We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fancy - Just Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Glendale
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Not a place to get a massage or a view; if you like fancy toiletries or lotions - gotta bring them with you. This place is all about comfort and efficiency. Both times I've stayed, rooms have been quiet and while the beds aren't SweetSleepers by any standards, they are clean and have given me an excellent night's sleep.

Room Tip: Corner Bistro next door has a fantastic breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 239Adam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2015

My wife's family and myself stayed in three rooms at the hotel in mid January. Our room smelled really bad. Everything else was average at best. The worst part is that they were filming a movie while we stayed there, and it was impossible to sleep until about 2:00am. After they stopped filming, trucks were running around loading stuff. Constant loud beeping from trucks backing up kept us awake. We couldn't park in the lot because of the filming, so we were asked to park on the street in a questionable neighborhood. While it was sort of cool they were filming there, I wish that management would have advised us of the activities they had planned. We would have stayed elsewhere and gotten some sleep. Good internet though.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BigToe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

The Capri looks bad from outside, rooms and cleaness is fine though. Ask the reception for a discount at the best breakfast place in Glendale, Foxys Diner. The guys at reception are okay if you ask them nicely... They have not taken a course in service or politeness.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPete67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

we were in Glendale because my elderly uncle was dying. it was very close to his home so we went for it. the sheets were stained or dirty. we requested clean sheets and they were brought to us. the restaurant next door served a good breakfast but weak coffee

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gatito4bsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel rates fairly well on TripAdvisor. Probably because there are a lot of positive reviews mostly siting closeness to tourist attractions, cleanliness, and great value for your money. With some caveats, it is all these things but I hope my review will give you some context before you decide to stay there.

We needed to spend a couple weeks in Glendale settling our son at a local college and taking a vacation at the same time. We stayed at the Glen Capri based on the mostly positive reviews in TripAdvisor. If you are familiar with and are comfortable with a Holiday Inn or even a Motel 6, this hotel may not be the place for you. If you are from Canada, it may be a culture shock to stay there. We arrived to check-in to find the counter with a protective glass between us and the attendant. You must pass keys and credit cards through a small slot in the counter. I live in a big city in Canada and still found this to be a little unnerving. I am not trying to make a statement about America vs. Canada and certainly do not mean to offend anyone. I am just telling you our profile so that if you identify with it, you can make the best decision for you.

We booked two rooms for our stay - one for my wife and I, and one for our son. As soon as we opened the door to room 202, we were directly hit with a strong, unpleasant, ammonia like smell. If you are sensitive to perfumes and odors, you would not be able to stay here. We checked on our second room (201) and it was more acceptable. I tried to get our room switched but talking through the protective glass trying to explain the situation to the attendant was challenging. However, I did end up learning the hotel was fully booked and there were no other rooms available.

Being August, the weather was hot and the air conditioning unit in 202 did not function well. Some slightly cool air flowed but it was not enough to keep us cool and comfortable. I think it needs replacing. The air conditioning unit in 201 was newer and worked well. Maid service the next day was poor. They did not replenish the toilet paper or replace the sheets and I had to deal with the attendant behind the protective glass again. However, the next day the maid service was much better. We got toilet paper and the sheets were changed.

In summary, this was not the hotel for us but it seems popular with a lot of people on TripAdvisor. Although the maid service is inconsistent and some rooms may have a strong smell, the rooms were reasonably clean. The hotel could be a good base to visit Hollywood, Los Angeles County Museum of Art (where La Brea tar pits are), The Huntington Gallery and Library, Griffith Observatory, Universal Studios, and the LA Dodgers. At $71 per room a night (single double bed), it may be a good price point for some as hotels in Glendale seem to be more pricier than other areas. Oh, the Wi Fi was very good and free.

One interesting place across the Glen Capri parking lot is the Corner Bistro Cafe. It is a hookah cafe which becomes quite lively at night as a place for people to socialize, play cards, and smoke hookah. The people and waiting staff are friendly and welcoming. My wife and I ate breakfast and dinner there a few times and also had some beers while enjoying the interesting atmosphere. The waitress told us hookah is flavored tobacco but it was not offensive to non-smokers like us even though people were smoking near us. It is not like cigarette smoke.

After our 3 night stay, we moved on to another hotel....

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 202. Room 201 seemed okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ba6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale
3.3 km away
Days Inn Glendale Los Angeles
6.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Glendale
109 reviews
4.7 km away
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
#10 of 17 in Glendale
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Glendale
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Burbank
Holiday Inn Burbank
#12 of 20 in Burbank
673 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Xilo Glendale
Hotel Xilo Glendale
#13 of 17 in Glendale
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road

Address: 6700 San Fernando Rd, Glendale, CA 91201-1705
Region: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range: ₹ 6,369 - ₹ 11,892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Capri Inn And Suites - San Fernando Road
Glen Capri Inn & Suites - San Fernando Road Hotel Glendale
Glen Capri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing