We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple fun, in the fog and in the sun”
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Found this place hidden just 5 miles off the main route between Santa Rosa and Sonoma. We were thrown into a happy party of couples enjoying a wine tasting from a local vintner. That spun off into conversations lasting most of the evening. Later there was the opportunity to soak in a hot tub that was in a grove of trees. Our room was newly remodeled, with warming bathroom floors, large tv, very comfortable bed. Someone spent a lot of money on making this place modern and tasteful. The breakfast was so good, we had to take a picture. Maybe 100 winery tasting room are within a few miles of this place. Not to be missed if you want to get off the grid with someone you adore.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 454 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

My girlfriend and I needed a "get-away" and this was the perfect place! We stayed for 2 nights and just loved it. The rooms are newly appointed, clean and lovely. The Internet is free. The heated floor in the bathroom is an added plus. Oh. . .and the breakfast! Everyday is a different menu with fresh home cooked food plus wonderful baked scones and breads. . .more than we could eat and delicious. Best of all was the owner and staff who were so accommodating, warm and helpful! We enjoyed our stay and will be back. Olea Hotel is located just a few minutes from the heart of Sonoma so should be listed under that location heading too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

What a delightful staff! Kent welcomed us, the cook made a scrumptious breakfast, the servers so helpful and personable. There was a wine tasting at the hotel from VJB that was fabulous! The room was clean and newly appointed. The atmosphere was warm and so, so friendly! We felt very taken care of and want to take friends back with us soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We enjoyed our 15th anniversary weekend (5 days 4 nights) at the Olea Hotel in Glen Ellen in early October. Originally we looked for a bungalow or home rental but the Olea turned out to be much more convenient and relaxing. It's more like a bed & breakfast than Hotel. We were welcomed with a nice bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. How thoughtful. Kent, was extremely helpful. He offered and was kind enough to have our wine shipped to us instead of bothering to check it in on our flight. ( I would strongly recommend this) As a foodie i was thrilled with breakfast. A gourmet meal along with continental offerings. Ha! To the comment on a small breakfast. If you are used to a buffet breakfast this is not. The wine & desert pairing were perfect. Anything more would have been just too much. The grounds were beautiful. We stayed in room 3. Next time i'll reserve a cottage. They were all booked this time around. The room was small, but all that we needed. The location of the hotel is perfect for peace and quiet. Just a short drive to several delicious restaurants & a bit more of a drive to Sonoma. Kent (a published author) also directed us toward a nice walking trail just a short drive away too. The Platapus Tour picked us up from Olea for the Sonoma tour. We would also recommend this tour! A big thank you to the Olea hotel for a wonderful anniversary weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyPHartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place was wonderful! Check-in was smooth and Kent was incredibly helpful. He showed us around the property and to our room. He also made some winery suggestions which we followed and they were great.

The room was comfortable and the bed was one of the best I ever slept on. It was so comfortable I emailed the hotel to find out where the quilt and the pillows were from. The bathroom was nice too. It was very modern with heated floors. I also loved having a real fireplace. One little hiccup was that the room could not get warm enough for me, but I am always cold so it may be just me.

We were there on a Friday when they offered wine tasting with a guest winery. This was unlike any other social hour I have been too at any inn/B&B. They was someone leading the seated tasting and the appetizer was a full bowl of butternut squash soup not just some grapes and crackers. It was so yummy...both the soup and the wine that we went to the winery the next day to purchase a bottle.

Breakfast was nicer than I had expected from previous reviews and the portions were generous. We started with a baked goods, yogurt, and granola buffet. This was followed by a warm biscuit with jam. The final course was super yummy and filling! It was a crispy poached egg with mushrooms, pumpkin grits and bacon.

We really enjoyed our stay. What really made this place special was the service we received from every person we encountered. That is rare in my experience for everyone to be super helpful. Not only was the service on point, but the amenities were more than we could ask for anywhere. The location is great as well too. We really felt like we were in another world. I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Cottage is super close to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mina102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
11.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
15.4 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,103 reviews
10.6 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
645 reviews
10.4 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sonoma
212 reviews
15.2 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range: ₹ 18,535 - ₹ 27,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing