We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, but could use a bit of spiffing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #3 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here for one night only, while doing some wine tasting in
Sonoma/Russian River. These little cottages are cute and spacious, and perfectly clean. Our larger apartment was nice in that it was perched above the pool and away from the road noise. It also had a nice little back deck and outdoor shower-- cool! I think a good power-wash and paint job would improve the slightly tired appearance of the exterior.
Really appreciated the little s'mores touch around the fire pit at night!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LLL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

We were looking for a place to get away from life's hectic pace, and the Cottages didn't disappoint. The moment we arrived we knew we had chosen wisely. The property is small, but filled with lush landscaping. The cottages are located right on Guerneville's main drag, but noise really wasn't an issue. Our studio was clean and had all the basics (full bath and kitchenette with sink and mini fridge). Each morning, an ample continental breakfast is provided; it's enough to hold you over until lunch. The property served as a convenient home base--just a 15-minute drive from Armstrong State Park and Corbel Champagne Cellars. The small pool was a welcome sight after playing tourist all day. In the evenings, guests can gather at the outdoor fire pit for smores-making and good conversation. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We only regret not having booked a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CincoDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Very cute property! Staff is very friendly and willing to work with you regarding check-in (call ahead if you need to.) Our room had air conditioning, so I'm not sure what other reviewers were referring to or maybe things have changed. Continental breakfast is somewhat sparse but will do the job. Noise isn't a huge issue at night, but you can hear people in the early morning (for us late-risers). Parking is off of river road, so don't let the GPS confuse you.

Overall, would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thatsnowmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I recently took my two boys up to the Russian River area to kayak. It was a spontaneous trip so there wasn't much available in Guerneville--we were very fortunate to find an excellent two-bedroom cottage at this property. It was spacious for the three of us with a nice front porch to sit on. Smores are served around the firepit at night and there is a swimming pool, so this is a great choice for families. It can get quite hot in this area and there is no AC in the cottages, but they did have fans in each room which helped keep things cool. Staff was courteous and friendly, and I appreciated having free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We had a pleasant overnight here in early July. The cottages are quaint. The room and bathroom were a good size and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast is exceptionally nice, and included fruit and yogurt. The grounds are pretty and well maintained. Many of the guests were repeat visitors, always a good sign. However, please be aware that you'll need to keep your windows open and you could be in trouble if it's especially hot; there's no air conditioning. You're near a pretty busy road and your neighbors need to be quiet. I'd stay here again, but I wish I'd known about the lack of a/c.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
22.4 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,780 reviews
15.3 km away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
2.1 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
356 reviews
0.7 km away
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
2.6 km away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: ₹ 5,768 - ₹ 13,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing