We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
207
141
104
66
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
141
104
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews record player santa barbara vinyl records station wagon airstream trailer beach theme social hour yoga mat room facing the pool retro feel fun hotel mid century free wine hour goleta beach visiting ucsb cool hotel mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We love eclectic, unique hotels when we travel. This hotel lived up to our expectations. Fun, eclectic and comfortable! Will definitely stay here again! Had all the little extras t make your stay special. Loved the scented shampoos and lotions. Bathrobe and record player that actually worked was a nice touch!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Michelle D,

Thank you for the review and we agree the Goodland is eclectic. We will be sure to share your review with our team and look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The lobby is very charming and the food in the restaurant was excellent. In addition, the staff were all very helpful.

The rooms are not Kimpton quality. Fortunately, I have a friend who also frequently stays at Kimpton hotels so I was forewarned and only planned to be here for one night before moving to the Canary for four nights. We couldn't get the room warm and the water pressure was almost non-existent. Around the exterior door you could see daylight. To quote my husband you can put lipstick on a pig but it is still a pig.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lundahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

lundahl,

Thank you for the review and sorry to hear we didn't live up to the Kimpton standard. We will be sure to have the engineering take a look at the issues you described as these should have been addressed before a guests checked in. We will be sure to share you kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. Rest assured, we will get these corrected and look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I grew up in Goleta so I know this is not the most exciting part of the Santa Barbara area. It used to be the Holiday Inn and they have changed the decor a whole lot, it's a very charming theme. We were able to get the Black Sheep special for the Christmas holiday; we were upgraded to a corner 2nd floor room facing the pool, with king size bed. The room was spacious and comfortable.The heating and cooling system was loud, but that may have helped me not hear the other guests. The clock radio also has ocean and other white noise settings that can help with that. We did like the social hour with wine by the fireplace. It was too cold to go swimming, and the yoga class was canceled for the holiday so I did not have the complete experience to enjoy my resort fee amenities.
I would agree that this is not a bargain hotel. I have read about a study that there are very few affordable hotels in California coastal areas, so it's not the Goodland is part of that trend. I might stay again, but only for one night. If you have a dog, this would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank noelleg282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

noelleg282,

Thank you for the review and we agree the Goodland is very charming. Glad you were able to join us for social hour our favorite hour of the day. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland soon.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and the pet friendly rooms are clean and comfortable. No coffee pots in the rooms, but you can get one from the desk; instead find a record player in each room and a record "shop" that you can borrow vinyl from in the lobby. Cool stuff. Pool. Would recommend to anyone needing a place ti stay in the greater Santa Barbara area!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SBPilotBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

SBpilotBB,

Thank you for the review and we agree the staff is friendly. We will be sure to share you kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland soon.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

The food, the staff, the atmosphere, the benefits... WORLD CLASS. Show up, enjoy a beer upon check in with friendly Jake or the interesting Ashley, have the beautiful Olivia pour you a free glass of wine, walk into the bar to have Shawn or Mitch slide one of their original cocktails down the bar to you. You're home. Stay at the Kimpton Goodland... you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank greg_garnett99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

greg_garnett99,

Thank you for the review and we agree the Goodland is the best around. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team and look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews