We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, California
1 review
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

My husband and I were looking forward to a much needed getaway from the city and spent one of the best weekends up in Guerneville. One of the best parts of that weekend was our stay at the Cottages on River Road. Teddy and Lesley, the owners, were more than welcoming...They showed us to our room, giving us a tour of the grounds and taking us through their beautiful garden where they have a firepit set up...in the evening they brought out marshmallows, graham crackers and chocolate so we could make Smore's and enjoy the fire. In the morning, they offered us coffee, juice, fruit, and the best freshly baked banana blueberry bread I've ever had. I could've eaten the whole loaf! They really went the extra mile to make our stay a fun, comfortable, and memorable one. Our room was perfect..the bed was so comfy, it was just what my husband and I needed...the minute we stepped into our room, we felt at home and we knew this would become a place we'd be visiting over and over again. The area is beautiful, there is so much to see and do....all the cute little shops and restaurants, the wineries, the river just across the way, the ocean beaches just down the road, and the most perfect place to stay and come back to right in the middle of it all...it doesn't get much better than that. We look forward to many more trips up to Guerneville and staying at the Cottages on River Road.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BamyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    94
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
94
188
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

We arrived in Guerneville mid day on Saturday and had heard how wonderful "Cottages on River Road" were. We were looking for a quiet peaceful setting and when we arrived that is exactly what we found. The resort owners and keepers, Ted and Lesley were beyond friendly and did everything in their power to make us feel at home- They had wonderful holiday decorations out and were more then willing to tell us about the area and give us ideas of things to do and see in the area. Centrally located only about an hour for San Francisco, a short drive to the beach and right around the bend from a wonderful deli and winery (Korbel winery) this place has it all. We are really looking forward to heading back up as soon as we can get away and I would recommed this to anyone that is looking for an easy get away!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_c_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

The Cottages on River Road was a perfect place for a realxing weekend. The room was very clean and the bed was hard to get out of in the morning because it was so comfortable. The grounds were kept up with a beautiful garden and giant redwood trees surrounding the property. Across the street there is a great brewery along the river and downtown Guernville is just a few steps away. Most of all, Teddy and Leslie, the inkeepers were very friendly and helpful. My fiance and I had a wonderful weekend at the COttages and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreagirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

My gal and I were driving up the 101 looking for a place to stay up in the romantic wine country. We wanted to go somewhere new. We saw the exit for "River Road" and we both knew this was the enchanted getaway we were looking to really get the flame burning! As we drove down River Road...we decided we would not stop until we got into Guerneville. We saw a vacancy sign lit up on the right side. We pulled over to check it out not knowing what to expect. The Xmas lights and holiday cheer seemed to be what we were looking for. We knocked on the door and an extremeley attractive young couple....Ted and Lesley were there to great us at the door. They had ear to ear smiles and seemed very happy to have us. They were so nice...but also gave us the space we needed for relaxation and romance! ;) As the young couple showed us to our room they spoke of the history of the property and walked us through an amazing garden! It felt as though we were the only guests there! I am reccomending this place as a nice, romantic getaway to every single person I know...and My gal and I will certainley return again soon...maybe even this weekend for the crab races!!!! Thanks Ted and Lesley for an amazing weekend...p.s. AMAZING MUFFINS!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

My friends and I were heading up North for some wine tasting, beach views and a nice relaxing weekend. The Cottages on River Road were the "icing on the cake" to make a wonderful weekend complete! When we arrived we were greeted by a very nice staff who run the resort. Surrounded by beautiful scenery and the river across the street, this was a fantastic, clean, comfortable place to stay for a great price. The rooms are very cozy, well equipped and the beds are extremely comfortable. We also were very pleased with the resorts location. Korbel winery, the town of Guerneville and the beach are in very close driving distance. If you are feeling like a fun night out with great company, the Stumptown Brewery and Grill is a 1/2 mile down the road! All in all, I will absolutely stay here next Summer when we return and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great stay in beautiful West Sonoma County.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
15.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
9.1 km away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
22.4 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.9 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.5 km away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Property: Cottages on River Road
Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,071 - ₹ 9,960
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing