We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly romantic hideaway!”
Review of Farmhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stumbled on this inn online while researching places to eat online in the wine country. We looked at it online, and decided to give it a try for dinner and for an weekend stay. The staff was professional and friendly, but virtually not even seen, which added to the romantic feeling of the place. The room was adorable, a tad small, but lovely. The little touches, like the complimentary freshly baked cookies and milk each night , as well as fresh flowers in the room are what made this place so special. And the "essentiel elements" shampoo and conditioner were positively dreamy. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, I strongly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 604 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2008

We had a magnificent stay at the Farmhouse Inn. Our room, despite being warned that it was the smallest on the property, was nonetheless LOVELY. It had a redwood sauna, a fireplace, a four-poster bed, a soaking tub, fresh flowers, fresh-baked cookies... they even left a small box of chocolates on our bed because it was my birthday! The restaurant is incredible. Breakfasts are scrumptious (each breakfast included a fruit plus scone course, followed by an "entree" such as an egg or French toast dish), and our dinner there was so special and extraordinary. Definitely order the cheese course! The concierge was very helpful to us in every aspect of our stay. The spa is also excellent -- we had massages and they were just heavenly. The setting of the Inn is extremely convenient (located right in the heart of the Russian River valley) but also scenic and beautiful. If you manage to rouse yourself from your extremely luxurious and comfortable bed, an early-morning jog or walk will find you amongst the vineyards, with fog lifting into the sunny blue skies. What a magical place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We stayed at the Farmhouse Inn for a romantic getaway in March....it rained the whole time, but it was great. We were in room #8, had a fireplace (which they stacked with wood each morning), a sauna, king sized bed. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, so was the coffee. We dined in the restaurant one evening, which was fabulous as well. I would highly recommend staying there. Its a few minutes outside of Healdsburg, which is a fun place to visit too. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We just returned from a four-night stay. We were there for the Russian River Barrel Tasting event and this B&B was a perfect choice. It is centrally located, making easy access to all the wineries in the Russian River, Dry Creek & Alexander Valleys.

We stayed in Room #4. The room has a fireplace, its own sauna & the bathroom has a whirlpool tub. I have to say we did not make the opportunity to use the sauna - too many other things to do - but it sure looked inviting. Wood is provided daily for the fireplace, but we could never get a good fire going - I think the wood was not the best for burning in a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable.

We ate dinner with another couple at the Inn's restaurant our first night. The service and food was great. Total bill for the 4 of us, with two appetizers, four entrees & two bottles of wine was around $300.

Breakfast was always made fresh, varied every day and was always delicious. A typical breakfast started with fruit, yogurt, granola and a scone, followed by pancakes with bacon or sausage. Coffee & tea is available before the restaurant opens for early risers. We never left the breakfast table hungry.

The pool deck-area was being renovated and it looks like it will be nice when it is completed, with an outdoor fireplace. In the rear of the main building is a large brick courtyard with chairs & a chiminea(?) for a fire. Immediately behind the restaurant part of the main building is a deck with a fountain. K & I did use the spa, on the property, for massages on our second night which was nice.

Free wireless internet on the property.

The staff were always friendly & helpful, and the end of our trip arranged the shipping of our wine purchases.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jkb1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2008

Thanks so much for the visit! We learn so much from our guests. Since your visit, we've completely replaced our firewood. We'd gotten a delivery of logs that were just too big to light. We usually use quick burning, easy catching pine. So that's back.
The building you noticed in the back is almost done. It's our new Guest Services building- and we're moving in as I write. We'll now be able to offer a whole selection of complimentary bath condiments- salts, sugar scrubs and a fabulous proprietary blended milk bath to our guests.
We've also added a Saeco espresso machine. Guests can now help themselves to complimentary lattes, cappucino, hot cocoa with gourmet marshmallows... We're very excited!
And the room does have a huge poured-in-place two sided concrete fireplace. We have lovely sitting areas inside and outside where guests can relax in front of the fire.
Hope to see you again soon!
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

Cottages wonderful - cozy & warm.
Location to wineries - outstanding - all within 10 mile radius.
Farmhouse restaurant - 1 of the best in the Bay Area.
Breakfast - delicious & the Staff at the Farmhouse friendly & helpful.
We loved our stay & will return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
14.5 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
13.4 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
13.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,654 reviews
13.6 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn

Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range: ₹ 33,316 - ₹ 75,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma, the Farmhouse experience is an authentic wine country haven of stylish comfort, hand crafted amenities, and attention to every detail. We are surrounded by world class wineries and 100's of acres of vineyards. Our unique West County locations offers an incredible wine country experience with the added benefits of the majestic redwood forest and the breathtaking Sonoma Coast all within miles of the resort. With only 25 rooms we pride ourselves on the Inn’s intimacy and privacy, creating a feeling of visiting a private estate. Once at the resort you can enjoy our 11 year awarded Michelin-starred restaurant featuring the best of Sonoma dining and surrender to our Farm-to-Table Spa with customized, hand crafted rituals using ingredients from our fruit, flower and herb gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Farmhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing