We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fort Bragg spring mid week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fort Bragg spring mid week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fort Bragg is a real town with lots of variety..We stayed at the North Cliff hotel mid week in April. It was full due to 2 night specials going on..Our room, 103, had a great view and had no street traffic noise....There are no longer any trees blocking first floor room views....I agree, try to stay at north end of hotel to avoid street noise, but if you are a deep sleeper, any room will do. The continental breakfast in the fridge is basic, and if you wish more, head into town..They provide regular coffee, so if you like decaf, bring your own.
We had a wonderful stay even tho it was overcast most of the time...The botanical gardens are beautiful in April with the spring flowers abloom..In town, the eatery Mendo was recomended and the handmade pasta was fabulous and reasonable..then cross the street to Cowlicks and try their black forest ice cream,or their mocha almond fudge....Also, the Harvest market in the Boat Landing has a great hot food bar and salad bar for a delicious lunch or dinner. Throw in a visit to Glass beach and tide pools and you have a great trip.

Room Tip: North side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    201
    50
    25
    19
See reviews for
70
413
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked this room through 'Living Social' website. We were very pleased with the room which was clean and spacious with a fireplace and a very nice ocean view. We were able to enjoy the balcony and the sun setting (until it went behind the fog bank). We walked across the bridge to the Cliff House restaurant (had a coupon) and enjoyed an excellent dinner with a great server. She was able to anwer all of our questions and make suggestions that helped to make this a pleasurable dining experience.

The foghorn is not very loud...it did not impact our sleeping and we enjoyed hearing it when we sat on the balcony. Some may be put off as the hotel sits right on the highway but road noise was not a factor for us and of course you are focusing on the view on the west side of the hotel.

Room Tip: For a small upgrade cost hot tubs with an ocean view are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madjay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastopol, ca
Level Contributor
402 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

i would stay here again-- the view from the room is gorgeous and tranquil. there is a fog horn, but it really seems to be in the distance. didn't bother us at all. just heaven to lie in bed and look at the stunning shoreline while being warmed by the elevated gas fire. definitely get a room with a tub if you can manage it. miles and miles of hot water, a deep soak, and a beautiful fire (or big, rotating t.v. if you'd rather) to watch. just heaven.

have to take away one 'star' because of 2 things. first, it is really, really close to a busy road. not too loud... but just a little unpleasant if you look left. also, as others have mentioned, the furnishings are so dated and a bit dingy. very very clean, but just dingy from oldness. (instant remodel-- get rid of the padded fabric headboards. kind of yucky... like having a 15 year old pillow above your head.)

still-- the were friendly welcoming. in many ways, it was nicer than much fancier hotels i've stayed at... bathrobes, lots of toiletries, big shower, and the well-stocked 'fridge with lots of treats such as bottled water, a selection of juices and little see's candies.

we had a great stay and hope to stay again. it was hard to leave the room because the view and fire just couldn't be beat!

Room Tip: as far from the road as possible... the lower numbers are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife booked us rooms through a travelzoo deal, and we were really happy with the North Cliff. It's clean, the rooms are large, the fireplace was wonderful, but the view of the Pacific was the best part of our stay. It wasn't perfect - you can hear the foghorn (but it's not loud and shouldn't bother you unless you are an extremely light sleeper), and the decor is somewhat dated. Overall, it was a lovely stay for us at a clean place with a great ambiance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a lower number (e.g. 203 as opposed to 209) as those rooms are further from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colliejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We got this deal on Travelzoo but prices seemed reasonable even without the deal. Two nights at North Cliff Hotel with a $50 dinner certificate to the Cliff House Restaurant on the south cliff and tickets to the Botanical Gardens for less than the cost of 2 nights just for lodging. All rooms have a balcony and face the ocean and since you are on the cliff, the view is unobstructed. Our room had a gas fireplace - some also had a jacuzzi tub by the fireplace. Check their website for pics.
The fridge was stocked with bottled water, juices, muffins, croissants, fruit and cheese for breakfast and was restocked daily. Besides in-room coffee maker, the lobby has coffee available all day.
The hotel location is convenient to town, restaurants and the Noyo Harbor. Fom our balcony we could watch the fishing boats coming and going along the harbor inlet. Be sure to check out the restaurants at the Noyo fishing village.
Fort Bragg is not an easy drive from anywhere. You either take Hwy 20, the 30 mile winding, two lane road from Willetts (yes, it is scenic) or drive Hwy 1 which is also two lane and winding along the coast. So relax and enjoy the view, because there is no fast way to get there.

Room Tip: There are 3 floors and I didn't see an elevator. We were on the ground floor, so I didn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
3.8 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.5 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 km away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#8 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cliff Hotel

Property: North Cliff Hotel
Address: 1005 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,032 - ₹ 15,567
Hotel Class:3 star — North Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding Ocean View Suites with gas fireplace, balcony and complimentary hot breakfast served in upstairs dinning room. Enhance your stay by booking one of our Spa Suites. The North Cliff Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy boats entering and leaving the harbor, waves crashing upon the cliffs, and the sunsetting over the Pacific Ocean. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your North Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Cliff Fort Bragg
Hotel North Cliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing