We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #2 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Cottages on River Road! It was in a beautiful location in a cute little town with restaurants and activities near by. The staff at the cottages was immensely helpful and accommodating. They provided a wonderful breakfast each day and a nice fire in the fire pit each night where the couples could all come together, chat, and make s'mores with the complimentary marshmallows, chocolate, and graham crackers provided by the cottages. The grounds were kept very nice, clean, and full of gorgeous flowers. The staff was very kind with our dog, who was a huge hit amongst all the guests. The cottages themselves are very clean and quaint, and the perfect size for a couple's getaway. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    106
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
99
203
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I had never stayed in the wine country-so finding Cottages on River Road was a gem of a find! The Cottages have been remodeled and they are in mint condition! very clean rooms! House Cleaning does a wonderful job! Once you enter inside the compound of Cottage on River Road you feel like you do not want to leave this wonderful find. The owners and front desk employees are what make the Cottage on River Road a success. Very kind and Very welcoming to any of your needs. I found Cottage on River Road much nicer then staying at any 5 Star in the area. You will enjoy the location of the cottages and you will enjoy the wonderful courtyard which is truly landscaped to a T!! There is a wonderful fire pit located in the center of the cottages which is wonderful gathering place to meet new people or to just relax with your own company or yourself. Breakfast is ready for you in the early morning-really nice. You just can not go wrong staying at this lovely find. I have traveled many places in the World and I consider Cottage on River Road fond memories and so relaxing. Bob Lynn, Reno, Nevada

Room Tip: You can not go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I loved this place! Mentioned the word S"mores and received a "free" upgrade from a 1 bdrm with a sofa bed to a 2 bdrm. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived to the check out! DeeAnn is awesome!!!! Loved the outlay of the cabins on the property. There is a pool but be warned that it is not heated. In the midst of summer heat, you don't want it heated. We had S'mores with the other guests that were there as well. Since it was still spring, not many guests but DeeAnn made sure that there was plenty to go around.
I only saw the 2 bdrm cabin. Nice size rooms and a wonderful bathroom that is HUGE! No bumping elbows in there.
Tastefully decorated and furnished. I wish I could be as bold with the slipcovers as they are. Large flat screen TV. There is a coffee maker, small fridge and a microwave along with wine glasses and coffee cups. No real cooking but......your on vacation!
Since I'm used to the river noise, street traffic did not bother me in the least, if there was any.
The do accept pets and have particular pet units. I will go back just for that!
Breakfast is continental, and there was plenty. I really appreciated the yogurt and fresh fruit. That by itself is one meal your not paying for, and if you have kids, your saving $$$. They have trays so you can take breakfast back to your cabin or sit out on the deck. So many choices!
There is access to a public beach across the street or drive down to Johnson's.
I've spent many years on the Russian River, camping and renting a cabin and I loved this place!

Room Tip: If you have circumstances to work with, call them and they will work with you to make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candelariasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The outdoor atmosphere, the clean, comfy cottages, friendly and helpful staff, the s'mores around the fire pit in the evening, everything made for a nice, relaxing trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M8ternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Spent a weekend here recently. 2 BR cottage was great space for us. Staff is very friendly - DeeAnn was wonderful. She graciously put a bottle of sparkling wine because we were celebrating a birthday - so nice of her. The firepit at night, with smore-ingredients provided, was really wonderful. You can hear a bit of traffic noise, but it does die down at night. Wouldn't necessarily go back to Guerneville, but if I did, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemon_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
22.4 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
9.1 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
25.7 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
340 reviews
2.1 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
1.8 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Property: Cottages on River Road
Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,802 - ₹ 32,728
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing