We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Close to Yosemite - lovely B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Close to Yosemite - lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great location close to Yosemite. Joe & Charlene great hosts and very welcoming and you feel part of their home (literally). Room upstairs comfy (altho bed squeaky!) we had Deer feeding at the door which was a fabulous experience. Our only concern were the 4 cats that are indoor cats and have the run of the house, kitchen benches etc that is highly unhygienic... But we met lovely people, and Joe even gave us coolant for our car which was great - so other than the pets we were happy....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTrishWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We needed lodging for one night on our way to visit the Yosemite, Groveland is the last town you will go through on hwy 120 prior to getting to Yosemite so the location is perfect if your goal is to stay a night somewhere and get up early and hit the road to the park. The Cub Inn is classified a B & B. Though the owners are very pleasant, it felt more like we were renting a bedroom out of their personal home. They offer on their web sight cheese and crackers in the evening along with a beverage but that never happened, (most B & B's I have been to have put out the food on trays along with wine, so that people can come in and take some and either set in a comfortable setting room designed for this or take back to their room). We ran an errand and upon our return the inn keepers were preparing their own dinner and we went to our room because it felt as though we were intruding on their personal space. The following morning we got up early because we wanted to make the most of our day in the Yosemite, but breakfast is only served once and family style, so we had to wait until breakfast was ready before we could eat which put us on the road later than we had hoped. A suggestion for the inn keeper would be that since they are so small only three of the five rooms were occupied while we were there is to ask people when they need to leave and if the times don't work for when they serve hot breakfast that other options are available for those who can't participate; such as cereal, toast, danishes, coffee, juices, etc..
Our overall impression was that the inn needed some TLC; the inn keepers seemed tired and going through the motions, and if you are allergic to animals they have two indoor cats that have a run of the house which includes laying on the counter tops in the kitchen and on the dining table. They also have a medium size dog whose pen is in the community room. Though the Inn keepers intentions are good, this is their home that they live in and it felt as though we were just renting a room. The Cub Inn did not meet our expectations for a B&B compared to other B&B's that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debtroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We LOVED our stay at this B and B!! Joe was so helpful and accommodating on the phone even before we arrived. When we got there he wasn't in but some current guests were. They welcomed us saying Joe and his wife were out but they were cooking dinner in his kitchen and outdoor BBQ as per Joe's OK..did we want to join?? We agreed and ran out to shop and had a fabulous dinner and drinks the first night with new friends! It was like we were staying at a good friends home, not a B and B..
Throughout the rest of our stay breakfasts were amazing and Joe couldnt have been more helpful with stories, tips and suggestions on hiking, and even packing my boyfriend and I lunches the night before for our half dome hike! The best PB and J ever!!
Our room was cozy and private, and the new rooms Joe had just finished downstairs were really beautiful..we would love to try them out next time we are in the area.
All in all it was a wonderful experience, and would highly recommend The Cub Inn to anyone wanting to relax and enjoy nature, Yosemite, and some great food and company!

Room Tip: The newer rooms downstairs looked AMAZING! Were just completed the day we left
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRikta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Thanks Joe! Had a great time, lovely bed and gut busting breakfast!! Great local knowledge, we loved yosemite too! Gabe and king.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is a beautuful B and B run by Joe who is extemely friendly and cooks a mean breakfast. We arrived in to a very warm welcome and the room was beautiful with a huge bathroom with tub and shower.
Joe was able to give us great tips on what to see and do in Yosemite, the entrance of which is only 30 minutes away. The town of groveland is cool with The Iron Door being a real old fashioned true american bar and def worth a visit. The mexican was good too.
In short I cannot rate this B and B enough and would definitely recommend a stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groveland hotels
31.7 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
1.4 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.4 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
14.2 km away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#3 of 6 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
7.3 km away
Yosemite Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19301 Elder Lane, PO Box 470, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,591 - ₹ 15,727
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful New construction log home, 5 luxury rooms, all with private bath. Very quiet, off-highway, on 3 acres of alpine forested land. Views, great food, homemade bread our specialty. Friendly hospitality. Near Yosemite, public golf course, river rafting, golf, horseback riding. Middle of California Gold Country. Fly in to local airport and we'll pick you up and provide courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing