We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gold Miners Inn(Grass Valley)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 191
US$ 186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 153
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stagecoach Motel(Grass Valley)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 138
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Mountain Inn(Grass Valley)
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge(Grass Valley)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 109
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holbrooke Hotel(Grass Valley)
US$ 137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
2
7
2
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
7
2
4
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Recently stayed here with other family members in the same Motel. Air conditioning loud and didn't work to well. Room was clean but dated. Close to Highway and downtown but not too close to cause any noise issues. Seems like they are under new management as it was better than other reviews I've read. Would i stay here again? Not sure, price was OK, but I probably would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: like the rooms at ground level with no one above.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank messenger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed in Grass Valley previously and been underwhelmed by the properties and prices. After doing some tripadvisor research, I called the Coach N Four. I am glad I did.

First impression pulling in was "thank you for doing landscaping rather than hardscaping." Lots of inviting flowers, bushes and tall trees. This is a small property, but we love the old motor lodges and classics, so this was fine with us.

The neighborhood is mixed use, so there are some small businesses nearby. A neat convenience store is within walking distance. It is a bit of a hike to downtown Grass Valley, probably not a walk most would want to undertake.

The man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. All the staff we encountered were very nice, greeted us, waved, asked how we were doing, etc.. Dog friendly!!! Lots of places around to walk your pet.

The room was super clean, decent quality linens and towels. The room had some maintenance issues, the faucet knob needed replaced as it flopped around on the shaft and the plumbing hot to cold was reversed. There is nowhere in the tile shower to put your necessities, you have to place them on the floor. Not much counter space for a toiletry bag.

The tiny window AC unit was mocked into a holel, and this thing was trying its best, noisily. The control is on the top of the unit that is mounted 6 feet off the ground, so you have to work at it a bit to adjust.

The place for your suitcase is under this AC unit and a closet shelf, and there is no lighting over there, so accessing your bag at night is a challenge.

Our room had a small table in front, so we spent some time lounging outside of the room, watching the world go by and doing some reading.

We felt safe and secure here, we left our keys sitting on the bumper for hours and it was fine.

On future visits to the area, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I are staying here for the week. We have already stayed 3 nights and are so very impressed with the positive changes occurring. The owners are intelligent, friendly and hardworking people that know this area well. They are transforming this motel into something very positive and special. Also, the housekeeper is very respectful and polite every time we see him! Bravo for your great efforts in making Coach N Four Motel a place of beauty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean - that's the only good thing I can say about this run down, strange motel. The shower and the toilet were in the same room - one room with no separation between them! No amenities, not even kleenex, oh yes, there were soap chips for your shower, and TWO shower caps. Even the lamp shade was torn.The neighborhood was OK, but the guests at the motel were a little scary. Run, don't walk!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Had to book a room on short notice and this place was one of the few with space available. Had I read the reviews beforehand I wouldn't have stayed there. We found the room to be adequate, clean and quiet. The whole facility appeared to have been recently painted and the carpets were visually clean. As per my habit I stripped the bed and found the mattress to be free of occupants and the lines were clean and intact. Amenities are very sparse with only bar soap and shower caps provided, no shampoo or conditioner. We did however get 2 shower caps. The furniture was miss matched and very worn. The room was not serviced between the two nights of our stay. They were very accommodating however in supplying the extra pillows I requested. The whole facility was obviously built sometime in the 40's or 50's. while we would not have picked such a place for a vacation stay it met our needs for short notice family necessitated stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Wintalldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews