We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was one of our best B & B experiences in a long time. The hosts, Brian and Dana really make this a valuable stay. Brian was available with dinner suggestions and they were spot on! It was like he knew us! Our question about canoeing on the Russian River was answered completely, giving us 3 choices and listing the pros and cons of each, plus an option we hadn't thought of. Our bed and mattress were super comfortable with those special sheets. And the breakfasts were amazing! Plus delicious cookies in the afternoon. Help yourself to the communal refrigerator and bottled water. The small downside is that while there's plenty of parking, it is tricky. There's no AC, - a fan helps a little. We were there during a Sept. heat wave. The towels are a little scratchy and the shampoo etc comes out of one of those containers stuck on the shower wall. Not so nice, looking but smelled good and my hair was beautiful. But the hospitality of Brian and Dana really override all these things. The inn is an old farmhouse and not within walking distance to anything except Korbel Winery. So know this and enjoy a beautiful 15 min. drive. It was a good blend of the redwoods, the river and the solitude along with the wine tasting for us. We recommend it and will go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiEnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    48
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
176
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Innkeepers Brian and Dana give their all to help you have a great stay in the Russian River Valley. They are generous with their time and knowledgeable about the area's offerings. As all the other reviewers mention, the breakfast is terrific, as were the beds, the refrigerator full of beverages, 24 hour cookies, coffee and tea, and the creamy smooth sheets. A home away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: main house rooms might be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokemirrors15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a perfect place if you like outdoorsy, rustic B&B's that are desolate and not very close to Napa. Unfortunately, we did not do our research regarding location or amenities on this one, and so this review doesn't mean to be critical, but we were disappointed. The location is in the outskirts of Sonoma County - not near the city or Napa, and a 7-mile drive to Healdsberg.

We planned a wine tasting trip to Napa Valley, and this Inn was recommended by a colleague (who loves hiking and biking -- red flag #1) who has stayed here and absolutely LOVES IT. Based on its name, we thought it was in Sonoma - which is a mere 15 minutes from Napa. It was not even close. This Inn was in most cases an hour or more from any of our Napa destinations. Because of that, we had to leave at the crack of dawn to get to any of our planned locations (Napa, Oakville, San Fran Airport) and missed out on the "breakfast" part of B&B. Again, our fault for not pinpointing the location first.

Owners Dana and Brian were accommodating, and even had to go cups for coffee for our early morning departure.

What we also didn't realize (again,our fault for not researching) is that the room that we booked was not in the actual house - it was in an outer building near the house. The decor in both the house and our rooms was nice - palm trees, elephants, very "vacationy." Room was sort of clean, bathroom needed a good scrub. The amenities in our room (Madrone) were rustic - no AC (but a fan was provided), no toiletries like many other B&Bs, towels that were like sand-paper, no tissues, etc. However, we did have a lovely bed, cushy sheets and a TV with satellite.

Room Tip: Get a room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLynn230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is was theee best stay! Having going it solo and for 8 days, it was important that i felt safe, the place to be clean and able to go and come as i pleased. I will honestly say.. that all my requirements were held and exceded. The orchid inn is set in a perfect place in between the Redwoods and ocean in the middle of the wine hills! I walked to our neighbor Korbel for complimentary champagne, relaxed at the russian river rt across the street and walked the town to just grab a cup a coffee and hang in between activities.. BRIAN WAS AWESOME.. He put amazing TRIP ADVISORY books together that gave you directions, descriptions and restaurants (which were incredibly detailed with menu and type of restaurant.. casual or formal), as well, he had a whole host of info available for guests to do in the area, visit and enjoy.. or if you wanted a tour of vineyards.. that was supplied as well..
Dana's morning breakfasts were nothing you want to miss... they were amazing!! FRESH, Delicious and hit the spot everytime.. Each morning both Dana and Brian, made certain they were available to assist if you needed directions/info and clearly wanted everyone to enjoy their time to the full extent.

The young lady that takes care of the rooms was fantastic.. since i was there for 8 days.. they made certain my sheets were changed mid stay... which these sheets were so comfortable that i actually want to puchase a set.. and i am super picky.. the rooms were clean and you felt warm..

overall this experience had exceded my expectations and think the pictures.. do no justice for the reality of the sonoma orchid inn.. from the staff, to landscape, to chickens/dogs/kitties, to the FRESH homemade cookies left for guests at all times, to the service, to the breakfasts and location.. this was a #1 in my experience and i would greatly reccommend this place to my closest and pickiest friends.. and i am def looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Location is great for Russian River/Healdsburg wineries and the North Coast. Two hour drive from SFO. Korbel next door and hundreds of other wineries a short drive away. First time to the Russian River area and we couldn't have chosen a better spot for a home base. Brian and Dana were wonderful hosts--always ready to give tips to those interested, but never overbearing. They obviously put care and thought into everything about the place from their own "tour guide" binders with valuable local knowledge to the guest kitchen (full of dishes, glasses, and utensils with bottled water, juices, teas, cookies, candies, and picnic supplies). There was also the hot tub with towels awaiting, wireless internet, and NY Times, books, DVDs to share in the living room, and well-kept grounds with several seating areas.

The breakfasts were lovely, enhanced by their own eggs and veggies. They included a good assortment of things and there was variety each day--excellent quality ingredients, well made, and attractively served. Also, individual guests' dietary requests were handled with aplomb.

We stayed in the smallest room (Wisteria). Felt it was beyond cozy...too small. No comfortable place to sit or for two people’s weekend bags. The shower was a little problematic. I'm a light sleeper, so we had to keep the only window closed at night to keep the River Rd noises out. Fortunately, the room stayed very cool. Comfy bed and linens. If you're okay with only a place to sleep, this room works. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We will choose a different room next visit.

Room Tip: Probably not the Wisteria room...unless you just want a place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
7.0 km away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
15.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
17.6 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
2.2 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.6 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Property: Sonoma Orchid Inn
Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,865 - ₹ 16,625
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing