We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“casual and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taka's Grill

Taka's Grill
Ranked #31 of 85 Restaurants in Fort Bragg
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“casual and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

good food, easy location, friendly staff.. Very welcoming. The waitress was nice and they all made an effort to Thank us for coming in!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tkbrown32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Best Japanese food for the price...service is a little slow so don't be in a hurry when planning lunch at this place...worth the wait in the end. Excellent sushi!

Helpful?
Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simple. Healthy. Great for Lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is definitely not a fancy restaurant. Very simple. However, if you are looking for an inexpensive lunch, that is reasonably healthy, this is a great little stop. We often get the salmon teriyaki bowl. The octopus salad is great & healthy. We also like the vegetarian gyoza. The sushi is nothing special, but is adequate if you are looking for a quick meal. We usually get the Miso soup which is standard fare. The poke was quite good - a little spicer than expected, but still tasty. The vegetables that come with the lunches are very basic steamed broccoli and carrots. However, if you are choosing to eat something lower in calories, but very nutritious and filling (in contrast to all the local creamy clam chowders and deep fried fish, fries, pizza, pasta, etc.), you'll walk out of here full, and feeling like you did yourself a favor by picking a fairly healthy choice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sundari108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hamachi kama !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Inexpensive. Great sushi/seafood choices at prime location. Feel-at-home ambience. Excellent waitress. Lots of people, so service can be slow, but it's worth the wait. Their grill hamachi kama was just superb, and just for this, we can come back for more.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sonofdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi. Friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Found this place upon arriving late in Fort Bragg. 9pm and they were open and friendly to serve us. Everything was great. We had miso soup, dinner salad, cucumber salad, edaeme(?), the rainbow roll, the dragon roll, the caterpillar roll, and a pot of tea, for around fifty bucks. What a deal! Better yet, it was all very good. Great sushi, very fresh and nicely rolled. Greeted upon entry by staff, sushi chef included and everyone said good bye when we left. Our experience was so good, we were suppose to dine at a very expensive highend steak house the next night and instead we decided to return. When we returned the next night and not only were we greeted, they recognized us! Felt like walking into the bar Cheers! :-) The second dinner was just as good as the first so it wasn't a fluke. Definately go to this restaurant for Sushi.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taka's Grill also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Taka's Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing