We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Eureka by the Humboldt Bay
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Arcata, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Geez”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

So I arrived late on a Monday night after a long trip from home. I was exhausted! The man greeted me coldly and checked me in. Before I could walk away however he told me "No parties" I told him I just wanted a good nights sleep. I went to my room and noticed right away how absolutely frigid it was. I cranked up the heater and got out my sleeping bag seeing as how the bedding looked questionable at best. I looked around at the dingy room and wasn't impressed. The light in the bathroom barely worked and by that I mean you were lucky if it came on at all. So after crawling into my sleeping bag I quickly fell asleep. The next morning I awoke and called the front desk to ask for a late checkout which the same man allowed me another half an hour. I was surprised at that and yet he still was very rude to me over the phone. I took a shower and was disgusted by the towels which were stained with what looked like grease. I quickly got my gear together and got the hell out of there. I turned in my key and wanted to just say hey I am checking out. The same man didn't even acknowledge me or say thanks for staying. So in summary I would not recommend this place and if you're going to stay bring a sleeping bag or extra blanket, lysol and a tough skin.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    17
    18
    42
See reviews for
32
24
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

this hotel is not a relaxing experience! clean and tidy as it is the comings and goings of dubious characters in rooms above and beside us was disconcerting to say the least... Pool was clean and as a keen early morning swimmer I was glad of that. The management needs to get their act together and clean up their guest list!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickimckenna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka hotels

LAKEWOOD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

when we arrived after drivin 13 long hours we noticed there was a lot of traffic and prostitutes so when we checked in went to our room opened the door the smell was horrible the air conditioner did not work at all the bathroom floor was nasty it looked like it had not been moped in months the bathtub was nasty nd dried up paint inside of it the toilet was broken you had to lift the top lid up to flush just not sanitary at all ,the carpet was just plain nasty then we went to talk with the manager he didnt want to say to much we went out and brought or own cleaning supplies bleach/lysol the manager act like he did not no what to do then he tells us the house keepers are off later onwe went to see this beautiful indoor pool that is a diiferent picture from the web site so 2 of us slept inthe vann terrible then the next morning we see the house keepers who are young teenage girls who were no more than 13/14 years of age walking around with pillow cases and on there phones this is a terrible place to stay i would never ever recommend are stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Neighborhood is sketchy and so were the other "guests." We wanted to be close to the Blues Festival but should have stayed further south. Maybe because it's close to downtown and the courthouse, but a variety of drunks and crackheads made it less than appealing.

Interior is your basic painted cinder block. However, the place is falling apart. Molding is peeling from the wall, latch plate for the door falling off, towels with holes and rust spots should be retired.

The "neighbors" barfing outside (when there's a toilet inside) woke me up and there was no sleeping after that. I'm pretty road hardened but I would not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beemerfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Well, I chose to ignore the reviews and we paid the price. We picked this hotel because it was cheap and our excuse was "we just need a place to sleep for the night." Perhaps if it were just my husband and I travelling, but we had our 3 kids with us. I'll never do that again.

The man at the counter was quiet and unfriendly. He said no more than 10 words to me. The first thing that hit us, was the smell of the room. Even opening doors and windows couldn't relieve us of the dirty, musty, old smoke (it was a non-smoking room, too) smell.

The carpet was piled with dirt and grime. The walls were gross, and then bathroom was hideous (see picture of floor.) There was hair in the tub, the shower curtain smelled like laundry that has been left in the washing machine for days.

Our kids - who are avid swimmers - refused to go into the pool after seeing how dirty it was. I required them to wear socks or shoes at all times in our room.

I checked for bed bugs, but didn't find any, so I guess that's a plus.

We skipped the continental breakfast after seeing how stale and gross the muffins appeared (that, and some oj in a pitcher, was all that was offered.)

Two nights before, we had stayed at a 3 star hotel for $10.00 LESS because of a bid on Priceline. I highly recommend you do something similar before you settle on this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chadrach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
0.6 km away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
0.4 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 21 in Eureka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Eureka by the Humboldt Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Eureka by the Humboldt Bay

Property: Econo Lodge Eureka by the Humboldt Bay
Address: 1630 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0720 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,955 - ₹ 5,796
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Eureka by the Humboldt Bay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Eureka by the Humboldt Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Eureka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing