We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, clean & functional, no problems.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Dock over at Gil's Restaurant, just around the corneer
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Eureka, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CalTravel...
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean & functional, no problems.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

All was fine for family of 3. We loved walks along the adjacent shore. Didn't utilize small dock on the little channel out back, but seemed to be an adequate launch for rowboat or kayak. Location was great for our needs; moderate drives to several state and national redwood forests and parks; a short hop to downtown Eureka.
Only negative was absolutely no view from anywhere in the cottage. We weren't bothered by neighbors, but if you are looking for swank look elsewhere - lots of salty dwellings in the surrounding trailer park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bay
Liked least: lack of view
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Shell Cottage is great. We encourage vacationers to bring kayaks and canoes and utilize the back dock. Next visit, please plan to bring some! We do have rental agencies in the area for this type of equipment. The neighbors are just fine and can be helpful with directions to anywhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobofChat...
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shell Cottage a Great Place”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A really nice place just let down by the surrounding run down other property's, have in said that some of the residence have made great efforts to keep theirs in good order

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage
Liked least: the surrounding area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Our guests seem to be pleased with Shell cottage regardless of the location. The neighbors are very nice, and even helped us recently find a home for a kitten that was hanging out at the cottage. Shell Cottage is quite popular as it is close to the beach and is pet friendly with a fully enclosed yard. We hope you can come see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing