We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly & relaxing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hollister, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly & relaxing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I had a very fun and relaxing 2 days. We enjoyed the local scenery. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's a great couples getaway. The mountain roads can be a bit scary for those not used to the slow wining curves. Extremely limited cell phone & GPS use in this area, But everything is easy to find and worth the drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    249
    62
    34
    10
See reviews for
167
386
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Apart from the hotel they also have 2 duplex's.we stayed in one of them,ideal if you want to have your own place to relax after a day at Yosemite park,which is stunning,the place had everything you need,washer,dryer,cooker 3 bedrooms.the duplex is about 2 miles from the hotel but breakfast at the hotel is included in the price.
Would have no hesitation going back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in March 2012. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, and staff was helpful and friendly.
Staffs are specialist on the local wines, so buy a bottle of wine they recommend and share. Upstairs there is a deck facing the main street that has tables and chairs, a relaxing place to enjoy your wine. They provide the wine glasses.
If your mate is sleeping and you want to read and don’t want to disturb your mate, there is a living room area on the first floor where you can read or use their computer to access your account, or talk with other guest. Whatever.
We enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: If your mate is sleeping and you want to read, go to their living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We wanted a weekend getaway to Yosemite, and booked this as part of an online deal (after checking out the hotel on TripAdvisor, of course!). When I made the reservation the person was very helpful and polite. We arrived on a rainy Sunday afternoon, and found out the hotel had recently been bought by a young couple from Washington State, and this was their actual first day as running the hotel. There was evidence of construction going on, some workmen about and no pictures on the walls, but they were very pleasant, and we chatted about their plans for the place. He's a chef, and plans to revamp the restaurant and expand the menu. A lucky break got us an upgrade to a larger room, and we settled in. The room was cozy and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the heater worked great --- which was good because it was chilly, in the low 40's. The hotel's website promised free wine tasting and breakfast - we did get breakfast, but no wine which was a bit disappointing. We chalked it up to the fact that the new owners may not have been aware of what was on the website.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much, and had a wonderful time in snowy Yosemite --- first time I'd been there with snow, and his first time EVER.

A word about the town -- Groveland is a small town, with limited eating places and almost no shopping. We also found out that most places are open VERY limited hours and only a few days a week. (To be fair, we were there in March so this is probably due to the off-season.)

I think the hotel will be worth a second look after a year or so, when all of this nice couple's plans have come to fruition.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room near the door, so there was some foot traffic and creaky floors overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teniralc1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great stay after exploring Yosemite. Close, clean convenient, I would definitely reccomendation staying here. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangoalphayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
33.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
30.8 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
18.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Property: Hotel Charlotte
Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,592 - ₹ 15,052
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing