We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Economy”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Glendale
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Functional Economy”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I just needed a place to crash and that is what I got. It is convenient to highways 2 and 134 and was full on my night. The parking lot is tight.There is a Ralphs just across the street. When I got to the room, the air was stale and funky. I wish I could have left the window open. It had basic necessities. The TV was nice! The TP holder was loose and the box springs of the bed were covered with a cloth that did not look appetizing. Ice is available with your room key. The staff was mixed, some friendly, some not. The breakfast was very basic. Waffles, cereal or a sweet roll. No fruit, yogurt, eggs or other options. The was a pool and jacuzzi, but I saw neither used. In all, it worked because I was not there much, except to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indi237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
28
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I needed a reasonably priced hotel while on a business trip. Had to drive into West L.A., but hotels there are so expensive that I was willing to drive. This is a typical economy hotel, clean, simple, no frills. Good experience. Local shopping and restaurants within easy walking distance. As a single woman travelling alone, I wanted to be in a safe city and safe area, and this fit the bill. Only neagative is shortage of parking spaces in the hotel lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The staff was great! They were very helpful and informtive. The young lady at the desk even helped my friend and I with food options and gave us numbers and directions for places to eat near by. The room was average but the customer service and price was great! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garnet235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Hotel needs major overhaul in the rooms, including paint, carpets, electrical, plumbing, etc. Just very outdated inside and out. Room seemed clean but again, needed paint badly because there were lots of wall stains and with all the other problems, you don't really know that the room is clean because of the lack of care in the other areas. We had a first floor room and the person upstains above our room seemed to be a professional dancer because the floor/ceiling to our room noise was really bad, with squeeks and cracking noise when the person went across the floor, so if you stay here, get a second floor room. If you arrive late, parking is very tight. Remodel going on to make a larger breakfast area (present breakfast was a laugh, a packaged roll and something they called coffee). A new mini-lobby going is going in with breakfast area but nothing going on toward upgrading rooms that we saw. Not the cleanest place we have stayed at either. Microwave had food stains inside. Have you ever gotten in bed and just before shutting the light, you look up at the ceiling and see slattered stains on it that looked like blood??? Well, we could in our room. We had to un-plug the refrigerator to sleep it was so loud. Price was okay but for $15 more a night we moved on to another Hotel Chain that was nicer. Only thing we can say that worked for us here was the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INEEDAGOODNIGHTSREST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed here for two nights. On the plus side the room was quite clean, the (wired) internet access worked well, and the staff was pleasant.

On the minus side there were simple maintenance issues: alarm clock didn't work, TV was fuzzy, mini-fridge and bathroom fan were extremely loud, one electrical outlet plate protruded from the wall and one of its outlets did not work. This is an economy motel so I don't expect 5-star standards, but management here needs to address deferred maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanwbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale
2.2 km away
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
#3 of 16 in Glendale
490 reviews
2.2 km away
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
#10 of 16 in Glendale
62 reviews
3.1 km away
Days Inn Glendale Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles - Glendale
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Near Old Town Pasadena in Eagle Rock CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1437 E Colorado St, Glendale, CA 91205-1511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Glendale
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,171 - ₹ 9,044
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Glendale
Econo Lodge Glendale
Glendale Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing