We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
593
90
38
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
90
38
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower rabbit bath salts wine country heated floors fire pit wine pairing cookies michelin star restaurant bath bar concierge staff graham crackers indoor outdoor fireplace halibut road noise turn down service sonoma county
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hubby and I are partial to the quaint, quiet side of the wine country. The Napa side is too new and polished and touristy. The Farmhouse Inn provides all the class and service you could possibly need in a more understated environment. Our room (#8) was cozy but not too small. The bedding was bright white, fluffy and elicited a giant "AAAAAHHHH" as we plopped ourselves down after "a hard day of wine tasting"! The bath products in the room are lovely and not in mini sizes. The bath bar products in the reception area are even better. Bathing morning, night and in-between is a given with all these goodies. Note: If you plan on showering, sauna-ing and jacuzzi tubbing, you might want to request extra towels and a shower cap! The food goodies in the reception area are also yummy. I saved a few of the chocolates for the s'mores to have with the bottle of Pinot we shared in front of the fire. YUM! Breakfasts not only were delicious but they were gorgeous. Our dinner there was exquisite. We chose to do wine pairings with the meal which was not only a taste treat but a lot of fun as well. We thought the location was perfect and the roads are great for driving fun on weekdays when the area is less crowded. I noticed some comments on road noise and I would just say "Open your windows and embrace it!" It's a country road, not a freeway! You'll also hear the soft crunching of gravel as people walk around, the wind in the trees and in the case of our weekend, raindrops hitting the awning above the door. So much better than being locked in a soundproof hotel room with the hum of the AC! Love the attention to detail, like candles in the lanterns outside and a silver spoon handle on the room key ring. LOVED t!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrabYourHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

I LOVE you two. Thanks so much for taking the time to post this. It's so wonderful read about guests who love Farmhouse as much as I do.
See you soon, I hope.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

this was our second trip to the Farmhouse. We chose a room that had a steam sauna and fireplace. The breakfasts were wonderful as was the dinner. Service is outstanding and extremely friendly staff. In the heart of the Russian River valley you are nearby special vineyards both famous and hidden secrets like Quivera. The Farmhouse staff will assist you with advice for every need from nearby redwood forest s to Korbel champagne tastings.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadgetbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

When you first pull into the driveway of the Farmhouse, you feel like you are stepping back in time. There is a serene feeling you get as you walk back to the office to check in an take in the various elements – the buildings, the décor and the landscaping. A serendipitous find online had led us to this charming retreat, and now stepping into the office, being greeted by the concierge only served to confirm that we had made the right choice. We had been offered an upgrade from a cottage to a suite in the barn at the time we made our reservation, which was the first of many great suggestions given to us. The suite had a rustic yet comfortable feel to it from the moment we opened the door. From the entry hall; the spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, full shower and heated marble floor; the comfortable sitting room with a double French door opening onto a patio; to the bed chamber with it’s four-posted bed and remote controlled gas fireplace, we felt totally relaxed after a tiring day of travel. We had decided to make dinner reservations at the restaurant on site when we booked the room, and although we had arrived earlier than expected, there was no issue over being seated early. The décor of the restaurant followed the same tasteful feel of the rooms. The main dining room with its fireplace, the farm-family themed wrap-around mural, and the view overlooking the gardens just off the front porch, added a perfect ambience to the tastefully presented meal being served. The presence of a cheerful and knowledgeable sommelier to assist in choosing a local wine to accompany the meal was a helpful touch. We chose the “prix fixe” menu, which was a delicious combination of courses. The knowledgeable and attentive staff provided us with numerous suggestions for daily activities – from calling ahead for reservations, suggesting routes and places to see, providing maps and giving their honest opinion of places. After a filling breakfast every morning, we would venture out for a day of wine tasting and sightseeing. Our favorites included: 1) Marimar Winery that offers the perfect solution of what to do around lunchtime at a winery with their delicious tapas paired with wine offering; 2) River’s End off Route 1 in Jenner, with it’s spectacular view of the coast where the Russian River meets the Pacific. Leaving the Farmhouse was like saying goodbye to good friends.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Wow, my new "favorite review ever". Thanks. Having you leave feeling like friends is exactly what we hope for. We love what we do, and feedback like this makes our day. I'm glad you enjoyed River's End. It really is the perfect place for a drink on the deck overlooking the ocean.
Best,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were treated so well, with the concierges giving great advice for travel, shopping, dining, etc. The cottages and other rooms were lovely. My husband and I were greatly impressed with the professionalism of the staff, the delicious food (we took advantage of the prix fixe menu on Monday) and the yummy breakfasts each morning. Our room had a sauna and a jacuzzi and even though we were located near the road, did not hear any traffic (not too much in Forestville). This was our first trip to Sonoma and even with the occasional rain, it didn't spoil anything about this beautiful area, the Inn, and all the people we met. Joe and Catherine, the owners, have attended to every impeccable detail. Even Charlotte, who would wait at our doorstep for her morning pet.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBartolomei, Owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

We look forward to having you return! Glad you enjoyed Charlotte. Shaved tail and all. Yes, readers, she looks like a black wanna be poodle. She got the worst of it in a fight with a very testy squirrel and came home from the vet looking pretty silly.
See you two soon, I hope.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

From the minute we arrived we new we were someplace special. The staff warmly welcomed us -- provided recommendations for wineries and pointed us to the free goodies -- spa products like avocado soap and honey scrub - and make it yourself smores. Cottage number 4 was well appointed with a jetted tub, sauna and fireplace. The restaurant is the bomb - incredible 5 star food for dinner and great breakfast included with your stay. This will be our go to place whenever we are in the area - wonderful and romantic.

Date of stay: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews