We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting in the redwoods.”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peoria Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting in the redwoods.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent 2 nights att he Applewood Inn. The setting is beautiful nestled in the redwoods and the grounds are lovely. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. Our room, which was one of the smallest, grew on us and it had a little private patio which we very much enjoyed. The breakfasts were awesome and came with the room and the food in the restaurant was some of the best we have ever had. The inkeepers directed us to the Russian River wine road which had awesome scenery and great wine tasting at the wineries. The room we were in would be hard to navigate for an older person as you need to carry your luggage up a set of steps and then down another but other rooms have easier access.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhawks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    100
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
24
371
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Ahhhh….what a wonderful treat to stay at the Applewood Inn during our vacation to the wine country/bay area. While we focused many of our hotel stays during our recent visit at inexpensive hotels/inns (more to spend on food and wine ), we couldn’t pass up the deal we found through Jetsetter.com during the time we were in the area. The photos of the Inn looked amazing, and the ratings on Trip Advisor confirmed that it would be a real treat, so we chose to splurge for just one night. I wish we had done many more nights here, so that we could have enjoyed it for more time. Our room was nicely decorated with and updated bathroom, big windows and surrounded by woods. The grounds were beautiful, and we just wanted to be outside so we could inhale the amazing smell of the redwoods nearby. Best of all was breakfast, which was truly amazing – fresh fruit with mascarpone yogurt, mimosas, goat cheese and asparagus omelet, and some of the best coffee we had on the trip. I am still thinking about it. Sadly we were there on a Monday, so the restaurant was closed and we were unable to enjoy dinner there. Nearby (5-10 min drive) is the Armstrong Woods State Natural Reserve, which has a series of hikes and walks and is a really nice way to spend a morning. You can do wineries in Healdsburg area during the day – or even go west to the beach towns. For dinner the night we were there we chose to drive in to Occidental and have dinner at a pub that got great ratings call Hops and Barley Tavern on Bohemian Highway. The food was amazing, and they even had some of their own beer (along with many other local beers) on tap and in bottles. The Inn also recommended a place in Guernesville for dinner (that friends we met on the trip had also suggested) called Boon Eat & Drink – which is literally around the corner from the Inn. That said, if you are there on a Wednesday – Sunday, you should definitely try the restaurant at the Inn, to see what earned them the four star Michelin rating. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caseymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. The area is very scenic being forested with redwoods and the Russian River cutting through it too.

The Applewood Inn is about a 1/4 mile from the river which leads into Guereneville. It is not in the heart of downtown which is great as it keeps it more serene.

We chose one of the smaller rooms in the Belden House (Room 7). The room was fine but there were a few things that were less appreciated. 1. Our room was immediately off the 'lobby' or living room of the house. You could hear people talking and phone conversations coming from there and the adjacent office. It wasn't loud, but it was there. 2. other rooms were around which meant those people had to walk past our door on hardwood floors which creaked or picked up stilleto heel noise. 3. We faced the road which had plenty road noise and echoed.
The room itself was great. Cozy and clean. The bathroom had all the amenities needed too.

There is a pool which we went out to however it was not heated, so we did not get into it. Not sure if it had not been 'skimmed' because the heater wasnt on, but there was lots of tree debris. We looked for a skimmer but none was found, and with the water temp pretty cold we opted to stay out of the water anyway. There was also a jacuzzi. It was on, but covered.

Breakfast was amazing and my favorite part. Breakfast was at the adjoining Applewood Restaurant (which is worth checking out for dinner). There is a nice tea and coffee bar self service, and then wait staff or sometimes the owner does the rest! Assorted juices and mimosa's are included beverage options. Each morning we started with this wonderful assorted fruit dish topped with yummy white wine yogurt sauce. The main course changed each morning. One day it was an orange poppyseed french toast, and another day pancakes. Large portions, homemade, very very good.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The area is very scenic, and not too far from other wine areas such as Healdsburg. The Armstrong Redwoods are about 2 miles away and a very easy drive from the Inn.

Pros: inn location, service, room amenities, amazing breakfast included
Cons: pool heater not on, road noise, room location not desirable

Room Tip: A room facing the road will experience road noise. There is much during the day, at night varies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crazynello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We planned a stay here as the last night of our three week holiday in Oregon and California - thought it would be a treat. It was the most expensive place we stayed, but far from the best. There are certainly some good things - a place in the Redwoods, friendly staff and the restaurant was excellent with great though overpriced wines.
But the room let it down - it was OK but certainly not worth the price. It was right next door to the office, facing the noisy road. The carpet was tatty, there was only one bedside light and the bathroom could really do with improving (only a small washbasin for example).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We drove from San Francisco the long way--- up Highway 1 instead of 101. The drive was a highlight of our trip as we wove our way through the hills and along the ocean. We turned off at Jenner on highway 116 to Guerneville, crossed the Russian River and easily found our way to the Applewood Inn where we were greeted as if we were long-time friends. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a private patio. The breakfasts were outstanding and the dinner we had at their restaurant was worthy of five stars (I had the best lamb I've ever eaten). Sylvia and Carlos helped us plan a two-day itinerary of exploring the wine country, surrounding towns and local restaurants. Everything from the setting, to the room, food and hospitality was perfect for us and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peoplesvisionusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
9.2 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
686 reviews
20.6 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,366 reviews
16.7 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
410 reviews
2.6 km away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
1.4 km away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,843 - ₹ 32,083
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing