We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farmhouse Inn Rocks”
Review of Farmhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I had the unexpected pleasure of staying @ the Farmhouse due to a surprise 50th birthday celebration for a childhood friend. Our two night stay in the latter part of July was spectactular. Between the understated elegance of the property to the world class cuisine and rustic, yet refined room accomodations, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

If you're looking for a romantic getaway in a central location to the Russian River valley wine country, this is your place. My wife and I plan on visiting again and will be bringing friends along with us as this isn't just a place to sleep, but a destination to enjoy.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending more time on the property, get a Farmhouse room as they have a large, indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisJayIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

From start to end our stay at the Farmhouse Inn was exceptional. What we loved was how understated the luxury is. This place doesn't boast. It isn't flashy. It's pure and total luxury without having to shout about it. Most notably, the staff was pitch perfect: warm and friendly but ultra-professional and very focused on doing their jobs perfectly. The Barn Room we stayed in was chic and warm and peaceful. The food at the restaurant was wonderful. The spa was relaxing and warm. We will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Room, gardens, pool, and service were very good.

For vegetarians, dinner at restaurant was average, especially considering the price, except for the deserts which were really tasty (Heath bar crunch ice cream and chocolate souffle with a bourbon sauce). It's definitely a meat eaters restaurant and our fellow diners seemed to be really enjoying themselves. A plus is that the chef did not over salt the food. Also, I must say that breakfast was noteworthy (wonderful melon soup, delicious homemade muffin, and savory huevous rancheros).

Will certainly return. Probably won't eat dinner at the restaurant again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip that included 4 nights at the Farmhouse. As we continued our trek down the California coast (to a much more expensive inn) we kept saying to one another, 'I miss the Farmhouse." Here's a breakdown of what we adored about our stay:

THE ROOM
We stayed in Cottage #2, which was a Heritage Deluxe room. It was AMAZING. We loved the rustic theme throughout the room. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was really spacious. There is a nice little sink area where you can refill water bottles and pour out drinks and such (a nice touch, as opposed to the bathroom sink) and there is a decent sized mini fridge below for you to store whatever you need. Like everyone else, we loved the turndown service at night with cookies and milk, and we borrowed a few movies from the front desk to watch before bed at night. We also loved the 'goody box' that was in our room.. full of nice-to-haves and treats that I don't want to share for the sake of surprise. I think there has been some mention about highway traffic, but it didn't bother us (and we were the second cottage from the road). In short, I want my own Farmhouse Cottage in my apartment.

THE INN & GROUNDS
Ugh. It's just incredible. Lush gardens full of flowers and herbs everywhere, tucked away cottages, a spacious and comfortable pool area, and a gorgeous restaurant... it all just blows the mind. We aren't cat people, and we even liked the cats! We had special reservations elsewhere on the two nights that the Farmhouse Restaurant was open (they're closed on Tues and Weds), but the breakfast was worthy of a Michelin star in itself! Steak and eggs, huevos rancheros, farm cheese crepes, some sort of crazy garden omelet... just wow. The coffee is also wonderful at breakfast time, just what we needed to kickstart long days of wine tasting. Speaking of wine tasting... the Farmhouse isn't situated in any sort of 'wine strip mall' like the Bardessono in Napa. There are tons and tons of wineries nearby, but they're off the beaten path (Porter Creek, a 10-minute drive, was a personal fave). Yountville is about a 75-minute drive, but the drive itself is so beautiful that we didn't mind it. What I'm getting at is that if your trip to the area is short and you want to hit a lot of Napa wineries, this place might be too far off the grid for you (a shame), but if you're into mixing Napa and Sonoma and want serenity to go along with it, this is your place.

THE SERVICE
We had nothing but wonderful encounters with everyone we met from Farmhouse. To the welcoming and kind ladies in the concierge area, to the guys who helped with turndown serivce, to the lovely waitstaff at breakfast—its clear there is a sense of family and happiness in this place and it radiates through everyone. To me, all of the above sections could still be true, but it would be nothing without really nice people helping you through your day. They offered up genuine recommendations for what to do on the 4th of July (beware of traffic, so we grabbed an early dinner in Healdsburg and came back and did s'mores around the fire), didn't scoff at the amount of sugar scrub we got from the bath bar, and were very helpful with wine shipping as we had to leave. Thanks so much for making our stay so amazing!

Ok, now i REALLY want to go back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AshleyF347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We went to California to celebrate my 40th Birthday and our 4th Wedding Anniversary. I knew the 40th was worth celebrating, and we decided the Farmhouse Inn was the perfect way to splurge. The summer special of checking in on a Tuesday, staying for three nights and getting Tuesday free was what convinced us to book the room. Having looked at the pictures and read the reviews, we decided to book a barn room. We were placed upstairs in a room in the back of the property where there was total privacy.

Our suite was bigger than our DC condo, and we loved it - especially the bathroom. The toilet is completely separate from the space where the two-person shower and tub are located. Both spaces have heated floors (love heated bathroom floors!). We stocked up on different bath products from the bath bar each time we were in the main house - an avocado soap, bath salts and a honey/sugar scrub became my staples during the trip. I took two baths each day we were there and loved using the honey/sugar scrub in the shower. My skin has never felt so soft!

We loved the details at each twist and turn - the cookies delivered at night, the milk in the refrigerator, the box of goodies, the wine upon arrival, and the flowers everywhere. Morning breakfast is wonderful on the outside patio. There was a wine reception one evening where we met the owners and a local winery representative. The best morsels of food came on the night we went to the Farmhouse Inn Restaurant, however. The burrata appetizer is not to be missed - seriously. You will keep dreaming about it after you have left. The wine pairings were delightful, and we loved the passion that came with each explanation from the sommelier. My husband had the rabbit, and I had the lamb. Both were exceptional on every level - worth every penny!

What would have made it better? If you need a dark room to sleep, then the barns are not for you. There are large windows in the top of the bedroom with no shades on them and light comes in from the barn hallway. I tried the sleep mask provided one night but had a hard time adjusting to sleeping in a mask. I also wish, given the complete privacy of the barn rooms and the balcony, that breakfast could be delivered to these rooms. It would have enabled us to completely go off the clock and stay in our robes even longer, enjoying the steam shower and tub even more.

The staff was great. Concierges were always asking if we needed anything. The wait staff in the dining room, especially during dinner, were just amazing. I had one problem with my second course which I pointed out, and three people made sure it was fixed immediately, apologizing profusely. Jen was our server at dinner, and we would go back just for her!

We would recommend the Farmhouse to others. The barn rooms are worthy of a celebration, for sure. But guests staying in other rooms seemed equally delighted with their stay and just as relaxed. We might go with a regular room the next time.

All in all - delightful!

While at the Farmhouse, our favorite meal in Healdsburg was at Willi's - delicious and generous tapas of all kinds. We had a wonderful dinner at Scopa. And we absolutely loved Gene from the Healdsburg Area Wine Tours if you are looking for a great guide to take you around. His fee was incredibly reasonable, his Lexus is very comfortable, and we only paid for one tasting out of the six wineries we visited. A complete gem!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
13.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
492 reviews
14.5 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
23.2 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
576 reviews
10.9 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
594 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn

Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range: ₹ 33,329 - ₹ 83,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma, the Farmhouse experience is an authentic wine country haven of stylish comfort, hand crafted amenities, and attention to every detail. We are surrounded by world class wineries and 100's of acres of vineyards. Our unique West County locations offers an incredible wine country experience with the added benefits of the majestic redwood forest and the breathtaking Sonoma Coast all within miles of the resort. With only 25 rooms we pride ourselves on the Inn’s intimacy and privacy, creating a feeling of visiting a private estate. Once at the resort you can enjoy our 11 year awarded Michelin-starred restaurant featuring the best of Sonoma dining and surrender to our Farm-to-Table Spa with customized, hand crafted rituals using ingredients from our fruit, flower and herb gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing