We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous servings of everything and excellent service”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #4 of 139 Restaurants in Gilroy
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Black Bear Diner Gilroy excels not only in creating menu items that look as great as they taste, but in making it nearly impossible for you to pass up dessert when the time comes. Our employees are the “best of the best” and will cater to your every need, ensuring that your visit is a pleasurable one. Sit back and relax… we’ll take care of everything you need.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We dined with a group of 12 people and got excellent service. The portion size is large. You may want to order one meal and split it with a friend. Menu offered a variety of foods and everyone enjoyed their choices. We will be going back!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JoanElaine1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

What more is there to say? We ordered two hamburgers, pot roast and meat loaf. All came cold. Waitress could not be found and when she did come, didn’t seem to care. But she apparently told someone else as what appeared to be a manager came over to ask what the problem was. By then, we had all started to eat our cold food. We suspect the food sat for awhile before our server brought it to us.

Like all other Black Bear diners the portions are huge. Have been to others and the food and service was much much better. Maybe just an off day for the staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Had the biscuits and gravy, lets just say it was not how you would imagine. Two big pieces of bread not biscuits. tasted like garbage.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jakevtst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This dining spot was close to our hotel. Food was not that good, I can cook better. Expensive for what we ordered. Staff weren’t that friendly. Probably wouldn’t go again. Not much else to say. Didn’t really enjoy our dinner. Vegetables very over cooked, chicken was dry.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LMG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

This place has a very good variety on the menu, but their all-day breakfast selections are what you'll want to try! All of the classics, plus a few quirks that set them apart. Our group also tried the bacon cheeseburger salad, and it was excellent as well. Prices are very reasonable, so it's definitely a great spot when coming through Gilroy.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveler1959-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing