We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly & relaxing.”
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I had a very fun and relaxing 2 days. We enjoyed the local scenery. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's a great couples getaway. The mountain roads can be a bit scary for those not used to the slow wining curves. Extremely limited cell phone & GPS use in this area, But everything is easy to find and worth the drive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 438 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Apart from the hotel they also have 2 duplex's.we stayed in one of them,ideal if you want to have your own place to relax after a day at Yosemite park,which is stunning,the place had everything you need,washer,dryer,cooker 3 bedrooms.the duplex is about 2 miles from the hotel but breakfast at the hotel is included in the price.
Would have no hesitation going back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in March 2012. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, and staff was helpful and friendly.
Staffs are specialist on the local wines, so buy a bottle of wine they recommend and share. Upstairs there is a deck facing the main street that has tables and chairs, a relaxing place to enjoy your wine. They provide the wine glasses.
If your mate is sleeping and you want to read and don’t want to disturb your mate, there is a living room area on the first floor where you can read or use their computer to access your account, or talk with other guest. Whatever.
We enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: If your mate is sleeping and you want to read, go to their living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We wanted a weekend getaway to Yosemite, and booked this as part of an online deal (after checking out the hotel on TripAdvisor, of course!). When I made the reservation the person was very helpful and polite. We arrived on a rainy Sunday afternoon, and found out the hotel had recently been bought by a young couple from Washington State, and this was their actual first day as running the hotel. There was evidence of construction going on, some workmen about and no pictures on the walls, but they were very pleasant, and we chatted about their plans for the place. He's a chef, and plans to revamp the restaurant and expand the menu. A lucky break got us an upgrade to a larger room, and we settled in. The room was cozy and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the heater worked great --- which was good because it was chilly, in the low 40's. The hotel's website promised free wine tasting and breakfast - we did get breakfast, but no wine which was a bit disappointing. We chalked it up to the fact that the new owners may not have been aware of what was on the website.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much, and had a wonderful time in snowy Yosemite --- first time I'd been there with snow, and his first time EVER.

A word about the town -- Groveland is a small town, with limited eating places and almost no shopping. We also found out that most places are open VERY limited hours and only a few days a week. (To be fair, we were there in March so this is probably due to the off-season.)

I think the hotel will be worth a second look after a year or so, when all of this nice couple's plans have come to fruition.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room near the door, so there was some foot traffic and creaky floors overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teniralc1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great stay after exploring Yosemite. Close, clean convenient, I would definitely reccomendation staying here. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangoalphayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
32.9 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
30.8 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
579 reviews
0.1 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
38.7 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,230 reviews
0.4 km away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: ₹ 7,930 - ₹ 15,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing