We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay at the Grey Whale Inn, Fort Bragg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grey Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grey Whale Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Fort Bragg B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the Grey Whale Inn, Fort Bragg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is my second time back and this will always be the place I come back to when I stay in Fort Bragg. As a student of the Living Light Culinary School - it has been so perfect for me. I love it here so much because it feels like home away from home. The first time I stayed 5 weeks and this time only 10 days. Each room is totally different and special in it's own way. Last time i had a fabulous spacious room with a view to the skunk train. This time, I had a lovely ocean view from my room. My time here has always been special. The community is wonderful , and so is the owner. He is always friendly, helpful and concerned with making your stay as comfortable as possible. The Inn has a lot of character. It is a quirky, funky, "different", full-of-character, old building which used to be a hospital. If you are looking for luxury and new - this will not be the place for you! You must be the type of person who can appreciate the old and eccentric features of this Inn and to be open to meeting some amazing people as you pass through! As a Living Light student i was really able to appreciate the fact that Mike (the owner) has set up a rawfood kitchen upstairs for those of us that don't eat meat and who would like to prepare their own food. I also love the fact that i was able to go into his organic garden, pick what i wanted and prepare myself a juice or a salad whenever i wanted... or to sit in the middle of it on a chair and just appreciate the wild garden all around me. I was always excited to come back to the Inn after class, and was always comfortable. The kind of people that it attracts to also live and stay there (in general) is really unique and special and I have met many wonderful people who have since become friends. I would recommend the Inn to anyone who wants to have a relaxing vacation, and who does not need the luxuries of a fancy, new, spick and span up scale hotel. I would suggest that anyone who is planning to be a student at the Living Light Institute to stay here. It is only 2 blocks from the school and 2 blocks to the ocean. Just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipcheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    10
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-August. We were very disappointed. Upon arrival, we found the outside of the "inn" extremely unkept... plants totally overgrown, weeds everywhere. We'd traveled all day, we were exausted,so decided to go inside and give it a try. Huge mistake. Our disappointment continued. The room was VERY overpriced, no heating in the rooms and the windows are very drafty and don't close all the way. The carpets are old and smell awful and the paint around the windows is old and peeling. The owner was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. We had a tiny television (maybe 12 inches) in the room and got very fuzzy, static reception. The breakfast was basically cold granola, fruit and toast. There were a few poached eggs and juice, but you served yourself and catered your own table. Although the "staff" (husband and wife) came in several times, no one spoke. I would never stay here again and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philtim7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the "Grey Whale". Our room was quiet, comfortable and spacious! The Inn has so much character! Sweet Pea, the resident feline, kept us company in the evening while playing pool and relaxing in our room. We cannot wait to visit again soon. We loved being within walking distance to Glass Beach. the shops, restaurants etc.
The "Grey Whale Innkeeper" was very gracious!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I've been to Fort Bragg before and love the town, but this was the first time I've stayed at the Grey Whale. What a very cool place it is!! Its history as a former hospital gives it a lot of character. It was a quiet night and we were the only guests, so we kind of toured the place informally and looked into some of the vacant rooms. All of them were very spacious and had their own individual personalities. The innkeeper, Michael, was extremely considerate and accommodating and made us one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B. Simple and delicious, flavored with herbs fresh from the garden. I'll definitely stay there on my next Fort Bragg trip and will recommend the place to all of my friends for their next coastal vacation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

I drove through town trying to decide where to stay, it is warm weekend and palces were pretty full and pricey. I stumble onto this driving by, not much to look at from outside but walking distance to town shops/restaurants, so stopped on side of road and called, What a delightful Innkeeper, said he had just the rooom for me /with private bath, at reasonalbe price (less than $100) on Sat evening and include sbreakfast. They have common rooms to sit and read or relax It was so nice, clean and awesome atmosphere and the others there were a delight and longtime return guest. I WILL BE NOW TOO.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humpback50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
2.1 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.3 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.7 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.8 km away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 km away
Weller House Inn
Weller House Inn
#1 of 13 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Whale Inn

Property: Grey Whale Inn
Address: 615 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3240
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Bragg
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,365 - ₹ 18,585
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Whale Inn offers vacation lodging amidst comfort and laid back Mendocino Coast elegance. The Inn, a classic architecture of old-growth redwood, is a premier oceanfront inn in historic downtown Fort Bragg. Within walking distance of a great selection of restaurants, the internationally award winning North Coast Brewery, Glass Beach, the Skunk Train, art galleries, a culinary center, and the historic downtown shopping area. Experience the real Mendocino personality at the Grey Whale Inn. We no longer provide a breakfast. However, there are many wonderful local dining locations within walking distance of the inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grey Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing