We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Farmhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was our second trip to the Farmhouse Inn, and we hope to make it a habit. It's a wonderful oasis that is easily accessible to the Sonoma Coast and the wine country. It's also just a place to relax and lounge about. Breakfasts are delicious and filling, staff is generally helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, rooms are pristine and comfy. And the whole place smells fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eabconcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hubby and I are partial to the quaint, quiet side of the wine country. The Napa side is too new and polished and touristy. The Farmhouse Inn provides all the class and service you could possibly need in a more understated environment. Our room (#8) was cozy but not too small. The bedding was bright white, fluffy and elicited a giant "AAAAAHHHH" as we plopped ourselves down after "a hard day of wine tasting"! The bath products in the room are lovely and not in mini sizes. The bath bar products in the reception area are even better. Bathing morning, night and in-between is a given with all these goodies. Note: If you plan on showering, sauna-ing and jacuzzi tubbing, you might want to request extra towels and a shower cap! The food goodies in the reception area are also yummy. I saved a few of the chocolates for the s'mores to have with the bottle of Pinot we shared in front of the fire. YUM! Breakfasts not only were delicious but they were gorgeous. Our dinner there was exquisite. We chose to do wine pairings with the meal which was not only a taste treat but a lot of fun as well. We thought the location was perfect and the roads are great for driving fun on weekdays when the area is less crowded. I noticed some comments on road noise and I would just say "Open your windows and embrace it!" It's a country road, not a freeway! You'll also hear the soft crunching of gravel as people walk around, the wind in the trees and in the case of our weekend, raindrops hitting the awning above the door. So much better than being locked in a soundproof hotel room with the hum of the AC! Love the attention to detail, like candles in the lanterns outside and a silver spoon handle on the room key ring. LOVED t!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrabYourHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

I LOVE you two. Thanks so much for taking the time to post this. It's so wonderful read about guests who love Farmhouse as much as I do.
See you soon, I hope.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

this was our second trip to the Farmhouse. We chose a room that had a steam sauna and fireplace. The breakfasts were wonderful as was the dinner. Service is outstanding and extremely friendly staff. In the heart of the Russian River valley you are nearby special vineyards both famous and hidden secrets like Quivera. The Farmhouse staff will assist you with advice for every need from nearby redwood forest s to Korbel champagne tastings.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadgetbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

When you first pull into the driveway of the Farmhouse, you feel like you are stepping back in time. There is a serene feeling you get as you walk back to the office to check in an take in the various elements – the buildings, the décor and the landscaping. A serendipitous find online had led us to this charming retreat, and now stepping into the office, being greeted by the concierge only served to confirm that we had made the right choice. We had been offered an upgrade from a cottage to a suite in the barn at the time we made our reservation, which was the first of many great suggestions given to us. The suite had a rustic yet comfortable feel to it from the moment we opened the door. From the entry hall; the spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, full shower and heated marble floor; the comfortable sitting room with a double French door opening onto a patio; to the bed chamber with it’s four-posted bed and remote controlled gas fireplace, we felt totally relaxed after a tiring day of travel. We had decided to make dinner reservations at the restaurant on site when we booked the room, and although we had arrived earlier than expected, there was no issue over being seated early. The décor of the restaurant followed the same tasteful feel of the rooms. The main dining room with its fireplace, the farm-family themed wrap-around mural, and the view overlooking the gardens just off the front porch, added a perfect ambience to the tastefully presented meal being served. The presence of a cheerful and knowledgeable sommelier to assist in choosing a local wine to accompany the meal was a helpful touch. We chose the “prix fixe” menu, which was a delicious combination of courses. The knowledgeable and attentive staff provided us with numerous suggestions for daily activities – from calling ahead for reservations, suggesting routes and places to see, providing maps and giving their honest opinion of places. After a filling breakfast every morning, we would venture out for a day of wine tasting and sightseeing. Our favorites included: 1) Marimar Winery that offers the perfect solution of what to do around lunchtime at a winery with their delicious tapas paired with wine offering; 2) River’s End off Route 1 in Jenner, with it’s spectacular view of the coast where the Russian River meets the Pacific. Leaving the Farmhouse was like saying goodbye to good friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Wow, my new "favorite review ever". Thanks. Having you leave feeling like friends is exactly what we hope for. We love what we do, and feedback like this makes our day. I'm glad you enjoyed River's End. It really is the perfect place for a drink on the deck overlooking the ocean.
Best,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were treated so well, with the concierges giving great advice for travel, shopping, dining, etc. The cottages and other rooms were lovely. My husband and I were greatly impressed with the professionalism of the staff, the delicious food (we took advantage of the prix fixe menu on Monday) and the yummy breakfasts each morning. Our room had a sauna and a jacuzzi and even though we were located near the road, did not hear any traffic (not too much in Forestville). This was our first trip to Sonoma and even with the occasional rain, it didn't spoil anything about this beautiful area, the Inn, and all the people we met. Joe and Catherine, the owners, have attended to every impeccable detail. Even Charlotte, who would wait at our doorstep for her morning pet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

We look forward to having you return! Glad you enjoyed Charlotte. Shaved tail and all. Yes, readers, she looks like a black wanna be poodle. She got the worst of it in a fight with a very testy squirrel and came home from the vet looking pretty silly.
See you two soon, I hope.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
14.5 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
13.4 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
23.2 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
13.6 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn

Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range: ₹ 33,556 - ₹ 74,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma, the Farmhouse experience is an authentic wine country haven of stylish comfort, hand crafted amenities, and attention to every detail. We are surrounded by world class wineries and 100's of acres of vineyards. Our unique West County locations offers an incredible wine country experience with the added benefits of the majestic redwood forest and the breathtaking Sonoma Coast all within miles of the resort. With only 25 rooms we pride ourselves on the Inn’s intimacy and privacy, creating a feeling of visiting a private estate. Once at the resort you can enjoy our 11 year awarded Michelin-starred restaurant featuring the best of Sonoma dining and surrender to our Farm-to-Table Spa with customized, hand crafted rituals using ingredients from our fruit, flower and herb gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing