We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination of its own”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Sonoma Orchid Inn was the first B & B we have stayed at and we couldnt have asked for a better experience. The Inn is perfectly situated between nearby wineries and the Pacific coastline at nearby Jenner. We loved the nearby Armstrong Woods Sate Park. Brian and Dana were fantastic hosts with plenty of suggestions on what to see, what to do, where to go, where to eat and how to plan your day. The Inn, the grounds and our room was immaculately kept. They have a small guest kitchen where you can store stuff or make a snack. The breakfasts were as amazing as the rest of the reviewers have said. We enjoyed relaxing on the property after a long day of sightseeing and wine tasting. We played Boccee ball on the lawn and watched the hummingbirds flying around. Its just an awesome location. We also liked that they have a garden and chickens (fresh eggs daily) on the property and that they are environmentally friendly green lodging. After 3 days there it was difficult to leave and we feel like we have found new friends in Brian and Dana. We certainly would stay with them again and can't recommend a place more highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spruce Room in the main house and loved it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydrorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Sonoma Orchid Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn and it was as good as the first. Their inn is settled in the Russian River Valley within easy driving distance to some of the best wines and hiking in the area. Dana and Brian do a great job at making you feel at home. The freshly made breakfasts each morning are a treat. Many of the ingredients are sourced from their property such as Anaheim peppers, herbs, and eggs.There are always freshly baked cookies in the kitchen along with tons of information to help plan your vacation. They have books of all the area restaurants and information on several of the area wineries.Dana and Brian are very helpful in providing recommendations in helping you plan your day and give guidance without being overwhelming.

If you're looking for a romantic, low key getaway in a great B&B, head to the Sonoma Orchid Inn. The next time we head out to wine country again, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite. The room has a nice gas fireplace on a thermostat in the corner th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpodeschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

What a wonderful romantic getaway. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Sonoma Valley is very beautiful and The Orchid Inn is such a beautiful find. Brian and David are excellent hosts and our breakfast was wonderful. "Great Bed and Breakfast". Also, the sheets on these beds are the softest I have ever encountered and Brian has ordered 2 sets from the company and they are sending me them to us soon. -) Other's were giving Brian there orders also. They are truly amazing. Check it out. You will really enjoy the Orchid Inn :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My fiance and I were looking for a romantic get away, and we were delighted with the Sonoma Orchid Inn. This bed and breakfast was in a charming old farmhouse, but it was very well renovated and maintained. The hosts - Brian & Dana - treat you like you're their favorite relative that they want to impress. Dana is an exceptional cook -- we feasted on oatmeal souffle and an egg-brocoli quiche -- all local ingredients. Homemade cookies (persimmon!), a fire in the living room, albums with menus from local restaurants, and great recommendations on the best wineries to visit all made this an exceptional weekend.

The Sonoma Orchid inn is located next to Korbel, so stop next door for a really interesting tour and free tastings of their champagne, or trek a little bit farther for other great wineries. If you want to be on the main tourist route, this might not be for you, but if you like hidden getaways within easy drive of the ocean, good eats, fine wine, and rolling hillside, this is your place. I would definitely come back and would be proud to bring friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelinbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stumbled upon a hidden gem when searching for a B&B in the Sonoma area. While booking, Brian was extremely helpful in planning our visit, and when we arrived Brian and Dana proved to be so much more than inn-keepers. The food was delicious, the grounds were beautiful, and their recommendations for planning our days were perfect! We highly recommend the Sonoma Orchid Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpmeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
7.0 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
694 reviews
13.9 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
489 reviews
2.6 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
418 reviews
4.3 km away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
74 reviews
3.6 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: ₹ 11,519 - ₹ 19,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing