry and brandy on the dresser, chilled white wine in the 'fridge, and bottled sparking water both in 'fridge and in the bath, all complimentary. You can sign up for an hour in the hot tub (also complimentary); it's in a detached building--we locked the door (just two of us).

The inn is located on a quiet street within walking distance of cute shops and great restaurants. The garden is beautiful, and so is the outdoor room housing the spa.

Some detail on the questions below: Concierge? Terry is very knowledgeable about the area. We asked him about restaurants; he gave us a recommendation and offered to make the reservation for us. Minibar? Complimentary white wine in the fridge as I mentioned earlier, and decanters of brandy and sherry in the room, so it's not really a minibar.

Room Tip: The outbuildings are newer than the main house.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for a great review. It was always my philosophy as an innkeeper to charge enough to afford to be generous . We hope to see you again soon.
Warmly,
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews