We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Nearby Hotels
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
US$ 441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Westgate Lodge(Groveland)(Great Value!)
US$ 244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 248
US$ 240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$ 237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 100
US$ 88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Charlotte(Groveland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Groveland Hotel(Groveland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,836)
Filter reviews
1,836 results
Traveller rating
1,086
537
111
58
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,086
537
111
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshetch hetchyzip linevintage cabinrec centergeneral storetwo bedroom cabincustom campingsirius radiobocce ballping pongrecreation arearecreation roomoutdoor fireplacesummer camphot tubrim fireboard games
Filter
Updating list...
1,586 - 1,591 of 1,836 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Our family stayed at the Evergreen in mid September 2006 and we absolutely loved this place. It's off the beaten path, away from the crowds, but close enough to enjoy all of Yosemite. We found the service to be excellent. Everyone was cheerful and informed about things to do in the area. We stayed for four nights with our 41/2 year old son and he had the time of his life. We explored all day and played games and ate s'mores in the lodge at night. We plan on returning to the Evergreen next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clovem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed at Evergreen in early September....but conditions caused us to leave after two nights of a planned three night stay.

Location: Left something to be desired...about an hour to the valley floor...one way.

Reception: Poor. The desk clerk was barely attentive and left us with the impression that she wouldn't look at her watch to tell us the time had we been so bold as to ask. Under any circumstances do not make the error of asking when your $185 cabin might be ready.

Parking: Unsatisfactory. There are not enough parking spaces to accommodate guests cars. Most cabins do not have designated parking spaces. The staff was about as helpful as the receptionist: park only in designated parking spots.... but they're probably all full so you'll have to park on the street in front of the property and walk back to your cabin.

Facilities: Although I've seen them described as "rustic" a better adjective would be "elementary". No television. No radio. No telephone. No closet. No luggage stands. No hair drier. One wall light and one reading lamp in each room. A cabin for four might reasonably be expected to have at least that number of bath and hand towels and face cloths...but not here. After trying (unsuccessfuly) earlier in the day to get an idea of when our cabin would be ready we set out for our pre-arranged afternoon tour. We ate dinner at Yosemite and arrived back at the Lodge at 9 PM. It was cold, about 40 degrees, but all the windows in our cabin were wide open. Both heaters had been turned off and then we discovered that only one worked.

Cleanliness: The rooms were functionally clean but little attention had been paid to details: i.e. corners and baseboards were dusty and the sofa still had crumbs on it from where the last occupants ate lunch.

Overall: Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 5papas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

An awesome launching spot for day trips into the valley. We took 5 families and many kids and an amazing time was had by all. The staff is extremely helpful and loves to give suggestions on hikes and activities. The food at the lodge is first class and reasonably priced and the bar/entertainment is rockin'. Best of all though, the feel of the grounds is truly authentic and one gets the real camping flavor with the amenities of a 4 star hotel. Smores, campfires, stars galore, amazing cabins with authenic decore...and the complete yosemite experince just minutes away. Also, a laundry list of activities from tours of the valley, to flyfishing, mountain biking and plenty for the kids to do. Truly, the smart folks alternative to the Awanee! We'll be coming back soon.

Sandy L.
Marin County, CA

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Lowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

My husband and I just came back from a short weekend trip to yosemite for our 6th anniversary. Having never been to Yosemite, I was not really sure about the area but since it did not seem too far away from the valley floor, I booked it. From Napa, it took us just under 4 hours to get there.

We checked in and got our cabin (C10) which was backed up to the woods on our balcony which was nice. This was one of the new cabins. Very clean and comfy, though we are used to our king bed at home..so the queen was a bit small for us, but we managed!

The food at the restaurant each night was awesome, especially the soups. The spareribs also rocked! Breakfast was good. My only complaint in the morning it seemed the waitstaff was always a bit forgetful, coming back a 2nd (and once even a 3rd time) to ask what I had ordered! I kept asking my husband why they don't write this stuff down..eggs, bacon, toast..not too difficult..anyway..that was minor annoyance out of our stay but worth mentioning in hopes they improve this aspect.

We booked the bike, hike and swim tour through their recreation department and it was well worth spending the 1/2 day doing this. Eric was a great guide. The biking was super easy..mostly coasting and down hill. (note..if you are afraid of downhill..the last mile or so is down pretty steep twisty road that you will ride on full breaks all the way down..quite fun, but can be scary!). The hike afterwards was gentle up and down through meadow, woods along the toulome river. We stopped at a gorge where we could jump in for a very bracing swim. Even after the hot bike and hike..the water was chilly, but we braved it and loved it..sunning on the rocks after to dry off before heading back the same way. We were picked up trailhead by van and taken back to the lodge. It was a great way to spend the day.

We did not really indulge in the evening activities of s'mores or pool or bingo, but it was offered. With no tv or phones in the room, it was a bit quiet..we read or knitted and relaxed on the balcony. It would have been nice to have a phone in the room to call the front desk for questions..our only other small annoyance, but we managed. They do offer free interenet and long distance calling in the rec room which was nice and handy when we were passing through the area to eat or whatever.

I would definitely recommend the Evergreen if you want something off the beaten path..it is a mile from one of the entrance's to yosemite..not the busiest one and then you drive about 20+ miles down to the floor once in the park..was a pretty drive.

My only last comment is don't be stupid like we were and just spaced on packing sunscreen and bug spray. For some reason, the general store only carried mostly spf 4 and 6..it was like a 1970's flashback when that was all you could get!! Only thing available higher was a natural cream for $14.00 for a small tube at spf15! yikes. Also..they were low on bug spray so we had to go to Camp Mather store and pay $9.00 for a small bottle of Cutters! Uggh! We killed ourselves thinkingof all the sunblock and bugspray back home we forgot!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We had an excellent stay at the Evergreen Lodge. I am giving this property five stars for a lodge, not a hotel. If you are expecting the amenities of a hotel, you should stay someplace else. If you want a great lodge experience and stay in a new cabin, this is a great place, especially for the price.
We stayed in a new two bedroom cabin. The older cabins looked a bit shabby on the outside. Ours had a nice deck with two arondeck chairs and a view of trees. The inside was simple, but tastefully done. The bathroom was large, nothing fancy, but it did have decent shampoo and soap products and lots of fresh white towels. Everything was super clean. It was not too hot when we were there so the ceiling fans kept the rooms a comfortable temperature.
You can't take your cars up to the room, which is fine, as it would be very noisey on the gravel. Instead you can use the laundry carts for hauling luggage.
During the day you can hike Hetch Hetchy or go to Yosemite.
The evening activities were perfect for us. After wine and snacks on our deck and a great dinner at the restaurant, it would be ping pong, horse shoes, smores and a movie. Most of the guests were from Europe or the East Coast. I did not speak to another guest from California.
We were thrilled with the restaurant. We had dinners there two nights--trout, duck salad, ribs, buffalo, etc. All were way above average, certainly better than what we expected in that remote of location. Prices were not cheap, but the food was not over priced for the quality. There are nice wines offered by the bottle or glass. Breakfast one day was nice too (great french toast), but not as good as dinner . We did our own breakfast cereal one day and were just as happy. You can get expresso drinks and nice sandwiches for picnics in the deli.
We had no complaints on the staff--all curteous and efficient, but don't expect pampering.
I brought the following which our trip more comfortable: extra pillows, ice chest with milk, cereal, bowls, utencils, snacks, wine, glasses, and opener.
In this area there are not a lot of hotel options. We usually camp so starying at Evergreen was for us quite indulgent. But, if you are used to the Awanee, you might not be as happy as we were.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews