We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop after a day of motorcycling”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect stop after a day of motorcycling”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

After a long day of motorcycle riding, I wanted a small, quaint, clean and quiet place. This Inn was perfect.It is right next to the Korbel winery, which makes it convenient for wine lovers. Brian and Dana are helpful, friendly and personable. The Inn is appointed with lots of interesting art and many country chickens, which I loved. The living room has a fire place and is surrounded by trees giving in a cozy feel. I especially loved the guest kitchen as I was tried from a day of riding in the heat and did not want an expensive dinner. I could also make myself a cup of coffee before the 9am breakfast.

I came in on a Sunday evening and was allowed to upgrade my room at no cost. I chose the Maple, which had an air conditioner, but no sound proof windows. Because I live in the City, the street noise, which I could hear, was not a problem. And Brian warned me before I took the room.
This house has been added on to over the years, so the path to the bathroom was a little crooked, but I didn't mind that either. The bed was luscious and the sheets ultra soft and comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent. Brian and Dana go out of their way to make things nice. The room was clean and rustic at the same time. The cat and dog were friendly, but not pesky. I'm going to book a longer stay in August as there was so much I didn't have time to see. So close to the river, the woods and the ocean and away from the city chaos. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    50
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Brian and Dana provided us a welcoming and comfortable stay at Sonoma Orchid while celebrating our 15th year anniversary. The property is conveniently located between the coast and vineyards. When you are not touring, the plants and flowers on the property are so lovely, you'll just want to spend a quiet morning or evening taking it all in. We hope to be back soon. Thanks, guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Vista, CA
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012

It's the intangibles that add so much enjoyment to a stay here. The home is well decorated and inviting. The added value is the warm welcome by one of the hosts, being shown the guest mini-kitchen with refrigerator for guests, and offered fresh baked homemade cookies upon arrival. Brian and Dana know all the special tours and places to see and are happy to share tips and directions. Guests are so relaxed and friendly here that we shared a lively conversation over breakfast. The oatmeal souffle --- heavenly. We asked Dana for the recipe, and he cheerfully printed out copies for us. The location here is the best if you like swimming without crowds. The inn is within walking distance to a large swim area. So scenic and peaceful compared to the beach in Guerneville.

Room Tip: I like the "Laurel" room because it has a sitting area facing the trees. The "Narci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophisticated-bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Sonoma Orchid Inn was the first B & B we have stayed at and we couldnt have asked for a better experience. The Inn is perfectly situated between nearby wineries and the Pacific coastline at nearby Jenner. We loved the nearby Armstrong Woods Sate Park. Brian and Dana were fantastic hosts with plenty of suggestions on what to see, what to do, where to go, where to eat and how to plan your day. The Inn, the grounds and our room was immaculately kept. They have a small guest kitchen where you can store stuff or make a snack. The breakfasts were as amazing as the rest of the reviewers have said. We enjoyed relaxing on the property after a long day of sightseeing and wine tasting. We played Boccee ball on the lawn and watched the hummingbirds flying around. Its just an awesome location. We also liked that they have a garden and chickens (fresh eggs daily) on the property and that they are environmentally friendly green lodging. After 3 days there it was difficult to leave and we feel like we have found new friends in Brian and Dana. We certainly would stay with them again and can't recommend a place more highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spruce Room in the main house and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydrorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn and it was as good as the first. Their inn is settled in the Russian River Valley within easy driving distance to some of the best wines and hiking in the area. Dana and Brian do a great job at making you feel at home. The freshly made breakfasts each morning are a treat. Many of the ingredients are sourced from their property such as Anaheim peppers, herbs, and eggs.There are always freshly baked cookies in the kitchen along with tons of information to help plan your vacation. They have books of all the area restaurants and information on several of the area wineries.Dana and Brian are very helpful in providing recommendations in helping you plan your day and give guidance without being overwhelming.

If you're looking for a romantic, low key getaway in a great B&B, head to the Sonoma Orchid Inn. The next time we head out to wine country again, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite. The room has a nice gas fireplace on a thermostat in the corner th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpodeschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
7.0 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
15.1 km away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
21.9 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
2.6 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
2.2 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Property: Sonoma Orchid Inn
Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,421 - ₹ 16,389
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing