We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Fined...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie B
Elk Grove, California
1 review
“Great Fined...”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This house came with everything you would like to see in a vacation rental. Not just inside but outside also, chairs and lots of fire wood. The location was good, just a little out of town but not to far. A little walk to the ocean and to watch the sunset. It was a great get-a-way. Looking forward to doing it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything about the houes. I wouldn't go with no more then 4 people.
Liked least: that i couldn't sit in the back yard and see the ocean, had to walk to it.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage near the beach”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and 9 year old daughter stayed here in early January of 2016. This was the year of the El Nino and it rained nearly everyday. Despite this, we had a great time, due in part to the well thought out accommodations of the Sandy Clover cottage.
The owners, Bob and Lita, were communicative and answered all questions whether via email or phone and were very responsive.

The cottage itself is a relatively new home with a large, covered wooden deck both front and back. We arrived to find the cottage very clean and supplied with towels, linen, kitchen supplies, and a nice variety of board games and cards.

In one corner, under the large wall mounted flat screen television, is a gas burning stove. This is the main source of heating for the house ( a portable heater is provided in the 2nd bedroom closet). The stove does a great job of warming the house and adds some nice atmosphere.

Situated literally right next to a state park, you can walk down the road to the beach. My wife and I ran daily and within minutes of our run we were along the beach watching the waves as we exercised our minds as well as our bodies.

About 100 yards away and across Highway 1 is Richochet Ranch. Here you can go on a 1 hour guided horse riding tour along the beach and forest. Great people there and it's a lot of fun.

For us, the location was ideal. You are away from the main noise and traffic of Fort Bragg and have nature all around you. Yet you are only a 5 minute drive from town. We observed deer in the back yard several mornings and encountered them almost every morning during our runs. Loved it.

Without a doubt, if we decide on another vacation trip to Fort Bragg, we will seek out Sandy Clove Cottage for accommodations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and charm of the cottage
Liked least: Limited supply to toiletries and some kitchen utinsels were severely worn.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msanderso...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage Close to Beach!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Thank you to the owners of Sandy Clove Cottage for an absolutely delightful four night stay! The pictures posted on TripAdvisor give a very accurate look at the cottage. It is a two bedroom, relatively newly constructed property with an open kitchen/living room, full bath, and powder room. There are wide decks in front and back. The property was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked and there is an ample refrigerator/freezer. Although we didn’t find the time to use it, there is a fire ring with wood provided in the back yard.
The cottage is located on one of the main roads leading directly to MacKerricker State Park. We make the short walk almost every evening to see the beautiful sunset. There are endless opportunities to enjoy the trails of the park by car, foot, or bike. There is even a horse stable directly across Hwy. 1 with beach horse rides for hire. We will definitely plan ahead next time and take advantage of that opportunity. The Purple Rose Mexican restaurant is within walking distance, also.
The size of this house is perfect for a family of 2-5 people. There is a king size bed, and a queen. The couch could be used for an additional child, also. Plenty of additional towels and sheets would have been available if we would have needed them.
After always using The Beachcomber Motel in Ft. Bragg on our annual stay, Sandy Clove Cottage will be our first choice for lodgings. This is a quiet, comfortable gem. Next year we will try to book a much longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and very comfortable furnishings
Liked least: No faults in this property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuW_Hki
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming cottage, great location, good for one family”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We visited Sandy Glove Cottage with two families - four adults, three teenagers. We loved the surroundings: a short walk to beautiful beach and horse farm, easy access to amazing nature sites. The house was well working, clean, beautiful and equipped, the manager friendly. The only surprise was that the information of the cottage said "sleeps 8", but there are only two beds! One queen-size bed in one bedroom and another smaller in the second bedroom; the latter barely sleeps two adults. So beds for two couples, and for the three teens, we pumped air-mattrasses - two being leaky (and one teen then slept on the narrow sofa, other two on living room floor). It was therefore more of camping environment than we expected, but in the end ok. I think this is a great place for one family with two adults and 1-2 children, but not for eight.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenness H
Redwood Valley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Great attention to detail, wonderful location. The kitchen was fully stocked and easy to use. I recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing